Author |
Message
|
krys |
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 28 May 2010 Posts: 10
|
Hey Folks,
I have this requirement where in I have to FTP get a PDF file from machine A and do a FTP put (PDF) to Machine B. I don't have to read and manipulate the data in the PDF.
Can I achieve this using File Input and Output Nodes? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Split from this thread to which it has only a passing connection.
krys wrote: |
Can I achieve this using File Input and Output Nodes? |
Well you're trying to move a PDF file using the FileInput and FileOutput nodes - where do you see the problem??
krys wrote: |
I don't have to read and manipulate the data in the PDF. |
Then why use WMB at all? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
krys |
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 28 May 2010 Posts: 10
|
Can I build a message flow by just connecting the FTP Input File Input node to File Output node? OR Do I need to introduce a custom node in between to read the Input data as blob and set it as blob for the Output? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
krys wrote: |
Can I build a message flow by just connecting the FTP Input File Input node to File Output node? |
What happens when you try it?
krys wrote: |
Do I need to introduce a custom node in between to read the Input data as blob and set it as blob for the Output? |
Why would you need a custom node, assuming you need any node at all?
And (again) why use WMB for this anyway? Why not a more lightweight ftp solution? Or one of the more reliable ftp-over-WMQ solutions if you're wedded to the architecture? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
krys |
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 28 May 2010 Posts: 10
|
I haven't tried it out but was curious to know if it would work.
Part of the requirement is to update a DB table once the File transfer is complete. The light weight FTP solution that we have hasn't got the capability to interact with DB systems. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
krys wrote: |
Part of the requirement is to update a DB table once the File transfer is complete. |
And how, exactly, do you plan to do that with a flow that simply has a FileInput and a FileOutput node?
And what, exactly, are you updating the DB table with if you're making no reference to the file? Is this table intended to prove that a PDF file was successfully ftp'd, but doesn't need to record which file it was? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
krys |
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 28 May 2010 Posts: 10
|
Sorry, I only asked about the file transfer part earlier. You are right, I need to get the name of the file and update the DB table with that name.
So I need to have a File Input node, Output Node and finally a custom node to connect & update the DB table.
I am not sure on the following
1. Can I FTP get the PDF file and send it AS-IS to machine B using File output node?
2. Will I be able to get the name of the file from the messages that comes out of File output node - output terminal.
Theoretically it should work but I will have to try it and see how it goes. What do you think? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
krys wrote: |
So I need to have a File Input node, Output Node and finally a custom node to connect & update the DB table. |
Again, why a custom node?
krys wrote: |
1. Can I FTP get the PDF file and send it AS-IS to machine B using File output node? |
You could try it and see.
krys wrote: |
2. Will I be able to get the name of the file from the messages that comes out of File output node - output terminal. |
That depends on how you design the answer to point 1. And only 1 message comes out of the FileOutput node.
krys wrote: |
What do you think? |
I think there's one problem you seem to have overlooked. I also think you show a remarkable reluctance to develop your own solution by experimentation. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
krys |
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 28 May 2010 Posts: 10
|
OOPS.....! I mean compute node not custom node. I will not bother you anymore Will try it out... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
krys wrote: |
Will try it out... |
Solid plan.
If you have specific issues, post again. With all the details.
Better information, better advice. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
You might also want to have a look at MQ-FTE (File Transfer Edition) that will do the FTP over MQ (splitting and reassembling the messages where needed and log what it did in a central place.
Have fun.  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|