Author |
Message
|
hunterKillerz |
Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:35 pm Post subject: connection count in mq series |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 16 Jun 2010 Posts: 40
|
Is there anyway to limit the connection count?
"number of connections to queue manager". |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:18 pm Post subject: Re: connection count in mq series |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
hunterKillerz wrote: |
Is there anyway to limit the connection count?
"number of connections to queue manager". |
Yes !
Hint :
* please check the qm ini file attributes
* Please go through the IBM Mq security manual.
* please check the channel(s) {exits }.
* Please search for the similar topics in the forum, you would get a lot of posts.
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hunterKillerz |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 12:11 am Post subject: Re: connection count in mq series |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 16 Jun 2010 Posts: 40
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
hunterKillerz wrote: |
Is there anyway to limit the connection count?
"number of connections to queue manager". |
Yes !
Hint :
* please check the qm ini file attributes
* Please go through the IBM Mq security manual.
* please check the channel(s) {exits }.
* Please search for the similar topics in the forum, you would get a lot of posts.
 |
Other than editing the qm.ini file, can we edit that through Websphere MQ v7 GUI?
thanks for the guide, i will search for it.^^ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 12:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
Quote: |
can we edit that through Websphere MQ v7 GUI? |
MQ Explorer > Right click on QM > Properties > Channels > 'choose the options and select them (before that, pls consult the RedBook).
 _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hunterKillerz |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 12:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 16 Jun 2010 Posts: 40
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
MQ Explorer > Right click on QM > Properties > Channels > 'choose the options and select them (before that, pls consult the RedBook).
 |
thanks for fast reply, yeah i did know that when i read post from this forum.
But isn't the max channel & max active channel means no. of channels i can have for a queue manager?
for example in my case: i was doing remote queue testing on two PCs, ( which means i have sender & receiver channel on both sides.
So if i set max channel to be 2, that means i can only have 2 channels right? (either sender or receiver)
and I was testing on executing multiple applications(200clients app), each of them putting message to same queue(Q1-remote Q on PC1, received by Q1-local Q on PC2), then processed by PC2 and put response message to (Q2-remote Q on PC2, received by Q2-local Q on PC1).
Code: |
(PUT) .-----. QM_PC1.QM_PC2 .----.
clientApp ---> |PC1 |..................................|PC2 |
(VB6.0) '-----''''''''''''''''''' ''''''''''''''''----'
QM_PC2.QM_PC1
Q1(remote) Q1(local)
Q2(local) Q2(remote)
transmisson Q transmission Q
|
So if i wan to limit the connection(application connection/connection count) to QM, in this case: 200 client app, how can i achieve that? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
Quote: |
...if i wan to limit the connection(application connection/connection count) to QM, in this case: 200 client app, how can i achieve that?... |
Why don't you use security exit on the channels used by the application(s) to connect to the queue manager !!!!! _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hunterKillerz |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 16 Jun 2010 Posts: 40
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
Why don't you use security exit on the channels used by the application(s) to connect to the queue manager !!!!! |
Erm, I learn how to code via MQ samples(VB6.0) provided by IBM.
I thought MQCONN should be enough to connect to queue manager?
Sorry I'm totally newbie in MQ and was forced to learn this alone.
So i do hope someone like you to guide me a little bit on MQ, thanks btw! =) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
hunterKillerz wrote: |
... was forced to learn this alone. |
You profile name is hunterKillerz.. you should have hunt who is forcing you against your will. ha ha ha...
jokes apart.. try reading the MQ Primer book first and the basic posts on this forum.. hope that would help you !
By the way 200+ applications are not much, if they are requesting for the connection over the qmgr and closing it properly.
If apps are using the server connection channel then set some MCA userid to curb the access by unknown users. OR check the status of the channel OR by right clicking on QM check the Application Connections (App Type, Thread, UserID) by that you can keep the track who is accessing the qmgr and how many threads do they occupy. After that you can decide upon what limit you should fix for max no. of conn. on a qmgr. _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Not forgetting that for clients (assuming WMQ V7.0) there are additional attributes to limit the number of simultaneous instances of a SVRCONN, and number of instances started by a particular client. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
shashivarungupta wrote: |
...Why don't you use security exit on the channels used by the application(s) to connect to the queue manager !!!!! |
Because hunterKillerz is new to WMQ and exits (of any variety) are not something to be attempted by a tyro
Yet again, the advice you offer is ill-thought and inappropriate - please give more consideration to the impact of advice in relation to the level of knowledge of the recipient. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shashivarungupta |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 24 Feb 2009 Posts: 1343 Location: Floating in space on a round rock.
|
exerk wrote: |
shashivarungupta wrote: |
...Why don't you use security exit on the channels used by the application(s) to connect to the queue manager !!!!! |
Because hunterKillerz is new to WMQ and exits (of any variety) are not something to be attempted by a tyro
Yet again, the advice you offer is ill-thought and inappropriate - please give more consideration to the impact of advice in relation to the level of knowledge of the recipient. |
That he expressed/told/disclosed after I posted !!!! I could have read his mind......  _________________ *Life will beat you down, you need to decide to fight back or leave it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
From one of hunterKillerz other posts: "...Because I was having internship now, still a college student..." _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
The free BlockIP2 exit can be used to limit the number of channel instances for any given channel (masking can be used on the name).
See the MAXCHL keyword in the BlocklIP2 configuration. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hunterKillerz |
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 16 Jun 2010 Posts: 40
|
bros, thanks for the replies, I appreciated what u guys said, do hope to learn more from u guys on WMQ . =)
Erm, lets make my question simple, let say i have written a vb6.0 put application (wmqput.exe), and i execute them for 300 times(examples), is there any setting to limit down the connections to Queue Manager from my (wmqput.exe)?
Just want to see if I set it from 300 to 200, will the 100left (wmqput.exe) fails to connect to Queue Manger? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|