Author |
Message
|
undetected |
Posted: Fri Sep 16, 2005 2:21 pm Post subject: MQ pub/sub without installing the MQ Client |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 2 Location: MN
|
Can I send/receive messages to/from MQ through JMS without installing the MQ client?
I'm developing a rich client application that gets downloaded via Java WebStart, and that client needs to subscribe to a JMS topic. We're using WebSphere MQ 5.3 / JMS 1.0.1, and my application will be downloaded from a Tomcat server.
I don't have access to a JNDI server right now (Tomcat doesn't support external JNDI requests), and all the examples on http://www.developer.ibm.com/isv/tech/sampmq.html required an InitialContext (which I assumed meant it used JNDI to look up a CF).
I initially developed my app with ActiveMQ (while I waited for my MQ setup), and with that I just created an ActiveMQConnectionFactory and supplied server URLs.
TIA. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Sat Sep 17, 2005 6:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You're vaguely in luck.
Assuming you don't need two-phase commit.
The MQ Java API is 100% pure java. So you can download just the appropriate jar files as part of your java webstart process.
The Using Java manual has an explicit page or two in the JMS section on creating MQ JMS objects without using JNDI. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
undetected |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 2 Location: MN
|
Thanks! I found it and managed to get help on the property values I needed to connect to our MQ provider.
For those listening, it's Chapters 10 & 11 that served my needs. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jinko |
Posted: Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 13 Oct 2005 Posts: 4
|
So using the MQ jms api we don't need to install the MQ client even if the MQ server is on a remote machine? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wschutz |
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 3316 Location: IBM (retired)
|
jinko wrote: |
So using the MQ jms api we don't need to install the MQ client even if the MQ server is on a remote machine? |
Correct. _________________ -wayne |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|