Author |
Message
|
Sovesky |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:16 am Post subject: MB Toolkit Test - Invalid XML character 0xffffffff |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 30 Aug 2013 Posts: 17
|
I want to test a web service I'm developing, using the "Test..." feature of WMB Toolkit 8.0.0.2.
The input to my web service:
Code: |
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<tns0:Envelope
xmlns:int0="IntervenienteTypeBPM" xmlns:tns0="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" xmlns:tns1="Entities"
xmlns:tns2="TipologiaTypeBPM"
xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
<tns0:Header/>
<tns0:Body>
<tns1:NewEntidade>
<int0:type>
<tns2:id>1</tns2:id>
<tns2:code>0000</tns2:code>
<tns2:description>Não especificada</tns2:description>
</int0:type>
</tns1:NewEntidade>
</tns0:Body>
</tns0:Envelope>
|
Since I'm sending a non-ASCII character, MB is throwing an exception at the beginning of the flow (in SOAP Input) saying:
Code: |
An invalid XML character (Unicode: 0xffffffff) was found in the element content of the document. |
This error is referring my description element. Since I'm sending in the Envelope encoding="UTF-8" should there be a problem?
I also confirmed that my workspace and project are using UTF-8.
Am I missing something?
Last edited by Sovesky on Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:26 am; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sovesky |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 30 Aug 2013 Posts: 17
|
lancelotlinc wrote: |
Your XML does not pass validation : </int0:tipo> vs </int0:type> |
It was a typo. My message is bigger than that, and in this post I decided to translate it from portuguese to english. Anyway, it is edited  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
Are you sure it's complaining about the description element?
Are you sure the XML document is actually in UTF-8? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sovesky |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 30 Aug 2013 Posts: 17
|
mqjeff wrote: |
Are you sure it's complaining about the description element? |
100% sure. If I replace "Não" with "Nao" I can easily run my flow without a problem.
mqjeff wrote: |
Are you sure the XML document is actually in UTF-8? |
Actually I don't know. I made an invocation via SOAPUI, using UTF-8 and the verified that the flow is working!
I thought this could be a problem with the Toolkit, therefore I checked Eclipse's encoding, my workspace's encoding and my project's encoding and it is using UTF-8. Am I missing anything else?
I basically created my input on notepad++, pasted it on the Test... window, and it is giving me the error.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 3:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 4:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
I don't think there's anything wrong with the test tool being used.
I don't know Notepad++ well enough to know if it's created the text you're copying/pasting as UTF-8 or not. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 4:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
mqjeff wrote: |
I don't think there's anything wrong with the test tool being used.
I don't know Notepad++ well enough to know if it's created the text you're copying/pasting as UTF-8 or not. |
I've never had any issues with Notepad++ or ultraEdit saving files in UTF-8
make sure you have told it to default to utf
http://superuser.com/questions/292086/how-can-i-enforce-so-notepad-uses-utf-8-every-time-i-create-a-new-file _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sovesky |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 30 Aug 2013 Posts: 17
|
I was copy-pasting my input XML on the the Text Editor, and getting that error.
I tried saving an .xml file encoded with UTF-8 and sending it to the Message Broker Test Client instead of just copying the text xml itself, and now it works.
Conclusion: The Message Broker Test Client uses a text window that is using some non UTF-8 encoding. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
A good number of us around here use Rfhutil for this sort of work.
It is part of the IH03 support pack. Handles UTF-8 files very well.
 _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 5:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
A good number of us around here use Rfhutil for this sort of work.
It is part of the IH03 support pack. Handles UTF-8 files very well.
 |
I was not aware that RfhUtil supports Web Services ? Is this a new feature ? _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JosephGramig |
Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 7:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 09 Feb 2006 Posts: 1244 Location: Gold Coast of Florida, USA
|
If you really want to get funky, you can switch the perspective to "Web".
Then right click your WSDL file and then "Web Services->Test with Web Services Explorer".
Have Fun!
I wonder what the RAD folks do... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|