ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » LDAP-FDL Mapping Passwords

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 LDAP-FDL Mapping Passwords « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
jpmorales
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 3:48 pm    Post subject: LDAP-FDL Mapping Passwords Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 21
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

I am trying to map my users' password from FDL to LDIF and viceversa
To that end, inside my XML file I put
Code:

<FDLAttribute Name="PASSWORD">
    <DirectAttributeMapping>
        <LDAPAttribute Name="userPassword"/>
    </DirectAttributeMapping>
</FDLAttribute>

However, this maps the encoded versions of my passwords (which is what is stored in the fdl). How can I map the real ones?

Thanks in advance
_________________
"Entia non sund multiplicanda praeter necesitatem"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Ratan
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2004 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Passwords are one way hashed. So if you are trying to get the password from WF runtime they will be hashed, and you wont be able to reverse them.
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jpmorales
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 4:24 am    Post subject: What can I do then? Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 21
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

Does this mean it is not possible to map LDAP passwords to MQWF passwords ?
This means I would have one password on the LDAP and another (or none) on workflow. Since authentication is being performed via an authentication exit it is not a problem on logon (via web client, using logon4). Is it a problem elsewhere (logon via Buildtime or runtime client), or can I just leave the password unmapped without any further worries?
_________________
"Entia non sund multiplicanda praeter necesitatem"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Ratan
PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

you can have your MQWF user passwords same as your LDAP passwords.

From the FDL extracted from runtime you cant say what the password was.
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jpmorales
PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2004 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 21
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

You have stated that passwords cannot be extracted from workflow. It is possible the other way around? From LDIF I can extract the password?
I don't want a dual password changing scheme. I want the LDAP password to be the only password. If I leave the Workflow passwords at say, random strings, for security's sake, will it present a problem of any kind?
_________________
"Entia non sund multiplicanda praeter necesitatem"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Ratan
PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

if you are using Authentication exit, WF passwords do not matter.
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vennela
PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

Quote:
Is it a problem elsewhere (logon via Buildtime or runtime client),

Buildtime doesn't matter but runtime client matters (for fat client only. I think you can customize the web client to use auth exit)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
basil beltran
PostPosted: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:58 am    Post subject: Log into MQWF with LDAP PWD Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 26 Mar 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Boulder, CO IBM

I have code that queries LDAP for values (including PWD), formats in FDL, drops to the OS (from a UPES) and executes at bat containing
fmcibie -uADMIN -ppassword -iC:\TEMP\user.fdl -o

this work very well and my MQWF users log in with thier LDAP passwords.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger
jpmorales
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:12 am    Post subject: Re: Log into MQWF with LDAP PWD Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 13 Nov 2003
Posts: 21
Location: Bogotá, Colombia

basil beltran wrote:
I have code that queries LDAP for values (including PWD), formats in FDL, drops to the OS (from a UPES) and executes at bat containing

How do you manage to export passwords from LDAP? As far as I know, they too are one way hashed. Or does this depends on a particular feature being enabled for the LDAP server, or a particular flavor of LDAP server?
_________________
"Entia non sund multiplicanda praeter necesitatem"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » LDAP-FDL Mapping Passwords
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.