ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » ANT Scripts for creating / deployin bar files.

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 ANT Scripts for creating / deployin bar files. « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
er_pankajgupta84
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:22 am    Post subject: ANT Scripts for creating / deployin bar files. Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 14 Nov 2008
Posts: 203
Location: charlotte,NC, USA

Hi

This is the first time i am trying to use ANT scripts... i went thru few manuals and created 2 scripts. One for Creating a bar file and other for deploying it but none of them is working.

Here is the problem:

Ant script (.xml) file for creating a bar:


<project name="project" default="run">
<target name="run" description="">
<property name="toolkit.home" value="C:\WINDOWS\IBM\WMBT610" />
<property name="ant.bars.basedir" value="C:\WINDOWS\IBM\apache-ant-1.7.1" />
<property name="workspaces.dir" value="C:\WINDOWS\IBM\WorkSpaces\poc" />
<property name="bar.name" value="C:\WINDOWS\IBM\WorkSpaces\poc\Servers\Temp2.bar" />
<antcall target="mqsicreatebar.buildbar" />
</target>

<!--
Target to build the broker archive using mqsicreatebar
-->
<target name="mqsicreatebar.buildbar">
<echo message="Building Broker Archive file: ${bar.name} " />
<exec executable="${toolkit.home}\eclipse\mqsicreatebar.exe" spawn="false">
<arg value="-data" />
<arg value="${workspaces.dir}" />
<arg value="-b" />
<arg value="${bar.name}" />
<arg value="-p" />
<arg value="Temp_Message_Flow" />
<arg value="-o" />
<arg value="Temp_Message_Flow\Temp.msgflow" />
</exec>
<echo message="Completed building Broker Archive file - ${bar.name} " />
</target>
</project>


When i run this file from cmd using : ant -buildfile AntScript.xml

Then it displays BUILD Successful message as shown below:

C:\WINDOWS\IBM\apache-ant-1.7.1\bin>ant -buildfile AntScript.xml
Buildfile: AntScript.xml

run:

mqsicreatebar.buildbar:
[echo] Building Broker Archive file: C:\WINDOWS\IBM\WorkSpaces\poc\Servers\
Temp2.bar
[exec] Result: 2
[echo] Completed building Broker Archive file - C:\WINDOWS\IBM\WorkSpaces\p
oc\Servers\Temp2.bar

BUILD SUCCESSFUL
Total time: 1 minute 18 seconds

But when i open the created bar file i don't see any flow in it. Also the file of that bar file is just 1 kb. I am not able to get where i am doing wrong.

Another problem:
I created the following script for deploying an already created bar file

<project name="project" default="run">
<target name="run" description="">
<property name="mqsi.dir" value="C:\WINDOWS\IBM\MQSI\6.1\bin" />
<property name="bar" value="C:\WINDOWS\IBM\WorkSpaces\poc\Servers\Temp.bar" />
<property name="ipaddress" value="localhost" />
<property name="port" value="1417" />
<property name="queuemgr" value="QM3" />
<property name="broker" value="BRK3" />
<property name="exegroup" value="Default" />
<antcall target="mqsideploy.deploybar" />
</target>

<!--
Target to build the broker archive using mqsicreatebar
-->
<target name="mqsideploy.deploybar">
<!-- <exec executable="${mqsi.dir}\mqsideploy.bat" spawn="false"> -->
<exec executable="${mqsi.dir}\mqsideploy.bat" failonerror="true" logError="true" vmlauncher="false" append="true">
<arg value="-i" />
<arg value="${ipaddress}" />
<arg value="-p" />
<arg value="${port}" />
<arg value="-q" />
<arg value="${queuemgr}" />
<arg value="-b" />
<arg value="${broker}" />
<arg value="-e" />
<arg value="${exegroup}" />
<arg value="-a" />
<arg value="${bar}" />
</exec>
</target>
</project>


when i run it i got following message:

C:\WINDOWS\IBM\apache-ant-1.7.1\bin>ant -buildfile AntDeploy.xml
Buildfile: AntDeploy.xml

run:

mqsideploy.deploybar:

BUILD SUCCESSFUL
Total time: 0 seconds

But nothing got deployed...

Any pointers would be helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
mqjeff
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 25 Jun 2008
Posts: 17447

It sounds like you don't have the right things in the right workspace.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joebuckeye
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:39 am    Post subject: Re: ANT Scripts for creating / deployin bar files. Reply with quote

Partisan

Joined: 24 Aug 2007
Posts: 365
Location: Columbus, OH

er_pankajgupta84 wrote:

<exec executable="${toolkit.home}\eclipse\mqsicreatebar.exe" spawn="false">


Everything looks good to me as far as how your script is put together with one difference from how ours works.

We have these attributes vmlauncher="false" failonerror="true" as part of the <exec> task (in addition to the spawn="false" you have).

You may actually be having errors but the <exec> task was able to successfully run the mqsicreatebar command so it reports a success. Putting failonerror="true" causes the <exec> task to report a failure because the executable it is running failed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WMBDEV1
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sentinel

Joined: 05 Mar 2009
Posts: 888
Location: UK

If you manually (outside of ant) run the command that is generated by the exec task, this reports errors that you may not see when running the task from ant.

This has helped me in the past.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muthu_tek
PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 21 Jan 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Coimbatore,India

Hi all,
I have tried to deploy the bar file using ant scripts. I have tried the script below

File Name is broker.xml

<?xml version="1.0"?>

<project name="My_Project" default="run">
<target name="run" description="">


<property name="mqsi.home" value="C:\Program Files\IBM\MQSI\6.1\bin"/>

<property name="bar.name" value="F:\workspace\ANTSCRIPT\FEE.bar" />

<property name="ipaddress" value="localhost" />

<property name="port" value="2416" />

<property name="queuemgr" value="QUEUE_MANAGER" />

<property name="broker" value="DEFAULT_BROKER" />

<property name="exegroup" value="Default" />

<antcall target="mqsideploy.deploybar" />

</target>
<target name="mqsideploy.deploybar">

<exec executable="${mqsi.home}\mqsideploy.bat" spawn="false" vmlauncher="false" failonerror="true">


<arg value="-i" />

<arg value="${ipaddress}" />

<arg value="-p" />

<arg value="${port}" />

<arg value="-q" />

<arg value="${queuemgr}" />

<arg value="-b" />

<arg value="${broker}" />

<arg value="-e" />

<arg value="${exegroup}" />

<arg value="-a" />

<arg value="${bar.name}" />


</exec>

<echo message="Deploying Broker Archive file - ${bar.name} " />

</target>


</project>


C:\WINDOWS\IBM\apache-ant-1.7.1\bin>ant -buildfile broker.xml
Buildfile: broker.xml

run:
mqsideploy.deploybar:
[exec] The system cannot find the path specified.
[echo] Deploying Broker Archive file - F:\workspace\ANTSCRIPT\FEE.bar
BUILD SUCCESSFUL
Total time: 531 milliseconds

I am getting message like "The system cannot find the path specified."

So I could not deploy the bar file in broker.

Am I missing anything ?

Note :
My bar file location and Message Broker location are configuring properly.


Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
krypton
PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 186

Quote:
I have tried to deploy the bar file using ant scripts. I have tried the script below

File Name is broker.xml

<?xml version="1.0"?>

<project name="My_Project" default="run">
<target name="run" description="">


<property name="mqsi.home" value="C:\Program Files\IBM\MQSI\6.1\bin"/>

<property name="bar.name" value="F:\workspace\ANTSCRIPT\FEE.bar" />

<property name="ipaddress" value="localhost" />

<property name="port" value="2416" />

<property name="queuemgr" value="QUEUE_MANAGER" />

<property name="broker" value="DEFAULT_BROKER" />

<property name="exegroup" value="Default" />

<antcall target="mqsideploy.deploybar" />

</target>
<target name="mqsideploy.deploybar">

<exec executable="${mqsi.home}\mqsideploy.bat" spawn="false" vmlauncher="false" failonerror="true">


<arg value="-i" />

<arg value="${ipaddress}" />

<arg value="-p" />

<arg value="${port}" />

<arg value="-q" />

<arg value="${queuemgr}" />

<arg value="-b" />

<arg value="${broker}" />

<arg value="-e" />

<arg value="${exegroup}" />

<arg value="-a" />

<arg value="${bar.name}" />


</exec>

<echo message="Deploying Broker Archive file - ${bar.name} " />

</target>


</project>


C:\WINDOWS\IBM\apache-ant-1.7.1\bin>ant -buildfile broker.xml
Buildfile: broker.xml

run:
mqsideploy.deploybar:
[exec] The system cannot find the path specified.
[echo] Deploying Broker Archive file - F:\workspace\ANTSCRIPT\FEE.bar
BUILD SUCCESSFUL
Total time: 531 milliseconds

I am getting message like "The system cannot find the path specified."

So I could not deploy the bar file in broker.

Am I missing anything ?

Note :
My bar file location and Message Broker location are configuring properly.


where does have you specified the Message Flow project name and the Message flow name??
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muthu_tek
PostPosted: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 21 Jan 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Coimbatore,India

krypton
Quote:

where does have you specified the Message Flow project name and the Message flow name??


Actually I have created bar file using your expectation ( Message Flow Project and Message Flow).Now I am trying to deploy the bar file.There we should not mentioned these attribute right.

Thanks for your input.Good day
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
krypton
PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 186

Quote:
F:\workspace\ANTSCRIPT\FEE.bar


Please check ur location again, from the error it seems that the command is not able to find that particular bar file, although there cud be other reasons for this error, but I can think of this one only.

Sorry can not be of much help.

Gud Luck and have fun!
_________________
Dreams are not something which you watch when you are asleep,it is something which doesn't let you sleep.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
muthu_tek
PostPosted: Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 21 Jan 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Coimbatore,India

Quote:

Sorry can not be of much help.


Don't feel sorry dear.I have checked the bar file location also.Its located in proper location.Anyway thanks dear.I will try and update .

Good day
- Marimuthu Udayakumar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
hallmark
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 10 Mar 2005
Posts: 76

@WMBDEV1

Re output, I have found if you wrap the mqsicreatebar.exe command in a perl script you get a bit more output if and when it fails. It performs more slowly and obviously requires the addition of perl...but quite handy if one is hacking around with refactoring workspaces
_________________
Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
veverman
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 01 Dec 2010
Posts: 2

You must have 1 posts before you can post URL's/Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
veverman
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:35 pm    Post subject: ANT Scripts for creating / deploying bar files Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 01 Dec 2010
Posts: 2

I got the same error muthu_tek did. Here is how I fix the problem. First, the bar file argument of command mqsideploy.bat is "-bar barfilename". It is not "-a barfilename". "-a barfilename" is used for mqsideploy.exe. The second problem is that when mqsideploy.bat is called from an ant file, the environment variables have not been initiated. I created a mymqsideploy.bat by copying and pasting the original mqsideploy.bat and then I added the following one line of script into mymqsideploy.bat - "CALL C:\Progra~1\IBM\MQSI\6.1\bin\mqsiprofile.cmd"

#############################################
Here is the mymqsideploy.bat
#############################################
@echo off
setlocal

CALL C:\Progra~1\IBM\MQSI\6.1\bin\mqsiprofile.cmd

set PRODUCT_PATH=%~dp0..

if %1""=="" goto noparam

SET parm8=%8
SET parm9=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm10=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm11=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm12=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm13=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm14=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm15=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm16=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm17=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm18=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm19=%9
SHIFT /8
SET parm20=%9

"%MQSI_JREPATH%\bin\java" com.ibm.broker.config.util.Deploy %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 %parm8% %parm9% %parm10% %parm11% %parm12% %parm13% %parm14% %parm15% %parm16% %parm17% %parm18% %parm19% %parm20%
goto end

:noparam

"%MQSI_JREPATH%\bin\java" com.ibm.broker.config.util.Deploy -?

:end
endlocal

#############################################
Here is the ant script build.xml
#############################################
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<project name="project" default="run" basedir=".">
<target name="run" description="">
<property name="mqsi.home" value="C:\Progra~1\IBM\MQSI\6.1" />
<property name="bar.name" value="${basedir}\ccSample.bar" />
<property name="ipaddress" value="localhost" />
<property name="port" value="3414" />
<property name="queuemgr" value="QMWMB61" />
<property name="broker" value="QMWMB61BRK" />
<property name="exegroup" value="EG01" />
<antcall target="mqsideploy.deploybar" />
</target>
<target name="mqsideploy.deploybar">
<echo message="${mqsi.home}\bin\mqsideploy.bat"></echo>
<exec executable="${mqsi.home}\bin\mymqsideploy.bat"
spawn="false"
logError="true"
vmlauncher="false"
failonerror="true"
append="true">

<arg value="-i" />
<arg value="${ipaddress}" />
<arg value="-p" />
<arg value="${port}" />
<arg value="-q" />
<arg value="${queuemgr}" />
<arg value="-b" />
<arg value="${broker}" />
<arg value="-e" />
<arg value="${exegroup}" />
<arg value="-bar" />
<arg path="${bar.name}" />
</exec>
<echo message="Deploying Broker Archive file - ${bar.name} " />
</target>
</project>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smdavies99
PostPosted: Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 6076
Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.

As you are a newbie here there are a few points about posting that may help you in future
1) Use Code tags around things like your ant script and error messages. It is a lot easier to read them that way.
2) Don't reopen old posts. Post anew and reference the old one using the URL tags. IT is often the case that the problem may on the surface appear to be the same as the old one but there is some other cause.

Thanks
_________________
WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995

Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mqxplorer
PostPosted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 22 Jun 2009
Posts: 206

Hi veverman,

Your mymqsideploy.cmd worked for me. Thanks for sharing this info. Setting this profile will work for deploying the bar file in higher evnvironments also...Is that correct? What I understood from this is we are just setting up the profile on your local machine and as you have the connection details for the environemnet you are connecting to from your machine remotley so the deployment should work...Am I correct?

mqxplorer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lancelotlinc
PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 4941
Location: Bloomington, IL USA

If you are going to use Ant to build the bar file, why not use Ant to deploy the bar file? Ant works cross-platform, DOS batch files do not.
_________________
http://leanpub.com/IIB_Tips_and_Tricks
Save $20: Coupon Code: MQSERIES_READER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » ANT Scripts for creating / deployin bar files.
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.