ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » JMS Setup Pls HELP

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 JMS Setup Pls HELP « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
Henry
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 1:48 am    Post subject: JMS Setup Pls HELP Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 73

I am new to JMS. I want to setup JMS with MQ.
What can I do? is there any document about JMS setup with MQ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fjb_saper
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand High Poobah

Joined: 18 Nov 2003
Posts: 20756
Location: LI,NY

Read up in the "using java" manual. You did not specify if you targetting any specific WAS. If your WAS is Websphere Application Server you have 2 ways of doing it:

a) internal server -- config console - resources - Websphere JMS (no full MQ server)
b) Websphere MQ -- config console - resources - Websphere MQ JMS (full MQ server)
c) external provider -- config console - resources - Websphere external JMS provider...(not recommended for MQ)

Enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bamboozled_by_MQ
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 75

I am new at this too. Let me tell you, if you want to use JNDI in your JMS pgms, it isn't an easy setup to say the least.

However, the 'Using Java' manual will help. It will have the information you are looking for.

http://www.elink.ibmlink.ibm.com/public/applications/publications/cgibin/pbi.cgi?CTY=US&FNC=SRX&PBL=SC34606602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

bamboozled_by_MQ,

Using JNDI in JMS applications is not hard. Here is what I do at a client site:
- Use JMSAdmin (even better use JMSAdmin-GUI) to create a file based MQ JNDI
- In the WebLogic console, point it to the file based JNDI, set the min/max bean pool paramters, etc..
- Have the WebLogic Java applications use Foreign JNDI to pull the MQ JNDI values into WebLogic.
- Now the JMS apps can get and put messages to/from MQ queues.

For people doing WebLogic and want more info, BEA created a doc called Using Foreign JMS Providers with WebLogic Server dated May 2002. Get it. It tells you ever thing you need to know.

Also, whatever you do NOT use the JMS Bridge. It is not worth the headache. Avoid it at all cost. One of the applications at my client site used it before my time, and it has been nothing but a headache after headache (besides, why have an extra level of queuing when it is not necessary).

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bamboozled_by_MQ
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 75

we did not choose embedded messaging when installing WAS, I am installing WMQ5.3 server to use as the provider instead of weblogic


as for my development workstation Im installing WSAD 5, should I use embedded messaging for development?

OR should I install WMQ 5.3 server to use for test.

the actual prod env will be on WAS with WMQ5.3 as the jms provider.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RogerLacroix
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 15 May 2001
Posts: 3264
Location: London, ON Canada

Quote:
I am installing WMQ5.3 server to use as the provider instead of weblogic

WebLogic like WAS or JBoss, etc... are applications server. You don't configure WebLogic to work as a provider to WAS.

If you don't want to buy a license for WMQ then you can use the embedded version. Most 3rd party tools can work fine with the embedded version.

Regards,
Roger Lacroix
_________________
Capitalware: Transforming tomorrow into today.
Connected to MQ!
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Henry
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 73

Thanks for you all!!

Actually, I don't know which point should I start to do with JMS.
Let me describe my environment
A Unix server with OS 8
WMQ v5.3 with CSD07
A Windows NT server with SVP 6
WAS v5.x without MQ installed

A QM is defined on the UNIX server. The broker is started and command server as well.

There is a JMSAdmin tool from support pac and JMSAdmin.config. I know that these files are used to create context, QCF etc. However, I am not sure I should use the file base or WsnInitialContextFactory or LDAP. I don't have LDAP so it will not be used.

I want to know what is the use of WsnInitialContextFactory as in the file JMSAdmin.config. How can I use it?
If I use the filebase, how can applications retrieve information?

Apart from it, what should I do with the WAS if I want to use JMS with it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JLRowe
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 25 May 2002
Posts: 664
Location: South East London

You do not need to use the JMSAdmin tool, the WAS admin console provides for the configuration of JMS resources.

I assume your unix box is not running WAS, so you can either use JMSAdmin to configure resources or you can run code as a J2EE client and lookup JMS resources on the WAS server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Henry
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 73

jlrowe wrote:
You do not need to use the JMSAdmin tool, the WAS admin console provides for the configuration of JMS resources.

I assume your unix box is not running WAS, so you can either use JMSAdmin to configure resources or you can run code as a J2EE client and lookup JMS resources on the WAS server.


Thanks for your reply!!

Yes, you are right that my UNIX box is not running WAS. How can I setup JMS on WAS as there are three different options - Generic JMS, WebSphere JMS and WebSphere MQ JMS? Which one should I use? What InitialContextFactory and url should be set?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bower5932
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Aug 2001
Posts: 3023
Location: Dallas, TX, USA

Henry wrote:
How can I setup JMS on WAS as there are three different options - Generic JMS, WebSphere JMS and WebSphere MQ JMS? Which one should I use?


I haven't been following this thread real closely, so I apologize for any stupid comments I may make.

When dealing with WAS, you can select that you want embedded JMS installed which you then administer through the Admin Console as WebSphere JMS. If you opt to install the full WMQ product, you would use WebSphere MQ JMS.

What you would not use for administration is JMSAdmin to interact with WAS. If set up to use WAS, then JMSAdmin would put its entries into the transient part of the JNDI namespace. Or in other words, anything you define goes away when WAS is shutdown.

If you are trying to get at WAS objects from a second machine, I believe that you really only have one option. You need to have your program run as a J2EE Application Client. That will allow it to get at the WAS namespace.

However, for simple testing, you could always define your objects via JMSAdmin in a local filesystem. I've been known to do this myself for quick tests.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

If you have WAS on Machine A, and Queue Manager on Machine B, and you want to run your code in WAS, then you can set up the WebSphere MQ JMS resources using WAS Admin to make a client connection.

If you want to run your code on Machine B, making a bindings connection to the queue manager, and you want to use the WAS JNDI, then you will need to (as Ron Bower said) create a J2EE Client Application.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Henry
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 73

bower5932 wrote:
When dealing with WAS, you can select that you want embedded JMS installed which you then administer through the Admin Console as WebSphere JMS. If you opt to install the full WMQ product, you would use WebSphere MQ JMS.

What you would not use for administration is JMSAdmin to interact with WAS. If set up to use WAS, then JMSAdmin would put its entries into the transient part of the JNDI namespace. Or in other words, anything you define goes away when WAS is shutdown.

If you are trying to get at WAS objects from a second machine, I believe that you really only have one option. You need to have your program run as a J2EE Application Client. That will allow it to get at the WAS namespace.

However, for simple testing, you could always define your objects via JMSAdmin in a local filesystem. I've been known to do this myself for quick tests.


I have tried the simple testing using JMSAdmin in a local file system. Let's forget the WAS part first. it works fine. How can I let other applications which are not running on the same machine to locate the JNDI objects from the local file system?


Last edited by Henry on Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Henry
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 73

jefflowrey wrote:
If you have WAS on Machine A, and Queue Manager on Machine B, and you want to run your code in WAS, then you can set up the WebSphere MQ JMS resources using WAS Admin to make a client connection.


How can I setup this environment? How should I config the WAS on Machine A?

jefflowrey wrote:
If you want to run your code on Machine B, making a bindings connection to the queue manager, and you want to use the WAS JNDI, then you will need to (as Ron Bower said) create a J2EE Client Application.


How can I setup a bindings connection? What is the J2EE Client Application? is it pure a MQ client code which is using the client connection to the queue manager?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vennela
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

You can access WAS's admin console usually using the url
hostname:9090/admin where hostname is the hostname of the machine where WAS is running.

But again the port number may be different, there might be security etc.

Otherwise, you can use the above url and use any user name and login to the WAS admin console

Is it what you are asking or something else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Henry
PostPosted: Sun Oct 10, 2004 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 08 Oct 2003
Posts: 73

vennela wrote:
You can access WAS's admin console usually using the url
hostname:9090/admin where hostname is the hostname of the machine where WAS is running.

Is it what you are asking or something else?


I want to know how can I setup the JMS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » IBM MQ Java / JMS » JMS Setup Pls HELP
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.