ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Regarding warehouse node.

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Regarding warehouse node. « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Srinu
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 11:54 am    Post subject: Regarding warehouse node. Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 51

Hi Everbody,

In my present flow I have to insert my input XML message into a single field in database.For this I have used a warehouse node. My input file has three elements. How can I map these three elements to the single field which I have created in the table.

Thanks in advance
Srinu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 11:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

There is a concatenation operator, ||.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Srinu
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 51

Hi Jeff,
Thanks for ur reply. I want the entire message to be inserted rather then inserting the data in each element. So plz let me know how to resolve this.

Thanks
Srinu[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wschutz
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3316
Location: IBM (retired)

Quote:
Using this node in a message flow
When you use the Warehouse node, you can choose to store in the database associated with the node:

The entire message, optionally with an associated timestamp. The message is stored as a binary object, with the timestamp in a separate column. There are two advantages to this:
You do not have to decide beforehand how you will use the warehoused data; because you have stored it all, you can retrieve all the data and apply data mining tools to it later.
You do not have to define a specific database schema for every type of message that might pass through the broker. In a complex system, there might be many different message types and the overhead of defining a unique schema for each message type can become prohibitive. You can precede each Warehouse node with a Compute node that converts each message into a canonical warehouse format with a common schema, or you can store the whole message as a binary object.
Selected parts of the message, optionally with an associated timestamp. Doing this requires a defined database schema for that message type. The message is mapped to true type so, for example, a character string in the message is stored as a character string in the database.

See:

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/wmbhelp/v6r0m0/topic/com.ibm.etools.mft.doc/ac04730_.htm
_________________
-wayne
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Srinu
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 51

Hi wschutz,
Thanx for pasting from infocenter but I am unable to resolve my problem.Can u tel me how should i map the entire xml message to Field in the table.I think i have seen "Map enter message option" in the warehouse node,but unable to point out it.

Cheers,
Srinu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Srinu wrote:
How can I map these three elements to the single field which I have created in the table.

Srinu wrote:
I want the entire message to be inserted rather then inserting the data in each element.


Which is it?

I think the second is not possible to do unless you can capture the entire message as a bitstream.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EAI Developer
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 101
Location: US

Hi,
One of the advantage of warehouse node over database node is to insert the entire XML message in to the database.I think Srinu is asking to insert the entire message rather than invidual elements.But unforutantely ,i too don't how to do it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

The warehouse node is just another database node, with a particular set of defaults.

As I said, it is not possible to insert the entire message into a database column unless you can capture the entire message as a bit stream.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EAI Developer
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Centurion

Joined: 30 Nov 2005
Posts: 101
Location: US

Hi Jeff,
So u want to say like accept the input in to MqInput and then put a compute where u will accept the whole message in to one variable and apply cast to it for converting it to BLOB.Isn't it ? If this is the case,,then there is no need of warehouse note at all,,we can insert in to the database in the compute node itself..So wot is the neccessity of warehouse node,,then ?


Cheers,
EAI Developer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

Cast as BLOB certainly won't work.

As for the need for the Warehouse node - what do you need any of the Data* nodes for, if you have the Compute Node in which you can do all the SELECTS and etc that you want?

Certainly, with the new (ish) mapping features in v5 and v6, the Data nodes have a slightly better interface - but the functionality is the same.

Please read the quote from the manual that wschutz posted again. Then you will understand that there are two ways to use the warehouse node. Srinu appeared to want to use both ways at the same time - and that won't work. So Srinu can then use something slightly more complex, like a Compute node, and build the INSERT statement that will actually meet his or her requirements. But it will take some reading of the manuals, and some thinking, both about what the manuals say and about what I've said.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Srinu
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 15 Jun 2005
Posts: 51

Hi Jeff,
Thanks for the reply. So v can't insert the entire message into single field in a table using warehouse node.
In my present flow, I have to insert every message which the broker receives into database. How can I acheive this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You can insert the entire message using the warehouse node. That's the job of the warehouse node. BUT, you are stuck using it's defaults.

Please read the documentation that wschuzt posted again. And read the rest of the documentation on the node.

You can't create your own schema for inserting data using the warehouse node AND have it automatically add the entire message FOR you.

If you need to, for example, include the entire message in a BLOB column and have other fields that are keys that have been extracted from the message (like business level record identifiers or meta-data), then you can't use the Warehouse node defaults. You have to do more work yourself, including taking the entire message as a bit stream (which is NOT done using CAST), and build a schema and etc.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Regarding warehouse node.
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.