|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
How to start a reciever channel by java? |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Zais |
Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:38 am Post subject: How to start a reciever channel by java? |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 30 Oct 2008 Posts: 1
|
Hello all.
First I would like to thank this forum for helping me with many of the problems I had with mq series. I found really great stuff in here. Thank you in advance for taking the time to read that following and sorry for the leaghty question.
Now to the question. I would like to say that I have a limited knowledge of mq series and thus I will probably not phrase my question correctly but here it goes.
I have a java application that sends a message to a "local queue" mq series server through a sender channel. That channel connects to a "remote queue" with another mq server though a reciever channel I have setup in my server. Then check the local queue for replies and get my message from the queue.
(I hope this sounds like a normal mq series configuration)
Now I have access to the "local queue" mq series server and I can start/restart that channel through the websphere console but I don't have access to the "remote mq" series ofc. What happens is that the reciever channel times out on the "remote queue" (due to idle time) and then I have to call the ppl that manage that server and manualy start the channel.
1. I know that they can set the timeout to be 0 and thus the channel will never shut down because of timeout. (correct me if I'm wrong)
2. I have been recently told that there is a way to start that reciever channel by java/as400 commands and thus remove all the middle men that need to manage the mq series (both the local and the remote).
My question is this:
Is it possible to start the reciever channel of a remote mq series just by code?
(I could post the sender / reciever channel settings if you think this will help you) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
If you had access to their command server, you could send an PCF message to start the channel.
However, your problem description seems to be backwards. They can't get a message from a qlocal on your server over a receiver channel.
What you likely actually mean is that you have a QREMOTE on your side, tied to a QLOCAL on their side, and when you PUT a message to that QREMOTE, it goes onto the XMITQ on your side.
If that's correct, you just need to configure the the Sender channel to start when messages go on the XMITQ.
Thirdly, RCVR channels always *start* when a SDR or SVR channel tries to connect to them. So you don't ever need to do anything to start a RCVR channel, other than start your SDR or SVR channel. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
To add a little bit to what Jeff is saying:
Read up in the intercommunications manual on triggered channels.
Also you will need to start a receiver channel after it has been willfully STOPPED. The stopping as well as the starting would be a command (manual or pcf or mqsc...) An inactive receiver channel will start when the corresponding sender starts.
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|