Author |
Message
|
Chandra Mohan |
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:26 am Post subject: Alter SYSTEM Default object |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 26 Jul 2006 Posts: 53
|
Hey Guys,
IF we alter SYSTEM.DEFAULT.* object of a QM, Do we need to restart the QM to make change effective.
Lets take an example If we alter maxdepth of SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE moment after i have defined QL will it take new value of maxdepth ? _________________ Chandra Mohan |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:32 am Post subject: Re: Alter SYSTEM Default object |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Chandra Mohan wrote: |
IF we alter SYSTEM.DEFAULT.* object of a QM, Do we need to restart the QM to make change effective. |
Change the MAXDEPTH of SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE.
Define a new local queue without restarting the queue manager or specifying maxdepth.
Examine the maxdepth of the new queue. This will give you your answer and be much faster than posting here.
You can use the time saved to consider the wisdom of editing a SYSTEM object rather than defining a new MY.STANDARD.LOCAL.QUEUE with the attributes you want and using that.
Chandra Mohan wrote: |
Lets take an example If we alter maxdepth of SYSTEM.DEFAULT.LOCAL.QUEUE moment after i have defined QL will it take new value of maxdepth ? |
No. Once a queue is defined the only way to change it's attributes is to ALTER that queue. The SYSTEM queue just holds the defaults for all the attributes you don't specify on the DEFINE command. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 9:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
SYSTEM.DEF objects are used as templates in defining new objects. The attributes of the SYSTEM.DEF objects are used if you don't specify them when you define a new object. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 12:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
To support my esteemed colleague Vitor,
you can use a different queue as template using the like clause in your define statement:
Code: |
def ql(myapp.queue) like (my.default.ql) |
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gbaddeley |
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:02 pm Post subject: Re: Alter SYSTEM Default object |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 25 Mar 2003 Posts: 2538 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Chandra Mohan wrote: |
IF we alter SYSTEM.DEFAULT.* object of a QM... |
Hi Chandra. The best practice is not to alter the SYSTEM.DEFAULT.* objects, unless you are deliberately disabling usage of them for security reasons, eg. set MCAUSER('nobody') on channels.
If you want to set default parameter values for new object definitions, eg. MAXDEPTH on a QLOCAL, set up your own obect with the required defaults and use the LIKE parameter when defining the new objects. _________________ Glenn |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 11:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Personally I do change the defaults for local, remote and alias queues, at least to set queue max depth and persistence.
They are there to provide defaults - not to stop you customising them.
Just don't delete them! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|