Author |
Message
|
kodiak |
Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 20 Mar 2002 Posts: 4
|
I am having an issue where a message 'put' is simply failing to put anything on the queue. (I am using the single argument put call. ) There are no exceptions thrown, nothing put on the dead letter queue, and to make things worse it happens randomly. Also this seems to be happening only on the first message that my application attempts to place on the queue, which leads me to believe that it may be a buffering issue of some sort?! Additionally the message is always delivered when I have another application doing a 'get' on the queue.
Any Ideas??
Thanks in advance
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
abmanesh |
Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 06 Nov 2001 Posts: 39
|
If you could post the code , that would help. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kodiak |
Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 20 Mar 2002 Posts: 4
|
The code is as simple as is possible...
try {
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kodiak |
Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 20 Mar 2002 Posts: 4
|
... sorry
MQMessage msg = new MQMessage();
try {
msg.writeInt( MY_VERSION );
q.put( msg );
}catch( IOException ioe ) {
System.out.println("IOE : " + ioe);
}catch( MQException mqe ) {
System.out.println("MQE : " + mqe.reasonCode + " : " + mqe );
}
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqonnet |
Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2002 8:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Feb 2002 Posts: 1114 Location: Boston, Ma, Usa.
|
Firstly what is the Reason code you are getting out of the mqput call. What do you mean by "happens randomly". does that mean, even the first put passes through sometimes. considering the case where the app is successful in putting the first message, do rest of the puts go through fine. All this without the getting app running alongside on the same queue.
More info would be better.
Cheers.
Kumar
_________________ IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Developer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Solution Designer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 System Administrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kodiak |
Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2002 9:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 20 Mar 2002 Posts: 4
|
Firstly what is the Reason code you are getting out of the mqput call.
>>>how do i get this value if there is no MQException thrown?
What do you mean by "happens randomly". does that mean, even the first put passes through sometimes.
>>>exactly!
considering the case where the app is successful in putting the first message, do rest of the puts go through fine.
>>>in all scenarios, when the put fails AND when it succeeds with the listening app on AND off, the rest of the mqputs succeed.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqonnet |
Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2002 11:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Feb 2002 Posts: 1114 Location: Boston, Ma, Usa.
|
I am not quite sure what's wrong here, until i see the whole program code. The code which you have pasted looks fine.
To track it down further, you should probably clear all the queues and check to see where the message goes when the first PUT "fails". Fails, here i assume that it does not land up in the destined queue. Modify your QM attributes to point to the default/any other DLQ, if already not done so. I also assume that this queue is a Local queue.
I dont see any reason why you should think this to be a buffer error. Rather, what made you think that this could be a buffer problem.
Make it slow. Run this app in debug and go through the loop to monitor the values of MD, pmo and also the messages on queue. This way you could get closer to the problem.
Did you try out the Samples provided by IBM or which are on this site. Do they work, or they too show up the same behaviour.
Hope this helps.
Cheers.
Kumar
_________________ IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Developer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Solution Designer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 System Administrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2002 2:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Check to see if you have the SYNC-POINT Option set, The failure your describing
sounds like the message is sometimes not being commited to the queue.
_________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|