ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Workflow Design Issue

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Workflow Design Issue « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
CHF
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 3:16 pm    Post subject: Workflow Design Issue Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 297

All,
I have 2 activities in my process model.
Code:
A --> B

A is an UPES activity. B is a manual activity.
User logs into the workflow and issues a create and start instance (from the custom webclient) for this process. As soon as the instance is started, a message will be sent to the A's UPES Q, and immediately I am sending response back to workflow with the Output container. Depending on the outcome of A, the user needs to decide to create / NOT to create a workitem for B.

To achieve the above requirement I have modeled my process like this:
I have added an extra activity in between A and B.
Code:
A --> X --> B

X is a dummy manual activity. As soon as the user submits the CreateAndStartInstance, message will be sent to the A' UPES Q, and immediately A receives the response back and creates a Workitem for X. At the same time I am querying the Output container for A and displaying the Output container to the user on his screen, so that he can make a decision to create / NOT to create a workitem for B. I am providing two buttons for that user in the same screen. Buttons are like Create , Not Create.

If he clicks on Create button, in the backend I am simply Checking out that X workitem and Checking it in immediately with OutputContainer 's one of the FLAG set to YES. If he clicks on the Not Create button I am setting the FLAG to NO.

The approach I followed above is working fine. But I want to get your thoughts on are there any simple ways to achieve my requirement.

Thanks in Advance.
_________________
CHF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
jmac
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

CHF:

This is what I am hearing:

There is an automatic activity (A) that runs.

Once that activity is complete human intervention is required to decide whether or not to create the manual activity (B).

If this is correct, then I would say you have solved the problem in the best way possible.
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
CHF
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 297

John:

You got me right. I am happy to hear your answer, because now I do not have to make any modifications to my model.

Thanks again.
_________________
CHF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
sac
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 4:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 44

Hi,
I would suggest use of no-operation activity between A and B.
The no-opeation activity can decide the furher process flow based on the value of flag that you are setting. With this implementation you won't be required to have a checkout and checkin activity implementations.

It would be like;
FLAG="CREATE"
A----------------->No-Op--------------------------->B
|
|_______________________>C
FLAG="NO CREATE"

-Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sac
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apprentice

Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 44

Please note that the arrow which seems to be comingout of A, it actually coming from No-Op to B.

The txt representation kind of misallings the lines.

-Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ratan
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Quote:
Once that activity is complete human intervention is required to decide whether or not to create the manual activity (B).


Sachin,
The solution is based on this.

If human intervention is not required I dont see any need for No-op activity as you suggested.
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
CHF
PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 16 Dec 2003
Posts: 297

Sachin,

No-Op will NOT work it, 'coz I NEED a manual intervention to decide to create/not to create workitem for B.

John's explaination is right way.
_________________
CHF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » Workflow Design Issue
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.