ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » Coding a COBOL-CICS-MQ program

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Coding a COBOL-CICS-MQ program « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
suriv
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 4:59 am    Post subject: Coding a COBOL-CICS-MQ program Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 27 Sep 2007
Posts: 8

I have never worked on MQ before and as such had a few basic questions.

If I have to code a sample COBOL-CICS-MQ application what are the basic steps to go with. I am thinking of having MQ calls within my program. Is this a good way to code? I have read about Bridges but not quite sure its usage, does it come with the MQ SERVER itself?

What other settings have to be made on the MQ SERVER? It would be great if you could please help me with these.

Thanks,
Suresh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:18 am    Post subject: Re: Coding a COBOL-CICS-MQ program Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

suriv wrote:
If I have to code a sample COBOL-CICS-MQ application what are the basic steps to go with. I am thinking of having MQ calls within my program. Is this a good way to code?


Unless you're using a product with a bridge it's the only way to code

suriv wrote:
What other settings have to be made on the MQ SERVER? It would be great if you could please help me with these.


In theory none because there's only 1 connection method under CICS & the objects you need should be defined by your MQ Admin.

I urge you to push back & get some training organised - MQ is a complex product that's easy to use badly. Consider it equivalent to trying to write a database application; one badly written piece of SQL can cause poor performance & other havoc. Likewise a poor MQ application can run like a dog and bring a queue manager to it's knees!
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bruce2359
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guest




IBM offers a 3-day class on MQ application programming, namely: MQ054 for mainframe.

With few exceptions, MQ calls executed within a CICS application behave pretty much the same as the same calls in batch.

Read the MQ Application Programming Guide, and Application Programming Reference. The bridge mechanism makes the connection from CICS to a queue manager.
Back to top
Vitor
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 26093
Location: Texas, USA

bruce2359 wrote:
The bridge mechanism makes the connection from CICS to a queue manager.


When he said "bridge", I took it to mean IMS bridge or similar optional component. The connection from CICS to queue manager is pretty standard & should be there as part of the queue manager install.

And certainly has no impace on application code.
_________________
Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cschneid
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 22 Mar 2005
Posts: 13

I suggest you look at the category 4 SupportPac MA1K.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zpat
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Council

Joined: 19 May 2001
Posts: 5866
Location: UK

CICS transactions come in two models. MQ aware and MQ unaware.

The MQ/CICS bridge can drive CICS transactions from MQ messages using the COMMAREA and vice-versa. Ideal for re-using existing CICS transactions.

You can code MQI calls in the CICS transactions themselves, but bear in mind that CICS transactions are supposed to be stateless and short-lived.

Generally you should think about designing common subroutines for MQI use in CICS, you don't want every programmer coding MQI calls themsevles.

The approach you need depends on what you want to achieve, the future of the technology at your site, the time you have etc etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Mainframe, CICS, TXSeries » Coding a COBOL-CICS-MQ program
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.