Author |
Message
|
vandi |
Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 7:32 pm Post subject: not able to execute postcard script |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 13 Dec 2008 Posts: 67
|
Hi Guys,
We have installed MQ ver 7.0 on solaris box and are trying to do a verification test using postcard application.
As per the quick beginnings guide, we have set the required environment variables too.
But when we execute the postcard script we are getting the below error message.
Quote: |
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/ibm/mq/jms/postcard/JmsPcManager
The JRE has returned 1. |
On other solaris box with MQ ver 7.0, when I execute postcard script, I am getting the below error
Quote: |
No X11 DISPLAY variable was set, but this program performed an operation which requires it.
at java.awt.GraphicsEnvironment.checkHeadless(GraphicsEnvironment.java:159)
at java.awt.Window.<init>(Window.java:317)
at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:419)
at java.awt.Frame.<init>(Frame.java:384)
at javax.swing.JFrame.<init>(JFrame.java:150)
at com.ibm.mq.postcard.ui.internal.dialog.swing.PcSignOn.displaySignOnFrame(PcSignOn.java:253)
at com.ibm.mq.postcard.ui.internal.dialog.swing.PcSignOn.open(PcSignOn.java:228)
at com.ibm.mq.postcard.ui.internal.uiloader.PcSignOnManager.handleSignOnWizard(PcSignOnManager.java:145)
at com.ibm.mq.postcard.ui.internal.uiloader.PcSignOnManager.main(PcSignOnManager.java:685) |
I am not a java resource. Please let me know how to proceed further.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 8:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
You need to set up a graphic terminal server for your solaris box. This is also called an X11 server as it uses this protocol. This is usually the PC that initiated the putty or telnet session.
To set the variable use
Code: |
DISPLAY=mypchostnameorip:0
export DISPLAY |
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
WMBDEV1 |
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 12:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sentinel
Joined: 05 Mar 2009 Posts: 888 Location: UK
|
And the first error is caused by not having the correct JAR file on your classpath.
I dont know where this class is (as I dont have MQ 7) but as a guess i'd start with com.ibm.mqjms.jar under the MQinstallation (someone please feel free to correct me on this!). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vandi |
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 9:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 13 Dec 2008 Posts: 67
|
fjb_saper wrote: |
You need to set up a graphic terminal server for your solaris box. This is also called an X11 server as it uses this protocol. This is usually the PC that initiated the putty or telnet session.
To set the variable use
Code: |
DISPLAY=mypchostnameorip:0
export DISPLAY |
|
I have set the DISPLAY variable as suggested. Now when I run the postcard script, its not displaying anything.
Pls guide me on how to proceed.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vandi |
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 1:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 13 Dec 2008 Posts: 67
|
Does my local pc need to have any java files installed to get the postcard gui window displayed? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vandi |
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 1:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 13 Dec 2008 Posts: 67
|
Do we need to set DISPLAY variable on AIX also? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 8:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
vandi wrote: |
Do we need to set DISPLAY variable on AIX also? |
for java graphical display you do.  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue May 19, 2009 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
vandi wrote: |
Does my local pc need to have any java files installed to get the postcard gui window displayed? |
No you do not need any jar files. You do however need to run the X11 server and it needs to be reachable from the Unix/Linux machine...
The easy way to test this is to ping your pc from the Unix machine.
If this works and your display variable is set, verify your X11 server is running on your pc then run
on the server. A graphical command window for the Unix server should popup on your pc. You can further verify the graphical capability by running a utility like xeyes.
If you set up putty right you can tunnel X11 over ssh.
Have fun  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 4:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
or most ssh command line clients support -x to tunnel XWindows and set DISPLAY for you. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
chris boehnke |
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 7:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 25 Jul 2006 Posts: 369
|
Quote: |
You do however need to run the X11 server and it needs to be reachable from the Unix/Linux machine... |
Is it same for AIX machine also?
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed May 20, 2009 7:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Yes it is. _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|