Author |
Message
|
btdo |
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:42 am Post subject: router status |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Jun 2005 Posts: 19
|
Hello
I am developing a client application that would put and get a message from a MCP server. My problem is whenever I type a message that do not match the expected transcode such as ECHO or TIME, the server hangs up and the router shuts down. Thus no other messages are processed after. I am just wondering if there's a way to prevent this from happening. If not, is there a way for a client application to detect if the router is running or not ?. Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 7:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
btdo |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 4:25 am Post subject: router |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Jun 2005 Posts: 19
|
Yes. I am just wondering if there's a function (maybe MQINQUIRE) that let you detect the status of the router. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 4:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
What router?
There are no "routers" in WebSphere MQ, except for applications that make decisions about where messages should go, thus "routing" them.
You could, if you felt like it, write an application that would bridge SNMP over MQ.
But that would not be the same thing you are asking about.
You should not write your MQ applications to know or care about the network. The only thing in MQ that cares about the network are the channels.
There are simple, well defined, well documented, mechanisms for finding out if a channel can not establish it's connection properly. Try reading the Event Monitoring manual for more information.
I repeat, because it's important, You should not write your MQ applications to know or care about the network. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
Routers are actually SonicMQ concept of channels (or something of that kind).
bower5932 wrote: |
Is this an MQ question? |
For this question he said yes, becuase MQ here is not qualified.
@btdo
Is this a WebSphere MQ question?
If the answer is still yes, then ignore this post. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
It sounds like you are interested in the 'DISPLAY CHSTATUS' command. Take a look at the MQSC Script Reference manual along with the Programmable System Management (PCF) manual. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
vennela wrote: |
Routers are actually SonicMQ concept of channels (or something of that kind). |
But does Sonic have a notion of an "MCP server"?
I don't remember such from when I last plowed through the docs trying to write a proposal... _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 8:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
Quote: |
But does Sonic have a notion of an "MCP server"? |
What is MCP server in WebSphere MQ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 8:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
vennela wrote: |
Quote: |
But does Sonic have a notion of an "MCP server"? |
What is MCP server in WebSphere MQ? |
I don't know that either.
Which is why I thought of network level router, rather than something like SonicMQ. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
btdo |
Posted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:22 am Post subject: router |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 03 Jun 2005 Posts: 19
|
My server is running on a Unisys system, and it's called MCP. Sorry, I am new to this so I am still learning all the terminologies.
Anyways, from the documentation, it defines router as
"The router directs a request for a service from one message queue to the appropriate application program offering the requested service. The router takes messages from a queue, sends them to the Transaction Server transaction processor, receives message replies, and places the replies on a queue"
In my case, when I request a service that is not available in the server, the router shuts down. I am just wondering if there's a way to prevent this in the client program. Thanks in advance. Again, sorry about the terminology confusions |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|