|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Unable to connect to Informix database. |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:46 am Post subject: Unable to connect to Informix database. |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
I am unable to get the broker (8.0.0.0 on Linux-x86) connect to the Informix database. Here is the ODBC .ini file as pointed to by $ODBCINI variable.
Code: |
[ODBC Data Sources]
my_informix=IBM Informix ODBC Driver
[my_informix]
Driver=/opt/IBM/informix/lib/cli/iclit09b.so
Description=Informix database - with timeseries
Database=my_informix
Servername=ol_informix1170
|
The user ID and password have been set using mqsisetdbparms for my_informix.
Code: |
user@host:~$ mqsisetdbparms BRKR08 -n dsn::my_informix -u informix -p pwd00new
BIP8071I: Successful command completion.
|
However, the mqsicvp command always fails with an error.
Code: |
user@host:~$ mqsicvp -n my_informix -u informix -p pwd00new
BIP2393E: Database error: ODBC return code '-1' from data source ''my_informix'' using ODBC driver manager ''/opt/ibm/IE02/2.0.0/lib/libodbcinterface.so''.
The broker received an error when processing a database operation. The ODBC return code was '-1'. See the following messages for information obtained from the database about this error.
Use the following messages to determine the cause of the error. Typical problems are an incorrect data source, or table names. Correct either the database or the broker configuration.
BIP2322E: Database error: SQL State ''HY000''; Native Error Code '-25553'; Error Text ''[unixODBC][Informix][Informix ODBC Driver][Informix]Unspecified System Error = -25553.''.
The error has the following diagnostic information: SQL State ''HY000'' SQL Native Error Code '-25553' SQL Error Text ''[unixODBC][Informix][Informix ODBC Driver][Informix]Unspecified System Error = -25553.''
This message may be accompanied by other messages describing the effect on the message broker itself. Use the reason identified in this message with the accompanying messages to determine the cause of the error.
BIP8040E: Unable to connect to the database.
The database cannot be accessed with the specified user Id and password pair.
- Check that the database is running.
- Check that the database has an adequate number of database connections available for use.
- On Windows, check that an ODBC connection has been created.
- On systems that use $ODBCINI, check that the file pointed to by $ODBCINI has been correctly updated.
- On z/OS check the BIPDSNAO member of the component's dataset, and check the DB2 64bit ODBC driver (DSNAO64C) is in the STEPLIB.
- Use mqsisetdbparms to set the password to the correct value and try again.
|
I enabled the ODBC trace to see if I could understand more. The only interesting part was the Unicode encoding it used. Because, the value seen here wasn't set in the .ini file. However, changing this value in the .ini file to match with UCS-2LE as seen below, didn't resolve the problem.
Code: |
[ODBC][12300][3059640016][2012-09-19 14:55:47.680][SQLConnect.c][3621]
Entry:
Connection = 0x832b440
Server Name = [my_informix][length = 6 (SQL_NTS)]
User Name = [informix][length = 8 (SQL_NTS)]
Authentication = [********][length = 8 (SQL_NTS)]
UNICODE Using encoding ASCII 'ISO8859-1' and UNICODE 'UCS-2LE'
DIAG [HY000] [Informix][Informix ODBC Driver][Informix]Unspecified System Error = -25553.
|
I even tried collecting the MustGather docs with ISALite; but, it says, it is not able to locate any message brokers ! A Google search for that message leads me to an unanswered query in IBM developerWorks site.
Can you please help me in locating what am I missing ? _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
You probably have done all this, but doesn't hurt to ask for a double check. What is the value of the environment variable INFORMIXSQLHOSTS ? Also check to see that INFORMIXDIR points to the right version of the client package.
If none of these is amiss, I would open a support ticket with Informix. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
Quote: |
You probably have done all this, but doesn't hurt to ask for a double check. What is the value of the environment variable INFORMIXSQLHOSTS ? Also check to see that INFORMIXDIR points to the right version of the client package. |
Actually, no; for two reasons. Firstly, this appears to be a broker error only. I am able to connect to the database using OAT and Data Studio. And, secondly, well, this is the first time ever I am working with Informix.
I will check and inform. _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
These are the values:
Code: |
informix@host:/opt/IBM/Informix$ env | grep INFORM
INFORMIXDIR=/opt/IBM/Informix
INFORMIXSERVER=ol_informix1170
INFORMIXSQLHOSTS=/opt/IBM/Informix/etc/sqlhosts.ol_informix1170
informix@host:/opt/IBM/Informix$ more /opt/IBM/Informix/etc/sqlhosts.ol_informix1170
ol_informix1170 onsoctcp host ol_informix1170
dr_informix1170 drsoctcp host dr_informix1170
|
_________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
Ok. Also, once you confirm that these environment variables are present on your system, you need to login under the Broker service Id, and also confirm that the environment variables are available under that Broker service Id. I shant need to remind that Broker service Id should never be mqm and must have mqbrkrs group as it's primary group membership. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
lancelotlinc,
What beverage do I owe you ?
I followed your instructions and mqsicvp works now! Thank you !
One last question. The onstat -g ses command would list a connection entry only when a SQL is fired, is it ? I have a mapping node which uses a DFDL for a table in an Informix database. The message flow containing the mapping node isn't running at the moment and the connection entry isn't seen now. _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
Cogito-Ergo-Sum wrote: |
lancelotlinc, What beverage do I owe you ? I followed your instructions and mqsicvp works now! Thank you ! |
We're all going to smdavies' chippy soon, and you can buy a round for all of us.
Cogito-Ergo-Sum wrote: |
One last question. The onstat -g ses command would list a connection entry only when a SQL is fired, is it ? I have a mapping node which uses a DFDL for a table in an Informix database. The message flow containing the mapping node isn't running at the moment and the connection entry isn't seen now. |
In the toolkit, have you established the Physical Data Model for the DSN you are using? If not, open the PDM Editor and fill the form. mqjeff may be more of an 'ex'pert in this area. I'm just a pert. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Cogito-Ergo-Sum |
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 07 Feb 2006 Posts: 293 Location: Bengaluru, India
|
I have the .dbm and it is associated with the new project. After deployment of the BAR file, there is no entry in the onstat command. From the Database Connections view, I am able to connect to the Informix database. This lists two entries in the result of the onstat command. When I disconnect, both go away.
So, in other words, mqsicvp works but Informix does not report a connection from broker. _________________ ALL opinions are welcome.
-----------------------------
Debugging tip:When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
---Sherlock Holmes |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|