ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » checking Required fields ...WMQI---SOLVED

Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 checking Required fields ...WMQI---SOLVED « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
bindu
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 4:42 am    Post subject: checking Required fields ...WMQI---SOLVED Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 97

Hi,
For my request i do have nearly 20 required fileds...so i am cheking those in a filter node by using 20 if loops so any suggestions aport from this way can i check those required fields with less code...Any suggestions.
Thanx,
Bindu


Last edited by bindu on Wed May 19, 2004 9:48 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psn
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disciple

Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 193
Location: France

Hi,

why not use a messageset with validation in input node ?

PSN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wooda
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 21 Nov 2003
Posts: 265
Location: UK

Use the MRM.
Set Min Occurs >= 1 for those fields (ie they are mandatory)
Turn on Validation in the flow.
Bingo the MRM will validate the message for you.
You can also validate lots of other things as well as required fields.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bindu
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:23 am    Post subject: checking Required fields ...WMQI Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 97

Hi ,
Thanx for quick reply but i need to throw an exception if those are not present so any suggestions.
Thanx,
bindu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

The MRM parser will throw an exception if there are missing fields that it believes are required, and you have enabled validation either on Input or on a Compute node.

At least in 2.1 CSD04 or later.
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bindu
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 8:50 am    Post subject: checking Required fields ...WMQI Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 97

Hi,
Without using message set can i do this.Any suggestions.
Thanx,
Bindu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

You have to tell WMQI which fields are required - either by writing code that says "these field are required" or by creating a message description that says "these fields are required".

If you don't want to use a message set, that means you have to use ESQL.

Whether or not you can use "less" ESQL depends on
  • what your current ESQL looks like
  • what your data looks like
  • What version of WMQI you are using

_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bindu
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 10:28 am    Post subject: checking Required fields ...WMQI Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 97

Hi jef,
Right now i am using MQSI2.1,
only XML elements...so is there any easy way to check the required fields by using ESQL.Any suggestions.
Thanx,
Bindu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Missam
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 424

There is a function called CARDINALITY.you can make use of it.
See ESQL Reference
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bindu
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:09 am    Post subject: checking Required fields ...WMQI Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 97

Hi Misssam,
i want to check the required fields in ESQL and send back error message if any one of missing.Any suggestion.
Thanx,
Bindu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Missam
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 424

Run CARDINALITY against the filed you want to check.it'll return the no of occurences of the field

Lets say you have a field like InputRoot.XML.Message.Field1

CARDINALTY(InputRoot.XML.Message.Field1[]) Gives you no of occurences Field1.if you don't have Field1,it 'll return zero.

so use it like this

IF CARDINALTY(InputRoot.XML.Message.Field1[]) = 0 THEN

THROW USER EXCEPTION.......

END IF;

If you have 20 fileds like this

you can combine them in one statement like this


IF (CARDINALTY(InputRoot.XML.Message.Field1[]) = 0) OR (CARDINALTY(InputRoot.XML.Message.Field2[]) = 0) OR (CARDINALTY(InputRoot.XML.Message.Field3[]) = 0) OR ........................ THEN

THROW USER EXCEPTION....

END IF;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bindu
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:46 am    Post subject: checking Required fields ...WMQI Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 97

Hi Missam,
Thanq very much for your time. Actuvally in my case i have to develope exception also by using which field is missing ...like...last name field missing like that....so any suggestions .Once again thanq very much.
Regards,
Bindu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

So your current code looks like

IF (test Variable1 to see if it's missing) THEN
set indicator that Variable1 is missing
end if;

If (test Variable2 to see if it's missing) THEN
set indicator that Variable2 is missing
end if;
...
if (test Variable20 to see if it's missing) THEN
set indicator that Variable20 is missing
end if;

(Create message using indicators)

And you're looking to write "less" code to do this. Why?

Are you having performance problems?
_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bindu
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 12:06 pm    Post subject: checking Required fields ...WMQI/MQSI Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 07 May 2004
Posts: 97

Hi Jef,
I dont have any perfomance problems....but only thing is i am interested to learn this thing....let me know if Is there any another way to check (less code)...Thanx for your time.
Regards,
bindu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Missam
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2004 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 424

Look into this
http://www.mqseries.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=13288&highlight=environment
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next Page 1 of 2

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » checking Required fields ...WMQI---SOLVED
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.