Author |
Message
|
Twilight |
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:27 am Post subject: MQ Client connects to 2 different Qmgrs |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 04 Aug 2004 Posts: 49
|
HI.
Our development folks to use MQ client to GET from Qmgr A and PUT into
Qmgr B instead having own qmgr for msg rerouting.
Is any kind of Pro/Con or no..no stuff for this attempt ?
please advice me.[color=green][/color] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:41 am Post subject: Re: MQ Client connects to 2 different Qmgrs |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Twilight wrote: |
Is any kind of Pro/Con or no..no stuff for this attempt ?
|
It makes the application complex and inefficent for no good reason. It also means the application has to know a lot more about the architecture of queue managers it's running on than otherwise. This makes porting the application, or reworking the architecture, more difficult than it needs to be.
You also have to wonder about the cost effictiveness of buying expensive messaging software, with the ability to route messages, then doing the routing in the application. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Twilight |
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 04 Aug 2004 Posts: 49
|
Yes. it becomes very complicate client programming.
Also, it may cause stability issue in terms of "Data "integrity".
I believe MQ client is not XA compatible so 2 phase commit is not allowed into both Qmr A and B. _________________ WMQ/WMQI/WBI Consultant
Toronto, Canada |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
Twilight wrote: |
Yes. it becomes very complicate client programming. |
Yes it does.
Twilight wrote: |
Also, it may cause stability issue in terms of "Data "integrity". |
It certainly could.
Twilight wrote: |
I believe MQ client is not XA compatible so 2 phase commit is not allowed into both Qmr A and B. |
Not the standard client, but the extended client is specifically for XA coordination over client connections.
You couldn't do 2-phase into 2 queue managers anyway as the connections would be in different threads. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
On the "Pro" side, you are very very isolated from a security point of view.
The only data that passes from one queue manager to the other is exactly and only the data that the application allows through. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bruce2359 |
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 05 Jan 2008 Posts: 9469 Location: US: west coast, almost. Otherwise, enroute.
|
MQ imposes no restriction on on a client app MQCONNecting to multiple qmgrs. MQ does not support MQCMIT/MQBACK UofW with multiple qmgrs. As mentioned earlier, the connection handle (HCONN) retuned is specific to a qmgr.
You could write such an app; but it is your responsibility to do the transaction-level coordination of changes to ensure consistency across the multiple qmgrs. _________________ I like deadlines. I like to wave as they pass by.
ב''ה
Lex Orandi, Lex Credendi, Lex Vivendi. As we Worship, So we Believe, So we Live. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Twilight |
Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 04 Aug 2004 Posts: 49
|
Excellent input folks !
I'll pass these input to my developer as caution.
thanks again everyone replied to my questions. _________________ WMQ/WMQI/WBI Consultant
Toronto, Canada |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|