Author |
Message
|
RNStanich |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 7:28 am Post subject: Printing a message set in WBIMB v5.0 |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 23 Apr 2002 Posts: 64
|
Hi, is it possible to print a message set from the toolkit where the printout would provide information such as element length and type? _________________ Regards, Bob |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
Does it have to be printed from the Toolkit ?
In the event you already didn't know, you could export the .mxsd to the filesystem, and then print the contents from an editor of your choice.
It'll look somethig like this:
Code: |
<xsd:element name="CLIENT_SSN">
<xsd:annotation>
<xsd:appinfo source="http://www.wsadie.com/appinfo">
<initialValue kind="SPACE"/>
</xsd:appinfo>
<xsd:appinfo source="WMQI_APPINFO">
<cwfInclRep messageSetDefaultRep="CWF100" skipCountLeading="0">
<cwfSimpleRep accessor="readWrite"
addrUnit="word" alignment="byte"
attributeInBit="false" characterSize="1"
contentSize="9"
lengthEncoding="fixedLength" offset="47"
paddingCharacter=" " prefixLength="0"
size="9"
stringJustification="leftJustify"
typeName="MRCWFStringRep" width="9"/>
</cwfInclRep>
</xsd:appinfo>
</xsd:annotation>
<xsd:simpleType>
<xsd:restriction base="xsd:string">
<xsd:length value="9"/>
</xsd:restriction>
</xsd:simpleType>
</xsd:element> |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JLRowe |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Yatiri
Joined: 25 May 2002 Posts: 664 Location: South East London
|
You can do this within eclipse.
Open the mxsd with the xml editor, and print from there. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
And since it's just an XSD, pretty much, maybe someone could write a tool to produce a pretty Document that listed elements and properties and etc. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RNStanich |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 23 Apr 2002 Posts: 64
|
Thanx all, went the export route ~ was just hoping for something cleaner. _________________ Regards, Bob |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Did you try: "File -> New -> Message Set Documentation " to generate HTML from a message set? _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Michael Dag |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 13 Jun 2002 Posts: 2607 Location: The Netherlands (Amsterdam)
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 4:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Nahh, I meant something more specific to Broker message sets. Something better than the "Message Set Documentation" that Wayne mentioned.
So, not so generic. And if you were really feeling snazzy, something that would export message flow layouts into anything other than bitmaps...  _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kimbert |
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 29 Jul 2003 Posts: 5542 Location: Southampton
|
Can somebody please explain why 'File -> New -> Message Set Documentation' is not suitable? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sandman |
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 6:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 16 Oct 2001 Posts: 134 Location: Lincoln, RI
|
Is that option still available in v6? I don't see it on my menu???  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sandman |
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 16 Oct 2001 Posts: 134 Location: Lincoln, RI
|
A coworker found it:
If you right click on the 2nd level message set folder named, there's a Generate menu option, with an arrow that expands to Message Set documentation.
Thanks Seth!  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
SOLOHERO |
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2007 6:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 01 Feb 2007 Posts: 107
|
Hi,
I cant able to find the generate documnetation under MENu and even looked under others.
Can you be clear where can i find that option.
Thanks _________________ Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sandman |
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 3:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 16 Oct 2001 Posts: 134 Location: Lincoln, RI
|
Right-click on the folder that is immediately beneath your message set project. Then the menu will offer Generate/Message Set Documentation.
Regarding generated documentation... does anyone know why this happens: Any xsd:string elements that were imported from a copybook appear in the toolkit w/ the data type underneath the element name. IOW, you have to expand the element name (the little plus sign) to see the type. No problem tho [yet]. However, for any elements that are defined "manually" in the message def as the same xsd:string type, the type appears to the right of the element name in the Type column. I'm assuming these are still both the same underlying type.
My question then: when you Generate Message Set Doc, the elements that were defined the first way (imported) appear in the docs with the CWF field lengths (which is what I want). But any elements that were created the second way (manual def) do not have the field lengths?
Thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
In a manual definition, where would it take the field length from?
As to the structure of the display, I'm sure it's a reflection of the internal xsd structure - where imported elements are created with a private complex type that has annotations on the simple type and manually created elements are merely created as being of the simple type, with annotations. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Sandman |
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 16 Oct 2001 Posts: 134 Location: Lincoln, RI
|
From the same place it gets them from on the "automatic" (imported) def: Physical Properties, CWF1, Local Element - where I manually defined the Length Count??? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|