Author |
Message
|
Amit15 |
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 2:52 am Post subject: Trigger monitor |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Sep 2005 Posts: 24
|
Can any one plaese tell me how to stop MQ trigger monitor at command peompt .
Thanks and Regards |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 2:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Set the init queue to get(disabled).
If the monitor was written correctly it should stop.
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Amit15 |
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:02 am Post subject: Unix command prompt |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Sep 2005 Posts: 24
|
But can you please tell me at command prompt how can i disable the init q please tell me the command
I am at UNIX environment
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Code: |
echo "alter ql(initqname) get(disabled)" | runmqsc MYQMGRNAME |
You really should read the admin manuals... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Amit15 |
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:40 am Post subject: Solaris how to stop trigger program |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 20 Sep 2005 Posts: 24
|
PLease tell me if i am at solaris and if i want to stop trigger monitor program than what command i should fire after runmqsc queue manager name
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 4:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You should run the exact command he listed, starting with "echo" and ending with runmqsc <Your QMGR Name>.
This should send the command to get disable the init queue to runmqsc, which will execute it.
Then your trigger monitor should end, if it is properly written.
Then you should be done. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
xxx |
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 10:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 13 Oct 2003 Posts: 137
|
stop MQ trigger monitor at command peompt
Just wondering why not
ps -ef | grep runmqtrm , and stop what ever the trigger montior needs to be stopped ?
if it is running on a client we may need to log on to the client and then stop it !
This way if there are multiple trigger monitors are running on the same init queue we can stop the one which is needed ,
Also when we need to start agian we get issues the scripts or manual or what ever the procedure !
The only reason I see to alter queue is stop trigger monitor started by another unix id or if that comes from a client which we don't have the access ! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 6:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
xxx wrote: |
stop MQ trigger monitor at command peompt
Just wondering why not
ps -ef | grep runmqtrm , and stop what ever the trigger montior needs to be stopped ?
if it is running on a client we may need to log on to the client and then stop it !
This way if there are multiple trigger monitors are running on the same init queue we can stop the one which is needed ,
Also when we need to start agian we get issues the scripts or manual or what ever the procedure !
The only reason I see to alter queue is stop trigger monitor started by another unix id or if that comes from a client which we don't have the access ! |
Issuing the kill command is never good as it does not clean up resources.
This is why you are better off setting the queue get(disabled)....
Anyway this will not help if you want to stop a triggered process.
To stop a triggered process with some queue depth do following:
a) disable triggering and get on the queue
b) wait until the process servicing the queue has stopped (if well written)
c) get enable the queue
d) analyse situation and cause, browse messages
e) set queue to trigger again
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
xxx |
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 9:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 13 Oct 2003 Posts: 137
|
I guess the Question is how to stop a trigger monitor and not how to stop a process that is already triggered !
If you do a get disbaled on the trigger queue , I guess a trigger message will be put on initiation Queue and trigger monitor will start the process , and the process( or Job) will get disabled error and the job dies ,
the trigger monitor will still be running ! One initiation Queue can be used by 1000 queues , and one trigger monitor will be able to server all the Queues,
I agree killing a runmqtrm may not clean all the resources , but I feel it more confortable from a admin view !
----------------------------------------------------------------
Yes I agree on this
i.e when we disable get on init Queue ,
the trigger message will be placed on the initqueue and trigger monitor tries to pull the message and fails to pull the message and dies !
This may be a better way saying that ,
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
I had seen many times trigger monitor being in hanged state and I did kill many times using kill -9 runmqtrm process , and starting the trigger monitor and doing a trigger no trigger on local queue !
well if it is not a better process I don't know ! But it works |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|