Author |
Message
|
rkford11 |
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:16 am Post subject: Message flow interaction with database |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 316
|
When ever new data is updated in the database, i want the data in the input queue of the message flow. Can we do this using MQI(using ESQL)
or do we need to have a trigger application to put the data from the database on to the queue.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
siliconfish |
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 10:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Aug 2002 Posts: 203 Location: USA
|
I think your application putting the data to the database should handle this, the application has to put the message to the input queue of the message flow whenever it puts the data into the database. _________________ siliconfish |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
You need some sort of an adapter or something.
There is functionality built into DB2, if I recall, for using the MQ API from within stored procedures.
Consult your DB2 admin... _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
Quote: |
or do we need to have a trigger application to put the data from the database on to the queue. |
You CAN do it this way (because I have done it before). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rkford11 |
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 316
|
vennela wrote: |
Quote: |
or do we need to have a trigger application to put the data from the database on to the queue. |
You CAN do it this way (because I have done it before). |
if possible can you please post the trigger code
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 12:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
Unfortunately NO. I worked for a customer couple of years back and moreover it was a C program on iSeries. It might not be of much help anyway. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RocknRambo |
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 1:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 355
|
If you r looking to avoid coding ...
This can be achieved very easily using WBIA JDBC Adapter,
-RR |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TonyD |
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 2:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 540 Location: New Zealand
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 3:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Quote: |
currently requires AMI which is apparently no longer strategic. |
But:
Quote: |
This recommendation does not apply to functions shipped by other IBM products, such as DB2, that have made use of the AMI. IBM is working to ensure that these products are able to provide the same functionality as today without the AMI. |
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rkford11 |
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 8:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 316
|
TonyD wrote: |
http://www-106.ibm.com/developerworks/db2/library/techarticle/wolfson/0108wolfson.html
....but currently requires AMI which is apparently no longer strategic. |
I have installed AMI v1.2 and issued the command enable_MQFunctions command. but it gives me an error saying
problem -- while checking the current working directory
please let me know what would be the correct directory to work on.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TonyD |
Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 3:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 540 Location: New Zealand
|
Further to EddieA's reply...correct...here is part of an email reply I received from Dan Wolfson in February:
Quote: |
AMI function is in maintenance mode. However, I don't think that it is something to prevent using the MQ functions in DB2. I am working with the MQ team to implement a solution that will allow the MQ functions to continue without AMI. There should be no application impact to that, but there may be some administrative impact (replacing the AMT.XML file, for instance). We have many customers using these functions |
rkford11...I can't really comment on your problem....checking back in a document I wrote some time ago there is an example that shows 'enable_MQFunctions' being executed successfully from 'C:\Program Files\SQLLIB\cfg'... don't know if this helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rkford11 |
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 11:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 06 Jun 2004 Posts: 316
|
RocknRambo wrote: |
If you r looking to avoid coding ...
This can be achieved very easily using WBIA JDBC Adapter,
-RR |
can you please provide the link from where i can download WBIA JDBC Adapter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 12:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
Quote: |
can you please provide the link from where i can download WBIA JDBC Adapter |
You have to buy it.
If you have access to partner world then you can download it from developer works I guess. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
RocknRambo |
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 3:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 355
|
WBIA JDBC Adapter, is product to busy for Enterprise Level of Usage
-RR |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|