Author |
Message
|
matuwe |
Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:49 am Post subject: Check if DOMAIN ('XMLNS') PARSE was successful |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 05 Dec 2007 Posts: 296
|
Please help, I have code that looks like the code below. I need to parse data into xml and check if it was parsed successfully. This code works on Windows but doesn't work on AIX. Is the a consistant way that I can check if the incomming message parsed successfully or not? I a trying to use the esql function FIELDVALUE to check if it was successful.
Code: |
DECLARE messageString CHARACTER;
SET messageString = CAST (CAST(InputRoot.BLOB.BLOB AS BLOB) AS CHARACTER CCSID InputRoot.Properties.CodedCharSetId ENCODING InputRoot.Properties.Encoding);
CREATE LASTCHILD OF Environment.Payload DOMAIN ('XMLNS') PARSE ( messageString,InputRoot.Properties.Encoding, InputRoot.Properties.CodedCharSetId);
DECLARE fieldValue CHARACTER FIELDVALUE(Environment.Payload.XMLNS) ;
DECLARE fielsLength INTEGER LENGTH(fieldValue);
IF fielsLength > 0 THEN
SET OutputRoot.XMLNSC.ESB_WRAPPER.INPUTS.INPUTPAYLOAD = Environment.Payload.XMLNS ;
ELSE
SET OutputRoot.XMLNSC.ESB_WRAPPER.INPUTS.INPUTPAYLOAD = InputRoot.BLOB.BLOB ;
END IF;
|
Thanks  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 2:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Do you get any errors logged (in the syslog etc) on the AIX System?
Have you run the data through with user trace enabled?
If I were you, I'd do run the data through with UserTrace on and the debugger disabled. You might be surprised at the results. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matuwe |
Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 05 Dec 2007 Posts: 296
|
Thanks for the response.... But the behaviur is still the same.. No errors on the log. Is there any better function that I can use besides FIELDVALUE?  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Why are you parsing the BLOB into XMLNS, then using XMLNSC in the OutputRoot?
When it apparently fails with no errors in the log, how do you know it's not been parsed successfully? What indicates this to you? Unexpected output? Errors in a dowstream application? Or just that the output doesn't look as you expect? _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 5:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Firstly, you are using XMLNC & XMLNSC domains in your ESQL snippet you posted. I hope this is just a typo.
Please use one domain preferable XMLNSC.
Next, if there are errors in the XML, for example invalid XML tags, the Compute node will probably throw an exception so the flow will stop processing at the time of the CREATE and never get to the next bit.
AFAIK, this is a bit redundant.
You are not parsing it against a message model so you don't know if the XML you are getting has a valid logical structure. i.e. all the fields with the right names in the right order.
Some explanation as to why you want to do what you are attempting might help us to propose a more valid solution. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 8:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Why are you doing a CREATE PARSE from a CHARACTER type and not a BLOB type?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
Quote: |
Why are you doing a CREATE PARSE from a CHARACTER type and not a BLOB type? |
That's a very fair question, because the infocenter does not say that you can give a CHARACTER field to a CREATE...PARSE statement. The funny thing is, you can
( I found this out a couple of months ago while examining the source code with the author ).
matuwe: Your code is wrong in several ways. I suggest that you go back to basics, read the infocenter and learn how the product works. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
kimbert wrote: |
Quote: |
Why are you doing a CREATE PARSE from a CHARACTER type and not a BLOB type? |
That's a very fair question, because the infocenter does not say that you can give a CHARACTER field to a CREATE...PARSE statement. The funny thing is, you can
( I found this out a couple of months ago while examining the source code with the author ). |
I learn every day!
Would that not mean that the CCSID parameter in the PARSE is moot if you use a character variable, as well as Encoding ?? (obviously you have a character field so there is no encoding....)  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mgk |
Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 31 Jul 2003 Posts: 1642
|
Quote: |
Would that not mean that the CCSID parameter in the PARSE is moot if you use a character variable, as well as Encoding |
No, because it uses them internally to perform the equivalent CAST to a BLOB on your behalf...  _________________ MGK
The postings I make on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent IBM's positions, strategies or opinions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
mgk wrote: |
Quote: |
Would that not mean that the CCSID parameter in the PARSE is moot if you use a character variable, as well as Encoding |
No, because it uses them internally to perform the equivalent CAST to a BLOB on your behalf...  |
Thanks for clarifying that.  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matuwe |
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 1:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 05 Dec 2007 Posts: 296
|
Hi Thanks so much for all the response.
I am actually using XMLNS because the info centre said, choosing a domain i I need to do xpath and stuff then I should use XMLNS and not XMLNSC.
All I need to do is check the incomming message, if it is XML route it to somewhere, else if it is not XML then to someother place. Maybe I did it a little too complex. Is there any simple way that I can do this?
So the trace node shows that I am still going to the BLOB route and not the XML route.
One other thing I found strange was, on windows if I PARSE to XMLNSC domain, the function FIELDVALUE always returns empty but if I PARSE to XMLNS then I get something back.
Thanks so much for all the feedback and I will also make the change not to cast to CHARECTER first. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
matuwe wrote: |
One other thing I found strange was, on windows if I PARSE to XMLNSC domain, the function FIELDVALUE always returns empty but if I PARSE to XMLNS then I get something back. |
It should not behave with that much difference. Are you sure you took into consideration that if you check for fieldtypes you need to use XMLNSC.type instead of XML.type? Remember as well that the XMLNS and XMLNSC trees will look slightly different. The first child of an element might be its namespace and not a child value. So if you went for first child with a reference make sure you specified the type... If you did and still see that difference open a PMR.
Hope it helps  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matuwe |
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 05 Dec 2007 Posts: 296
|
Thanks once again.
According to the trace Node, the data is PARSED successfully and it is sitting on Environment.Payload.XMLNS Butit points out that my problem is on these lines...
Code: |
DECLARE fieldValue CHARACTER FIELDVALUE(Environment.Payload.XMLNS) ;
DECLARE fielsLength INTEGER LENGTH(fieldValue);
|
I have tried with both Domains XMLNSC and XMLNS, XMLNS works on windows and they both do not work on AIX.
I also tried to check for null
IF Environment.Payload.XMLNSC IS NULL
didn't work. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
So you have proved that the message has parsed successfully. Great.
What are the two lines of ESQL you are having trouble with supposed to do?
What value do they serve?
Can you access fields in your message directly?
Remember that the parsed message is a TREE not a string. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
matuwe |
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 05 Dec 2007 Posts: 296
|
Hi
Thanks guys. Looks like it is working, I have removed the problem lines and changed back to check for NULL and it works for XMLNS and not XMLNSC.
Code: |
CREATE LASTCHILD OF Environment.Payload DOMAIN ('XMLNS') PARSE ( InputRoot.BLOB.BLOB,InputRoot.Properties.Encoding, InputRoot.Properties.CodedCharSetId);
IF Environment.Payload.XMLNS IS NOT NULL THEN
SET OutputRoot.XMLNSC.ESB_WRAPPER.INPUTS.INPUTPAYLOAD = Environment.Payload.XMLNS ;
ELSE
SET OutputRoot.XMLNSC.ESB_WRAPPER.INPUTS.INPUTPAYLOAD = InputRoot.BLOB.BLOB ;
END IF;
|
Thanks for all the help and optimizing my CODE. cool stuff..
Beautifull stuff  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|