Author |
Message
|
GeneRK4 |
Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 11:08 pm Post subject: SOAP nodes participating in XA coordination |
|
|
Master
Joined: 08 Jul 2013 Posts: 220
|
Hi,
I need some clarification in this new design.
I have two flows.
1st flow :
SOAP Input -->Compute -->SoapRequest
2nd flow :
SOAP Input -->Compute -->SoapReply
1st flow acts as a Webservice and it in-turn calls another Webservice.
Both are in HTTP transactions.
Now,if there are any issue that occurs in 2nd flow,whatever happened at first flow commited transaction should be reverted back.Both the flows have to be in XA-coordination.
Please clarify how to achieve this scenario with and without database in 1st flow.. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PEPERO |
Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Disciple
Joined: 30 May 2011 Posts: 177
|
In think since the SOAP protocol is not a transactional protocol, using an XA coordinator wouldn't handle your recoverable resources. I suggest you to use the MQ or either JMS protocols instead to use XA capabilities.
Even if using the appropriate protocol , when the first flow is run , the UOW would be completed and you've to make the recovery process yourself. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 8:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sridhsri |
Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 9:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 19 Jun 2008 Posts: 297
|
Are you sure it is WS Reliable Messaging? I thought one had to use WS Atomic Transaction for transaction coordination. I don't know if WS-AT is supported in broker. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
GeneRK4 |
Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 08 Jul 2013 Posts: 220
|
PEPERO wrote: |
In think since the SOAP protocol is not a transactional protocol, using an XA coordinator wouldn't handle your recoverable resources. I suggest you to use the MQ or either JMS protocols instead to use XA capabilities.
Even if using the appropriate protocol , when the first flow is run , the UOW would be completed and you've to make the recovery process yourself. |
If the SOAP Client is Synchronous,it will be waiting for the reply from Server.
So,do you think whether the UOW would be completed still even in this case? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
GeneRK4 |
Posted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 08 Jul 2013 Posts: 220
|
It looks like if there are any timeout failures,WS-Reliable messaging will retry with new sequence number.I think it does not match with my scenario because my scenario is we need rollback for committed transaction in first flow for any type of errors in second flow..Please correct me if I am wrong in this understanding,. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
No, I was wrong. WS-Reliable Messaging is not the answer to your problem. _________________ Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you're a mile away, and you have their shoes too. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
If any exceptions are thrown in the First flow and they are allowed to propagate back to the Input node, then all transactional work done in Flow one will be rolled back. This means that Flow one can choose to throw an exception if Flow 2 returns an error or does not return at all (times out). But, Flow 2 is a separate transaction so you cannot do is link the two flows into one transaction as WS-AT is not supported in WMB/IIB.
What is your scenario here? What transactional work is being done by Flow one and Flow two?
Kind regards, _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
GeneRK4 |
Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 08 Jul 2013 Posts: 220
|
A database update in Flow1 and another database update in flow2. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 6:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
GeneRK4 wrote: |
A database update in Flow1 and another database update in flow2. |
And are your 2 flows so complex that they can't be rolled into one?
Or have flow 2 invoked as a subflow?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
GeneRK4 |
Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 5:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Master
Joined: 08 Jul 2013 Posts: 220
|
Not so complex...
I have a SOAPRequest node and it waits for the input from the second flow that starts with SOAPInput node and ends with SOAPReply node.
And after the first flow gets the reply from the second flow, it processes further and sends response to client. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|