Author |
Message
|
MQ_LEO |
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 11:44 am Post subject: How to access DAO (Data Access Object )from Javacompute node |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 06 Jul 2006 Posts: 29
|
Hi guys,
Any body help me regarding
How to access DAO (Data Access Object )with Javacompute node.
iam using WBIMBV6.0.
What are the neededed steps for accessing DAO s from Java compute node.
Thanks,
MQ_LEO |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 2:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
A DAO should just be a POJO, so you should be able to put it in a jar file along with all the dependent classes that it has.
On the other hand, if you're trying to access a remote object, then you need to do all the things one normally needs to do to access remote objects.
Integrating a Java Compute Node with objects in a J2EE container is not simple. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQ_LEO |
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 6:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 06 Jul 2006 Posts: 29
|
Hi jefflowrey,
can you please explain some more clearly. iam new to java compute node.
can i get any online material regarding this(to access DAO from javacompute node).
Thanks
MQ_LEO |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 8:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
Integrating a Java Compute Node with objects in a J2EE container is not simple. |
You will need to have a footprint including the J2EE client. And we know this is not a tiny one with WebSphere Application Server (WAS).
Now you can as well access DAO objects if you can produce the necessary footprint for accessing them in a standalone java app. (No J2EE, no container). But the necessary footprint for that might not be small either...
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
MQ_LEO |
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 06 Jul 2006 Posts: 29
|
HI,
What are the possible different ways to access DAO objects from WBIMBV6.0. can i use any other node rather than java compute node.
what are neccesary things i have to takecare to access DAO objects
Thanks
MQ_LEO |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
DAO objects are only Java, right? So you have to use Java to access them, right? And Broker only provides you three ways to run Java, right - plugins, procedures and JCNS.
And there's nothing different about accessing any kind of Java object in the MB Java environments than there is about accessing that same Java object in any other Java environment. Isn't that one of the main reasons people want to use Java - is it's claim to be "Write Once Run Anywhere"? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
jefflowrey wrote: |
DAO objects are only Java, right? So you have to use Java to access them, right? And Broker only provides you three ways to run Java, right - plugins, procedures and JCNS.
And there's nothing different about accessing any kind of Java object in the MB Java environments than there is about accessing that same Java object in any other Java environment. Isn't that one of the main reasons people want to use Java - is it's claim to be "Write Once Run Anywhere"? |
Not any more. .NET too talks about DAO objects theese days. They are, as their name states, Data Access Objects and create the layer between the application and the persistency layer.
The implementation of the DAOs may be quite different whether in java or in .NET and the standart M$ rich GUI has them linked to the display layer...(not the best theoretical approach but goes for quick and nice gui).
The big thing about DAO objects is that you have to build up the environment to be able to access them. (.NET framework + db drivers, hibernate + jdbc drivers etc...)
Sorry for naming one of the java DAO providers but it should give you an Idea about the size of the minimum footprint...
Enjoy  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
I guess I meant "simply Java", no "exclusively Java".
DAO's are actually a design pattern - one could do them in object COBOL. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|