Author |
Message
|
sharknose |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 2:20 am Post subject: Question about controlling channels |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Sep 2005 Posts: 5 Location: London, UK
|
Hi,
I have a solution that utilises application components on an iSeries and also an AIX system, communicating using MQ sender/receiver channels. There are both sender and receiver channels at each end, as the flow of messages is bi-directional.
On the iSeries system (out of my control), the queue manager is stopped every night for backup purposes. When it is restarted a couple of hours later, the sender channels on the iSeries seem to resume their previous, usable state, (i.e. the application on the iSeries can send messages to the AIX system without requiring any intervention to restart the channels), however, the sender channel on the iSeries seems to go into an unusable state ("display chstatus" for that channel returns "the channel status could not be found"), and I have to restart the sender channel before my application can send messages to the iSeries.
Is there any method using the tools provided with MQSeries to make this automatic (i.e maybe the sender channel keeps trying to reconnect every 'X' minutes until successful)?
Many thanks,
D
ps - using MQ5.2 on the iSeries, and 5.3 on AIX |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nathanw |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 550
|
I have found that a manual shutdown of either end of a channel requires a manual start up of the channel
A simple script so shut down the channels at your end and restart them at a set time is required. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gunter |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 21 Jan 2004 Posts: 307 Location: Germany, Frankfurt
|
If you know the time to start the channel, it's the easiest way to do it by cron. If the shutdown time is short, I would use short and long retry.
To avoid try and error, you can write a script, that starts your sender depends on the state of the receiver. _________________ Gunter Jeschawitz
IBM Certified System Administrator - Websphere MQ, 5.3 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
How are you starting your channels? Are they triggered?
If they are triggered, they should go into automatic retry .... _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sharknose |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 23 Sep 2005 Posts: 5 Location: London, UK
|
wschutz wrote: |
How are you starting your channels? Are they triggered? |
We simply have scripts at each end to start the channels, we don't use triggering. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 4:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
Quote: |
We simply have scripts at each end to start the channels, we don't use triggering. |
This is normally why triggering is used, the idea being that the channel is only running when there are messages to be sent. if you setup triggering, then the channel will go into retry as well.
There are some special cases when triggering isn't the best solution, for example, you need quick turn-around on a request-reply message and cannot tolerate the delay introducted by starting a channel (or perhaps two channels).
When you say you have a script, does that script execute runmqchl or START CHANNEL? _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
gunter |
Posted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 4:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 21 Jan 2004 Posts: 307 Location: Germany, Frankfurt
|
mquseless,
Why cron?
Quote: |
We simply have scripts at each end to start the channels, we don't use triggering. |
I see this as an fact, not an option to change.
Maybe I'm wrong, but why is the sender INACTIVE? If you stop the receiver, the listener or the host queumanager, then the sender goes in RETRYING and after this it is STOPPED.
If DISCINT-Intervall is over, it goes to INACTIVE, regardless if the channel is RUNNING or RETRYING. The default is 6000 and I think this happends in the night. _________________ Gunter Jeschawitz
IBM Certified System Administrator - Websphere MQ, 5.3 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
nathanw |
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Knight
Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 550
|
mquseless wrote: |
nathanw, nothing was mentioned about a manual channel shutdown.
|
whilst nothing is written about manual shutdowns from reading the entire post it seems that the channel is going into a shutdown state, therefore if triggering doesnot start it then the channel needs to be started - it is as if the shutdown has been carried out manually |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Carl Bloy |
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 3:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Acolyte
Joined: 16 Dec 2003 Posts: 69 Location: England
|
Sharknose,
I seem to remember that some earlier versions of MQ on as400 had channel issues after QMGR restart where they would go into a status of stopped? Might be worth looking on the IBM site to check this?
If this is the case you have two options:
1) Upgrade to a supported version of MQ
2) manually start the channels after QMGR restart. _________________ Regards
Carl |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|