Author |
Message
|
circc |
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2002 12:14 am Post subject: exporting contents of queue |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Jul 2002 Posts: 2
|
Hello,
I'm looking for an easy way to export all messages (several thousands) of a queue to some other place (filesystem?) with the possibility to import them again later.
Any hints ?
Thanks in advance,
Barbara Schelkle |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2002 3:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Well there are several products out there that will let you do it.
Qpasa, contact admin, PQedit(Candle) or are you looking for something else ???? _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
circc |
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2002 7:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 17 Jul 2002 Posts: 2
|
Do I really need a thirdparty product ? Or is there a way to do this with standard MQSeries tools (V5.2 on Sun Solaris) ? Or with some kind of freeware ? I found MQJExplorer, but it's no longer available.
thanks in advance, Barbara |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2002 8:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
No you dont need a third party, you could take one of the MQSeries
samples and modify it to write/read a file instead of writing to stdout. _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2002 9:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
You can also try Roger Lacroix's beta program available in the software repository. I think it does all the operations you are speaking of... _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2002 10:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Well the last I checked it wouldnt save messages to a file or load. _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bduncan |
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 11 Apr 2001 Posts: 1554 Location: Silicon Valley
|
Well, you can take the wild west approach, and at least on UNIX, make a copy of the "q" file, and you can restore it later by copying back in place (with the queue manager stopped). This isn't the recommended way however but under the right conditions it will work... _________________ Brandon Duncan
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
MQSeries.net forum moderator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jhalstead |
Posted: Thu Jul 18, 2002 12:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 16 Aug 2001 Posts: 258 Location: London
|
I've found this to be successful on NT & W2K also ... yeeeeha, circle campers etc. However the queue manager runs a lot slower working with the restored messages...
J |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
arinduer |
Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2002 5:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 13 Aug 2001 Posts: 50 Location: Phuket, Thailand
|
One of our developers did exactly what Jeff hinted up above. He modified the sample IBM code in /opt/mqm/samp/bin to handle his messages that were actually bigger than what the original program could handle.
Normally, we use BMC Patrol and we can quickly "unload" the messages to a temporary queue or file, which we can later upload to whichever queue we want. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hkhan12 |
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 2:53 pm Post subject: Wait Interval |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 98
|
Hi Everybody,
Can somebody tell me that If I want to setup my wait interval for 30 seconds, is it going to be 3,000 or 30,000 FIGURE?
THANX |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 3:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
You need to give wait time is msecs, so the value should be 30,000 for a wait time of 30 secs. _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hkhan12 |
Posted: Thu Aug 08, 2002 6:40 pm Post subject: Wait Interval |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 98
|
kirani wrote: |
You need to give wait time is msecs, so the value should be 30,000 for a wait time of 30 secs. |
Kiran,
Thanx a lot, I appreciate your help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cvshiva |
Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2002 12:12 am Post subject: Export Messages in a Queue |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 04 Mar 2002 Posts: 35 Location: Chennai
|
Hi Circc,
Quote: |
I'm looking for an easy way to export all messages (several thousands) of a queue to some other place (filesystem?) with the possibility to import them again later.
Any hints ? |
Did you get a solution for it ???? If so what ?? If not what are u considering ??
For your Info.. We have QMGRS on Unix Systems, I have implemented a support pannel (using Shell Scripts, and C progs with MQI calls) which can backup messages in a queue to a file or to another queue. But when it is writing it to a file I write each message as a separate file bcos it is easier in our scenario to pickup the selected message and put back to queue in any order.. !!!
All I did is my own coding in C with MQI calls MQGET, MQPUT etc.. and no third party ( after all the third party stuff is also gonna do the same with some Cosmetic GUI screens ).. It just took only one day for me to completely, test & implement this Message Copy , Move , Backup stuff.
If you are insisting on a thirdparty / supportpac , there is one stuff called "Q" program which can do copy , move messages between queues and also export messages to file , but it puts all messages into one single file!!! But now if you want to put the messages back into the queue from the backup file , U will end up in problems as this Q program assumes each line in the file as one single message and total no. of messages would be equal to total lines in file , thus distorting ur messages and creating a big mess.
This is the reason why resorted to my own stuff.
Try it out. its all pretty simple..!!! _________________ Ramnath Shiva
IBM Certified SOA Specialist
IBM Certified MQSeries Specialist
Standard Scope International Pvt Ltd , Chennai |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cronydude |
Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2002 12:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 11 Nov 2001 Posts: 85 Location: US
|
what about MQJExplorer which had an reentry last week? this time with no expiry time!!! download it now!!! it will serve ur purpose. _________________ Regs,
crony
IBM Certified Specialist - MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|