ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » TCPIPSERVER related nodes

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 TCPIPSERVER related nodes « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
PEPERO
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:46 am    Post subject: TCPIPSERVER related nodes Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 30 May 2011
Posts: 177

Hi all;
Suppose the input and output nodes read and write from/to the same port number according to the following message flow. The flow is going to serve a high volume rated transactions, hence the connection would be always available.

Code:

Tcpipserverinput -----> Tcpipserverreceive ----------> Tcpipserveroutput


what would be the best configuration of the advanced tab properties of the TCPIPSERVERINPUT , TCPIPSERVERRECEIVE and TCPIPSERVEROUTPUT nodes?
The ones that i've prepared are as follows :

Code:

- Tcpipserverinput  Advanced tab :
   Close connection = NO
   OutputStream Modification = Leave unchanged
   InputStream Modification = Reserve input stream (for use by future TCPIP nodes) then release at end of flow

- TcpipserverReceive  Advanced tab :
   Close connection = NO
   OutputStream Modification = Reserve output stream (for use by future TCPIP nodes) then release at end of flow

   InputStream Modification = Leave unchanged

 
- Tcpipserveroutput  Advanced tab :
   Close connection = NO
   OutputStream Modification = Leave unchanged
   InputStream Modification = Leave unchanged
 
- Tcpipserveroutput  Request tab :
   ID location = $LocalEnvironment/TCPIP/Input/ConnectionDetails/Id



In addition i've set the additional instances of the message flow to 20 and it could be changed for performance reasons.
So i would be appreciate if i could have your ideas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

Sounds curiously like a web service. Are you trying to duplicate the web service fascade in tcpip nodes?
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
smdavies99
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

lancelotlinc wrote:
Sounds curiously like a web service. Are you trying to duplicate the web service fascade in tcpip nodes?


That might be the case. On my current project I am using some TCPIP nodes to do just that. There is no WSDL available and the originator of the messages does not even have an XSD. IT is free form XML and the Message Types are not always consistent with the actual data.

Oh, and using the HTTP nodes does not work for 100% of the messages.
The data is sometimes not well formattd HTML and no I can't just throw them away.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PEPERO
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 30 May 2011
Posts: 177

No. This differs from the latest post of me about the webservices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

Ok, perhaps you can explain more about the business purpose of your flow. Are you serving stock quotes, menu prices, home movies? What business goal are you trying to achieve?
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PEPERO
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 30 May 2011
Posts: 177

The input comes from an IVR system which works with the raw sockets, it enqueries some information from the CICS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

What is the brand name of the telephony switch, and how old is it? Some problems you might see is that the switch (Nortels are notorious for this) gets out of sync with the CICS transactions they send and end up looping incorrectly, generating lots of traffic for no purpose.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
NealM
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Feb 2011
Posts: 230
Location: NC or Utah (depends)

On your TCPIPServerOutput, if this one is for the response to a msg received by your TCPIPServerInput node, we set our CloseConnections = After Data has been Sent. In other cases, = No.
But then we are not using a TCPIPserverreceive node anyplace....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

It might also help if you call out specifically what business value you hope to add to the transaction by inserting WMB into the middle. In many installations, the telephone switch talks directly to CICS and WMB is not used in the transaction.

What is your goal for inserting WMB into the middle of the transaction?
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
smdavies99
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

An IVR (Interactive Voice Response) System does not need to be directly connected to a Telephone system. I am working on just such a setup.

The IVR flow I'm working on does use HTTP (thankfully). HttpInput-->Get the xxx Data from the DB -->HttpReply.
This is connected to a bit of ***** kit which in turn is connected to the Telephone System.
The only problem is that the ***** kit is really poor and you can easily crash it by initiating a request that returns a large amount of data.
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PEPERO
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 30 May 2011
Posts: 177

We have so many systems like the IVR. The goal is to implement an ESB for the various integration problems. At first we want to keep the changes at the minimum level ; either in the client side or the server side. The long term plan is to change the pure communication and messaging protocols ; like using the raw sockets ; with the more reliable and flexible ones. But now we are at the begining of the way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PEPERO
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 30 May 2011
Posts: 177

Quote:

On your TCPIPServerOutput, if this one is for the response to a msg received by your TCPIPServerInput node, we set our CloseConnections = After Data has been Sent


But doesn't closing and opening the connection, consum a considerable amount of time in a high volume rated transactions environment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NealM
PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Feb 2011
Posts: 230
Location: NC or Utah (depends)

Quote:
But doesn't closing and opening the connection, consum a considerable amount of time in a high volume rated transactions environment?

I don't know the details of the connection pool, but we only close a single connection each time. The only performance issues we get are once in a while at peak times the asynchronous response from the mainframe back to the Broker flows via MQ is so slow as to have the requesting app already close its TCPIP connection before we can respond. That app keeps 3 instances of the TCPIP request flow, and 5 instances of the response flow busy.
And by the way Lancelot, CICS on the old mainframe VSE OS is married to MQ only (but they did upgrade it to MQ v3 recently....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » TCPIPSERVER related nodes
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.