Author |
Message
|
mpsmith19 |
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 6:22 am Post subject: MQ client app unable to load because of missing AMQZST.dll?? |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 20
|
Working with some old C code that someone else wrote. When I try to run it I get the message "This application failed to start because AMQZST.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem.". There are two versions of the program, a cgi and a DLL using ISAPI. Only the cgi gives the message, the ISAPI DLL gives the generic error "The specified module could not be found." (Gee, thanks Microsoft for the helpful message :/ )
Well, the program is a simple client application that makes the standard MQCONN, MQOPEN, MQGET, MQPUT, MQCLOSE, and MQDISC. My environment is as follows:
OS................: Windows XP SP1
HTML Server.: IIS 5.1
Compiler.......: MS Visual Studio.NET 2003
MQ................: MQ Client 5.3
Any help is appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 6:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Are you recompiling the code? Or just trying to run an existing compiled package?
If the later, you may need to recompile it to link against a newer version of the MQ Client.
If the former, you may need to check that it's not looking for server libraries ("mqm.dll" instead of "mqic32.dll") _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mpsmith19 |
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 20
|
If I run the original code (which is an ISAPI DLL) or recompile the DLL I get the "The specified module could not be found." message.
I converted the DLL to be a CGI and that's when I get the "This application failed to start because AMQZST.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem." message.
I was given a copy of MQM.dll to install on my system, when I remove that file I get "This application failed to start because MQM.dll was not found. Re-installing the application may fix this problem." in the CGI and the ISAPI DLLs still report their generic message.
Is there perhaps something I need to do so that MQ knows I want Client code instead of Server code? The original ISAPI DLL source code has nothing in it that refers to client or server MQ.
Thanks.
Michael P. Smith |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 7:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You can't use just mqm.dll to link against the server bindings. You'd need a full server installation (which would include the missing dll, along with several others that you probably don't know are missing yet, because they are masked by amqzst.dll.)
If you only have the client installed on your computer, you have to adjust to using mqic32.dll instead.
The process for compiling c applications is described reasonably well in the Application Programming Reference. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mpsmith19 |
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 7:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 20
|
Not trying to compile server code, trying to compile client code.
I'll go read the APR manual (assuming I can find it ) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 7:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
mpsmith19 wrote: |
Not trying to compile server code, trying to compile client code. |
mqm.dll is the server dll. mqic32.dll is the client dll. If you're trying to link against mqm.dll, you're compiling server code...
And, sorry, I meant the Application Programming Guide, not Reference.
Start with the Documentation button at the top of this page. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mpsmith19 |
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 7:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 02 May 2005 Posts: 20
|
Ok, I'm an idiot.
I "assumed" that the server folks gave me ALL the information on how to setup this client. A quick look at the APG showed that I was missing the NMQ_MQ_LIB variable. At least, specifying it allows me to run and test the ISAPI DLL.
Thanks for the help Jeff. Sometime you just need to read the FAQ and Manuals  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|