|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Remote queues and channels to same queue manager? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
WillH |
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:51 am Post subject: Remote queues and channels to same queue manager? |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 15 Jun 2005 Posts: 23
|
I am trying to solve this problem:
Backend system (an app not a queue manager) needs to be down, but messages need to be stored for when it comes back up.
The front end application needs to be able to write to its input queue regardless.
Once the backend system is back up, the messages on the input queue need to be processed. I can stop/start channels and use the feature that messages pile up in the xmitq. So a solution we're throwing around...
frontend->QM1/queue1->channel->QM2/queue2->backend system.
but this would be interesting and only require one QM:
fronted->QM1/queue1->channel->QM1/queue2->backend system.
Can my 2 queues be on the same queue manager and the channel loop back? Like the sender channel connects to a receiver channel on the same queue manager. The remote queue def would actually be pointed to a local queue.
I tried setting this up and testing it, can't get it to work. Not sure if it's a setup thing on my part, or if MQ just doesn't want to do this.
Your advice is appreciated.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Nigelg |
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 02 Aug 2004 Posts: 1046
|
Channels cannot loop back to the same qmgr, because that would mean having SDR and RCVR channels with the same name, which is not allowed.
You could get your frontend system to write to an input queue, and the backend system connect as a client to the same qmgr and get the msgs from the queue, with no need to transfer the msgs to a different qmgr. _________________ MQSeries.net helps those who help themselves.. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
This is a fairly basic use for MQ. Your MQ design is going to depend more on your application than on the MQ needs.
If your application is running on the same physical box as the Queue Manager, then you don't need any channels at all.
If it is running on a remote box that has a full blown queue manager on it, then you can use any channel configuration you want, MQ will deliver the messages to the remote queue manager. When the channel is started.
If there is no remote queue manager then the 'getting' application could also be written as a Client application and only client channels need be defined. (This option could also still be used even if you have a full blown remote queue manager).
Which is the best approach? It depends on the application/business need.
Hope this helps |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|