ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » 2058 with qmgr name and 2033 with no messages--spooky

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 2058 with qmgr name and 2033 with no messages--spooky « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
mangoMan
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 12:41 pm    Post subject: 2058 with qmgr name and 2033 with no messages--spooky Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 69

Here is the problem:

Platform: AIX
MQSeries 5.3 with CSD 10
JDK 1.3.16


When I specify the queue manager name in my program, which runs under WAS 5.1, I get a 2058.

When I specify a blank "" for the queue manager name I get a 2033 on a get which is strange cause I do have a message sitting on the queue. I check to see if there is a process listening on that queue and I notice that both the Open Input queue and Open Output count are zero.

Very very very stange. Any ideas? I have scanned through some of the postings for 2058 but not help so far. Most people are getting these errors because they are using clients or forgetting to use the correct name. I am stumped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Can you browse the message sitting on the queue. Is it committed ?

2058 is qmgr name error. CASE DOES MATTER.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mangoMan
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 69

I am using rfhutil to put the message so it should be commited. Secondly, I am using the correct queue manager name, I have even hard coded it. Oh and I am able to browse the message using amqsbcg.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:22 pm    Post subject: Re: 2058 with qmgr name and 2033 with no messages--spooky Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

mangoMan wrote:

When I specify the queue manager name in my program, which runs under WAS 5.1, I get a 2058.

When I specify a blank "" for the queue manager name I get a 2033 on a get which is strange cause I do have a message sitting on the queue.


When I see problems like this, I become suspicious of having multiple queue managers on the same machine. They are probably using different listener ports, and I wouldn't be surprised if one of them is a default queue manager (which is the blank name).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
mangoMan
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 69

I was leaning towards your hunch but when I run dspmq I get

QMNAME(PROD13) STATUS(Running)

and

amqsbcg RPS_INPUT PROD13


amqsbcg RPS_INPUT

return the same message ( same msgID )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 2:23 pm    Post subject: Re: 2058 with qmgr name and 2033 with no messages--spooky Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

mangoMan wrote:

When I specify the queue manager name in my program, which runs under WAS 5.1, I get a 2058.

When I specify a blank "" for the queue manager name I get a 2033 on a get which is strange cause I do have a message sitting on the queue.


Can we see the offending code ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mangoMan
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 69

Here is the code:
Code:

// this works fine but I get a 2033 even with a message on the queue
MQQueueManager mqQueueMgr = null;
MQGetMessageOptions mqInGetMsgOpts = new MQGetMessageOptions();
mqInGetMsgOpts.waitInterval = _getWaitInterval;
mqInGetMsgOpts.options = MQC.MQGMO_WAIT + MQC.MQGMO_SYNCPOINT;
mqQueueMgr = new MQQueueManager("");
mqInQueue = mqQueueMgr.accessQueue(_inQueueName, MQ_GET_OPTIONS);

while(_running)
{
   mqInMsg = new MQMessage();
   mqInQueue.get(mqInMsg, mqInGetMsgOpts);
   .........
   .........
   .........


Code:

// with this I get a 2058
MQQueueManager mqQueueMgr = null;
MQGetMessageOptions mqInGetMsgOpts = new MQGetMessageOptions();
mqInGetMsgOpts.waitInterval = _getWaitInterval;
mqInGetMsgOpts.options = MQC.MQGMO_WAIT + MQC.MQGMO_SYNCPOINT;
mqQueueMgr = new MQQueueManager("PROD13");
mqInQueue = mqQueueMgr.accessQueue(_inQueueName, MQ_GET_OPTIONS);

while(_running)
{
   mqInMsg = new MQMessage();
   mqInQueue.get(mqInMsg, mqInGetMsgOpts);
   .........
   .........
   .........


Note: I am running this as a thread inside a servlet on WAS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hopsala
PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2005 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guardian

Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 960

I think you should view this as two seperate problems - one is 2033, the other 2058 - they have no bearing on one another whatsoever. Solve one of them, then move on to the other.

Concerning the 2033, check the following:
1. That you are opening the right queue (not some alias queue or another queue with a similar name) don't trust your code - print your variables to console!
2. That you are not getting by corrlid - check that corrlid and msgid are cleared in the beginning and after each MQGET. Maybe what happens is that you are getting the first msg, then 2033 on the second and backing out - returning the first msg to queue and thus to inifinitum.
The main question here is, does the error happens the first time you go into the loop?
3. Try MATCH_MSGID and set msgid to the msgid of the first msg in q, see what happens...
4. Try a simpler prog - connect, openq, get, exit - no while and no syncpoint, and try opening some other q.

Concerning the 2058, I am not that well-acquainted with WAS, but possibly PROD13 is some JNDI name which points in the wrong direction, or something in similar style...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

I didn't see anything in any of the appends regarding WAS. There is also a dspmq above which shows a qmgr name of PROD13 so I don't think it is a JNDI problem. You could always take a trace and look through it for the 2058. You should then see the qmgr name right around it which might point to what is wrong.

I think hopsala's guess about not clearing out id's before reissuing the get might be your 2033.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
kingsley
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 30 Sep 2001
Posts: 175
Location: Hursley

how many QueueManagers are running on the same machine. If it is more than one, then your producers is not placing the msg where your consumer is looking for.

try

runmqsc
dis qmgr.


Find the QueueManager name. which would be your Default QueueManager and it is the QueueManager to which your program connects. Now, you get 2033 ,means there is no msg on the queue in this QueueManager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hopsala
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guardian

Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 960

bower5932 wrote:
I didn't see anything in any of the appends regarding WAS.

?
mangoMan wrote:
Note: I am running this as a thread inside a servlet on WAS.

Granted it's hidden away at the bottom, but it's there
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hopsala
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guardian

Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 960

Oh, and
kingsley wrote:
how many QueueManagers are running on the same machine. If it is more than one, then your producers is not placing the msg where your consumer is looking for.

mangoMan wrote:
I was leaning towards your hunch but when I run dspmq I get

QMNAME(PROD13) STATUS(Running)

We've been there...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

I see the WAS now. However, I'm not sure that this has any bearing on his actual problem. I'd still go for the trace.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
mangoMan
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 69

Guys, just one more idea. Could it be that WAS is running a queue manager? Which might explain why I keep getting a 2033 even when I delete the queue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hopsala
PostPosted: Thu Aug 25, 2005 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guardian

Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 960

mangoMan wrote:
Could it be that WAS is running a queue manager?

Yes, this is possible and even probable (sorry, assumed you already checked that option out yourself) - WAS has a strange decadent "embedded QManager" within, it works slightly differently than a normal qm, and does not have all the functionality of a regular qm.
You should read WAS literature on how to control it, and if something is unclear, ask.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » 2058 with qmgr name and 2033 with no messages--spooky
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.