Author |
Message
|
Albator |
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 8:36 am Post subject: relaying a message |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 75 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
Hi,
Here is what I need help with:
A message is sent from SERVER A to SERVER B to a local queue.
I need to relay the message automatically from SERVER B to SERVER C. The incoming message from SERVER A contains the specific queue manager and channel SERVER B needs to use to send the response message back to SERVER A.
1.What are the different ways to do this?
2. How can I relay the message from SERVER B to SERVER C?
3.If the message is relayed from SERVER B to SERVER C, is the message header lost (the one from SERVER A to SERVER B. I need to know to which queue manager to send the message on SERVER A)?
4. PLEASE try to give as much info. as possible (the one liners are sometimes hard to understand for newbies!).
Thank you ALL,
Sas |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
romudd |
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 9:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 31 Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
|
Hello,
Maybe I didn't understand exactly what you need, but that's what I can figure about it:
One way to do this is using clusters between A-B and B-C
For example, you can create the "BC_CLUSTER" . Then, define a Cluster Queue "QL.BC" . That queue will "exist" in both the SERVER B and SERVER C (actually it is in the Repository Queue Manager, but it's like "mirrored" to the other QM). Then, SERVER-A puts a message in the QL.BC (at SERVER B) and it will be seen by the SERVER C .
In other hand, you may also have a "AB_CLUSTER", with a shared queue "QL.AB" . The SERVER-C can put a message into QL.AB at SERVER-B. The SERVER-A then will have this message (reply) in its own QL.AB
(if you do this way, I sincerely don't know what happens with the headers)
Another way is run some specific application in SERVER B , this application would be a "message forwarder" that gets the message from Queue Manager B and sends to another one. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Albator |
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 10:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 75 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
I apologies for the confusion.
Server A is one of our clients running MQ 5.3 (remote location). Server B is our MQ Server and Server C is a Biztalk server with the MQ adaptor.
Sas |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 10:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
If you do a search on these forums for BizTalk, you will find some recent discussions (somewhere) about how to configure this to work exactly.
But your question is NOT a question about relaying messages from one MQ server to another, so the subject of your post is misleading. Your question is about how to configure BizTalk to act as an MQClient (which it doesn't, exactly). _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Albator |
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 11:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 04 Mar 2004 Posts: 75 Location: Toronto, Canada
|
lets assume that all 3 servers are running MQ 5.3. How can I send a copy of a message received from SERVER A to SERVER C (going through SERVER B) so that the MQMD and the content of the message does not change?
Thanks,
Sasa |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqonnet |
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 11:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 18 Feb 2002 Posts: 1114 Location: Boston, Ma, Usa.
|
There is no "default" built-in switch within MQ that you could turn on and the message is sent to another destination other than where it lands initially. In your case, the message lands onto a local queue on Server B. And the message needs to be sent/copied to Server C.
Host of possibilities.
-You could use message mover app that you could find on Roger's website, capitalware.biz. May be trigger it on Server B to start it automatically and forward the messages. Take care of message affinities etc by modifying if not already being done.
-If you dont want message to be copied to server B and just to server C, you could set up a multi-hop. But this particular one doesnt serve any purpose as you could very well connect Server A to Server C.
-There are other ways, but they are complicated than these.
Hope this helps.
Cheers
Kumar _________________ IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Developer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 Solution Designer
IBM Certified WebSphere MQ V5.3 System Administrator |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Wed May 12, 2004 11:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
See the section in Chapter 4 of Part 2 of the Intercommunications manual called "Passing messages through your system". _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|