Author |
Message
|
mq_abcd |
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:46 am Post subject: Message sent time ? |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 13 Jun 2004 Posts: 69
|
Hello All,
I am in a situation where the Message has been delayed by 5 mins.
i.e. the diff in timestamps at the recieving end is 5 Mins later than the message put time at my end. The traffic flow is normal.
Is there a way for me to tell at what time the message left the queue manager. I can get the message put time from the active LOGs but not the time the message was sent.
What might be the possible reasons for this delay.
Any help is appreciated |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
scottm |
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 12:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 13 May 2004 Posts: 44 Location: SE Tennessee
|
Are the timestamps created on the same machine or on different machines? Are you really seeing a 5 minute delay, or is it only because of the timestamp?
Is it possible that the clock on multiples machines are not in sync? And I'm not referring to timezones, but actually GMT. Are they set to the same time? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_abcd |
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 13 Jun 2004 Posts: 69
|
They Machines are completey in sync. Both in EST.
There is a delay of 5 mins.. its not any mismatching/miscalculations of. timestamps. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hopsala |
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 1:40 pm Post subject: Re: Message sent time ? |
|
|
 Guardian
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 960
|
mq_abcd wrote: |
Is there a way for me to tell at what time the message left the queue manager. I can get the message put time from the active LOGs but not the time the message was sent. |
I'm not sure what you mean by "sent" but I assume you mean "gotten by sender channel and put by receiver channel on the remote end to target queue" - If this is so, then you can simply see the MQGET the sender channel issued on your end in the active log.
Another option would be to use COA reports, but this will only tell you if the receiving application is the culprit, without ability to deduce how channels at play behaved.
A third option would be to use traces.
mq_abcd wrote: |
What might be the possible reasons for this delay. |
My guess is that you are not sending enough messages to fill your BATCHSZ and thus wait the time it takes for BATCHINT to finish - that apparently being 5 minutes. Check out these parameters in the manuals (or search here) and in your settings to see if my guess hit the mark.
Keep us posted. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kevinf2349 |
Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2005 4:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 28 Feb 2003 Posts: 1311 Location: USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mq_abcd |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 10:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 13 Jun 2004 Posts: 69
|
Sorry for not providing the config info earlier
Both the sending and recieving qmgr are on.
WMQ 5.3.0.5
Solaris 8
Quote: |
CHANNEL(MOS.T0.TOR) CHLTYPE(SDR)
TRPTYPE(TCP) DESCR( )
XMITQ(XMITQ_MOS2TOR) MCANAME( )
MODENAME( ) TPNAME( )
BATCHSZ(50) DISCINT(6000)
SHORTRTY(10) SHORTTMR(60)
LONGRTY(999999999) LONGTMR(1200)
SCYEXIT( ) SEQWRAP(999999999)
MAXMSGL(41943040) CONVERT(NO)
SCYDATA( ) USERID( )
PASSWORD( ) MCATYPE(PROCESS)
CONNAME(xxxx.xxxxxx.com(1414))
HBINT(300) BATCHINT(0)
NPMSPEED(FAST) SSLCIPH()
BATCHHB(0) LOCLADDR()
KAINT(AUTO) MCAUSER( )
ALTDATE(2005-03-12) ALTTIME(21.25.53)
SSLPEER()
MSGEXIT( )
SENDEXIT( )
RCVEXIT( )
MSGDATA( )
SENDDATA( )
RCVDATA( )
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hopsala |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 4:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Guardian
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 960
|
Ok, so now we know it's not about batches, since you have BATCHSZ(0), but what about all the other things we suggested? You did not refer to them.
It's a long shot, but how about this - MQ Channel slows down every 10 minutes, or some similar network problem - check with your net guys that nothing had recently been changed.
(Why do I get the feeling you're not even trying to solve this yourself? in case you're waiting for a magic solution from us, i'm afraid you won't get it; not because we don't want to, but because we can't - you must make an effort) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RogerLacroix |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 6:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 3264 Location: London, ON Canada
|
Also, is the application 'putting' the message under syncpoint and then going off and doing something else? Or sleeping?
If it is a Java / JMS application then check if it is using 'batch commit' with a 5 minute interval. (don't use it - bad idea).
Regards,
Roger Lacroix _________________ Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JT |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 6:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Padawan
Joined: 27 Mar 2003 Posts: 1564 Location: Hartford, CT.
|
hopsala wrote: |
Ok, so now we know it's not about batches, since you have BATCHSZ(0), |
mq_abcd wrote: |
CHANNEL(MOS.T0.TOR) CHLTYPE(SDR)
TRPTYPE(TCP) DESCR( )
XMITQ(XMITQ_MOS2TOR) MCANAME( )
MODENAME( ) TPNAME( )
BATCHSZ(50) DISCINT(6000)
SHORTRTY(10) SHORTTMR(60)
LONGRTY(999999999) LONGTMR(1200)
SCYEXIT( ) SEQWRAP(999999999)
MAXMSGL(41943040) CONVERT(NO)
SCYDATA( ) USERID( )
PASSWORD( ) MCATYPE(PROCESS)
CONNAME(xxxx.xxxxxx.com(1414))
HBINT(300) BATCHINT(0)
NPMSPEED(FAST) SSLCIPH()
BATCHHB(0) LOCLADDR()
KAINT(AUTO) MCAUSER( )
ALTDATE(2005-03-12) ALTTIME(21.25.53)
SSLPEER()
MSGEXIT( )
SENDEXIT( )
RCVEXIT( )
MSGDATA( )
SENDDATA( )
RCVDATA( ) |
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hopsala |
Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 7:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Guardian
Joined: 24 Sep 2004 Posts: 960
|
JT wrote: |
hopsala wrote: |
Ok, so now we know it's not about batches, since you have BATCHSZ(0), |
|
Sorry, typo - I meant BATCHINT(0)... Thanks JT. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|