|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Using Java API for starting a work item |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
sundarsitaraman |
Posted: Wed May 25, 2005 8:32 am Post subject: Using Java API for starting a work item |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Mar 2005 Posts: 4
|
Hi,
I require a clarification on starting of a manual work item using the MQ Workflow Java API.
The following is an extract of a sample code snippet
//objService.programExecutionAgentStartUp();
// objWorkItem.start();
// objService.programExecutionAgentShutDown();
Program execution for the activity is achieved using UPES. My question is prior to issuing the workitem.start(), why is it required to start the PEA. Is this the only to start the work item using a Java API.
I've read that IBM has recommended using UPES instead of PEA. Now is this recommendation only for invoking the program for an activity in the Workflow server.
I am confused and hope to seek clarification regarding this.
Thanks & Best Regards,
Sundar |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Wed May 25, 2005 8:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
Quote: |
My question is prior to issuing the workitem.start(), why is it required to start the PEA. Is this the only to start the work item using a Java API. |
YES |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Wed May 25, 2005 11:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
It is my opinion that there is NO need to start the PEA prior to issuing the start(). This is especially true in the case of a UPES activity, as the PEA is not involved anyway.
Simply issue the start() on the UPES workitem without the PEA and the XML message should be sent to the appropriate queue. Better yet, make the activity automatic, then you don't even need the start() _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sundarsitaraman |
Posted: Wed May 25, 2005 1:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 09 Mar 2005 Posts: 4
|
Thanks Vennala and John for your response.
John, when I try to start the activity using the MQ Workflow Java API without starting the PEA, the work item goes to 'In Error' state. Also, since this activity requires user intervention, I thought that we might have to manually start the work item.
Please correct me if I'm mistaken.
Thanks & Best Regards,
Sundar |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Wed May 25, 2005 1:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
Sundar:
Generally an activity that has human interaction would not be a UPES activity. So I am afraid you have lost me.
What exactly are you doing?
Also, what is the reason for InError?
From the workitem:
wi.errorReason().messageText will give you the answer to my question about the Error Reason. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mlf |
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 May 2005 Posts: 2
|
Sundar,
I just had a situation today where I noticed that if you don't have an executable defined for any platform, then when the UPES activity starts, it goes into a stat of InError.
I added fmcnshow.exe as an executable for Windows, even though it would never really be run, then my UPES worked just fine. Do you have an executable defined?
Normally, you set a UPES activity to start automatically and run unattended, so that all you need is something to process the XML message that is generated for the step. That is what is confusing, as to why you're using the APIs. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|