Author |
Message
|
ruchir |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:37 am Post subject: Http Listener Port for execution group |
|
|
Guest
|
Hi All,
I have a little query, how we can check on which http listener port execution group is running.
Is there a command to check it. Please tell.
Thanks in advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ruchir |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guest
|
Thanks mqjeff for the quick reply.
I read your link, but still couldn't find my solution
I just want to know on which HTTP listener port my execution group is listening. So that i can use that port no to run my flow from SOAP UI.
What i understand is deafult is 7800 and increases by 1 for every new execution group, but couldn't find how to check port number for a execution group.
Please  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
If you need to know the port number, you should set it for the execution group. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ruchir |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guest
|
zpat wrote: |
If you need to know the port number, you should set it for the execution group. |
I think by default a http listener port is assigned to execution group. I just want to know how to check which port is assigned to execution group. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 3:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
The link I posted uses the word "here" several times as a hyperlink. That means that if you click it, it will take you to another page that provides more information. For example, information on how to find out what port is currently assigned.
The port that is in use by an ExecutionGroup for HTTP can be one of two separate ports, as that technote describes. It can EITHER be the bipHTTPListener port, or it can be the SOAP listener Port.
If you are *only* interested in using SOAP over HTTP, then the port in use for an EG is *only* the Soap Listener port.
If you need to know WHAT port # is being used by the SOAP Listener, you need to *assign* it to a specific port. Otherwise you have to guess each time the broker starts up.
 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
ruchir wrote: |
zpat wrote: |
If you need to know the port number, you should set it for the execution group. |
I think by default a http listener port is assigned to execution group. I just want to know how to check which port is assigned to execution group. |
Have you attended training? The instructor will show you how. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
I repeat, if you need to know the port number, explicitly set it for the execution group.
Otherwise it will vary according to the EG start order and the range set for each broker which may be different.
I keep a big spreadsheet of my port numbers and ranges, so as to deconflict them in case I ever merge brokers, or run them on the same host, and also for HA failover reasons (where there is mutual failover).
Using the defaults is a bad idea, all it takes is for someone to create another broker on the same host, and you have a port conflict problem. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ruchir |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guest
|
mqjeff wrote: |
The link I posted uses the word "here" several times as a hyperlink. |
Sorry i couldn't open those hyperlinks bcz my office firewall didnt allow that. Will definitely check it home.
zpat wrote: |
Otherwise it will vary according to the EG start order |
Good to know this. i thought once the port is assigned by default to any execution group it is fixed. But according to this it can change. But suppose if you havonly one execution group , then it is fixed, which is assigned by default, rite
lancelotlinc wrote: |
Have you attended training? The instructor will show you how |
Sorry i didn't had any, just had a brief knowledge session on MB. So thought i can ask to experts like u. Bcz everywhere i find to set a port for execution group but couldn't find how to check the port for a execution group. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 1:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
ruchir wrote: |
lancelotlinc wrote: |
Have you attended training? The instructor will show you how |
Sorry i didn't had any, just had a brief knowledge session on MB. So thought i can ask to experts like u. Bcz everywhere i find to set a port for execution group but couldn't find how to check the port for a execution group. |
You sound bright and motivated. Adding the right information to your knowledge will help you immensely. There are many ways to add knowledge. One is training, another is mentoring, another is Google. If you have no mentor, and you lack the ability to use Google, then go get some much needed training. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MrSmith |
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 20 Mar 2008 Posts: 215
|
If you have access to each EG group then you could use the following commands like netstat -b to show the processes that have a port number assigned and by starting the EG's individually and keeping the netstat on refresh will show the new port numbers added. This is ONLY of any real use if the EG has a a preassigned port number as has previously been said that it will just be allocated the first free port in the range assigned to EG's and therefore may change each time, would suggest that there would be some documentation or broker admin peson who has decided on whether the ports will be assigned or dynamically assigned. _________________ -------- *
“Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.” |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
This will show you, among other things, what port # is set for the execution group,
Code: |
mqsireportproperties YourBrokerNameHere -e YourExecutionGroupNameHere -o HTTPConnector -a |
 _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
lancelotlinc |
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 22 Mar 2010 Posts: 4941 Location: Bloomington, IL USA
|
PeterPotkay wrote: |
This will show you, among other things, what port # is set for the execution group,
Code: |
mqsireportproperties YourBrokerNameHere -e YourExecutionGroupNameHere -o HTTPConnector -a |
 |
Peter - you take the fun out of Google. _________________ http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ruchir |
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Guest
|
Thanks a ton to all experts
PeterPatkay wrote: |
This will show you, among other things, what port # is set for the execution group,
Code: |
mqsireportproperties YourBrokerNameHere -e YourExecutionGroupNameHere -o HTTPConnector -a |
|
Thanks for this command
MrSmith wrote: |
If you have access to each EG group then you could use the following commands like netstat -b to show the processes that have a port number assigned and by starting the EG's individually and keeping the netstat on refresh will show the new port numbers added. This is ONLY of any real use if the EG has a a preassigned port number as has previously been said that it will just be allocated the first free port in the range assigned to EG's and therefore may change each time, would suggest that there would be some documentation or broker admin peson who has decided on whether the ports will be assigned or dynamically assigned. |
Wonderful Information.Will definitely keep in mind. Thanks for sharing.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|