Author |
Message
|
vijaycr |
Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:22 pm Post subject: Cost of Sortby & Display of Global Containers in Wrk Lst |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 11 Oct 2006 Posts: 62 Location: Singapore
|
We have an application that constantly checks and transfers workitems to members of a role. This queries workflow once in a minute.
We now need to modify the sort criteria of this application to include a global container. What would be the cost difference between, sorting by standard worklist fields such as priority etc and sorting by global container.
We also need to display 1 Global container and 2 workitem containers in the webclient's worklist. We cant have the workitem containers in the description because the description could exceed 255 charecters if these containers are included. What would be the cost of displaying each workitem container and each global container?
Any inputs/pointers to documentation will be greatly appreciated |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 6:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
The global container query will add time, but it is not the killer that displaying container items in a worklist will be. That should be avoided at all costs.
Consider the following. You are displaying a worklist with 25 items in it. Currently, it is one call to the Server (i.e the query). Now you need to display the container items and you go to 26 calls to the server. It is likely that the increase in time will be intolerable. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vijaycr |
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 11 Oct 2006 Posts: 62 Location: Singapore
|
Thanks...I understand that this is costly. We would need this to calculate the hardware required to achieve the requirement to justify why this is a definite bottle neck. Is there any BWU calculations that we can do for this ?
I tried using the same BWU as a 'CheckOut' this lead to a incredibly huge BWU requirement. Any thoughts?
Another question, I think once once container is read it doesnt matter how many you read, am I right in my assumption? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
vijaycr wrote: |
Is there any BWU calculations that we can do for this ? |
To my knowledge there are no estimates of the BWU cost for adding this container access to a query. I can tell you based on my past experience that IF you have a query that does 1 + n(items returned) or even worse 1 + 2n (this can occur if you put Secondary items AND container access in a worklist display), the removal of these extra calls will reduce the time from a matter of minutes to several seconds. I.E. what you are proposing to do is to be avoided like the plague.
vijaycr wrote: |
Another question, I think once once container is read it doesnt matter how many you read, am I right in my assumption? |
This is correct, once you have the container you have all of the members. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hos |
Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 11:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chevalier
Joined: 03 Feb 2002 Posts: 470
|
Hi,
I fully agree with John's recommendations! Do NOT use a container acces per
workitem! For you calculations you can safely use the checkout API as a placeholder for the workitem.container access.
At least you are one of the lucky guys the first ask before implementing it and the enface the problems.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Liquid |
Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 08 Sep 2004 Posts: 52 Location: Hungary, Europe
|
I've done a small tool which access the input container's of every process instance and search by a certain value in a certain container element.
It needs quite a lot of time to run, even for some hundred of instances.
It must be the same result for workitems. So, I can confirm Hos and Jmac, that it's a pretty time consuming process.
Liquid |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vijaycr |
Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 11:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 11 Oct 2006 Posts: 62 Location: Singapore
|
Thanks for all your help, We are now planning to use OIDGenerator with direct database query to display the worklist with only the global container. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 6:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
vijaycr wrote: |
We are now planning to use OIDGenerator with direct database query to display the worklist with only the global container. |
While this may give you better performance, it would be far better to avoid all of this extra IO. Plus accessing the RTDB directly is not wise, and could lead to a situation where you would not be supported. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|