Author |
Message
|
vandi |
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:11 pm Post subject: Accessing user database |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 13 Dec 2008 Posts: 67
|
Hi All,
I have a very basic doubt on accessing User Database from a message flow.
Broker on Solaris, User DB2 on Solaris
When we access the user databases, we make an entry of it in Broker .odbc.ini file and then set the path in ODBC environment variable.
From Development perspective, to access the user database, is it sufficient if we just give the DB source name on the compute node?
When I read the IBM documentation it also says establishing JDBC connection thru Data perspective.
Can you pls let me know what all connections do we need to establish from development perspective.
Thanks In Advance
Vandi |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQEnthu |
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Partisan
Joined: 06 Oct 2008 Posts: 329 Location: India
|
You should specify DSN name in 'Data Source' field of basic tab the name by which the appropriate database is known on the system on which this message flow is deployed. The broker connects to this database with user ID and password information that you have specified on the mqsicreatebroker/ mqsisetdbparms command. Use mqsisetdbparms to add the user id with which you want to access the database.
Please check if you are using compatiable version of DB2: http://127.0.0.1:52521/help/topic/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ah10030_.htm#ah10030_ _________________ -----------------------------------------------
It is good to remember the past,
but don't let past capture your future |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
I think you are being confused by the TWO separate but connected parts of Broker.
In very general terms they are:-
1) The runtime with ODBC Connections to Databases (Mandatory)
2) The Toolkit with JDBC Connections to Databases (Optional) via the Data Perspective
The toolkit uses JDBC to help you use database tables in the creation of your flows & esql code. You don't have to use it but it does help if you are using databases outside of PASSTHRU ESQL Statements.
The two parts of broker can run separately until you wanty to deploy to/control things in the running environment. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 3:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
smdavies99 wrote: |
I think you are being confused by the TWO separate but connected parts of Broker.
In very general terms they are:-
1) The runtime with ODBC Connections to Databases (Mandatory)
2) The Toolkit with JDBC Connections to Databases (Optional) via the Data Perspective |
6.1 lets you make JDBC connections from runtime, using the JDBCProvider as a substitute for the ODBC entries... from at least *some* nodes. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
SomeBloke |
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 05 Feb 2009 Posts: 6
|
mqjeff wrote: |
smdavies99 wrote: |
I think you are being confused by the TWO separate but connected parts of Broker.
In very general terms they are:-
1) The runtime with ODBC Connections to Databases (Mandatory)
2) The Toolkit with JDBC Connections to Databases (Optional) via the Data Perspective |
6.1 lets you make JDBC connections from runtime, using the JDBCProvider as a substitute for the ODBC entries... from at least *some* nodes. |
Having used this feature in 6.1 I would not recommend it to anyone in its present state. There is no connection pooling, and the performance is pretty terrible. If you want to use JDBC from your JCNs with any significant volume you will likely end up using some kind of connection pool, either vendor provided like Oracle's or a more generic solution like Apache's DBCP |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
SomeBloke wrote: |
Having used this feature in 6.1 I would not recommend it to anyone in its present state. There is no connection pooling, and the performance is pretty terrible. If you want to use JDBC from your JCNs with any significant volume you will likely end up using some kind of connection pool, either vendor provided like Oracle's or a more generic solution like Apache's DBCP |
I suppose it depends on which level of 6.1.0.x you're using... expect this feature to be enhanced as time goes on.
Regardless, I wasn't necessarily making a "recommendation". I was just pointing out that vandi maaaay not have been confused as Steve thought vandi was. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vandi |
Posted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 13 Dec 2008 Posts: 67
|
Thanks a lot for all the replies. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|