|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
backout messages |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
vids |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 8:45 am Post subject: backout messages |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 24 Mar 2003 Posts: 68 Location: CA, USA
|
Hi..
We have an application triggered(type FIRST) which pulls the message from the queue and inserts the record to the sql server database. If there is any error while inserting the record, the message will be rolled back. The application tries to pull those messages till the backout count is reached the threshold value. Once the backout count is reached the threshold, the message will be redirected to an error queue.
Now the message may go to an error queue because of the bad data or the database was down. If the message goes to an error queue because of the database down at that time, we need to process that message later when the database is up.
We want to schedule the task to runs the same program every 30 mins to process the message in the error queue which was put during data base was down.
Now the question is how to diffrenciate whether the message was put to an error queue because of the bad data or database down.The program will pull even the bad messages which is not necessary for us to process.
Any good suggestions to handle this situation???
Thanks _________________ Vids |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vmcgloin |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 8:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 04 Apr 2002 Posts: 560 Location: Scotland
|
The application doing the backout & redirecting to an error queue is the only part that has access to the details of the error so why not have it put different types of failures to different error queues - one for recoverable errors (database down) and one for messages that should not be retried.
Either that or add info. to the message before putting it to the single error queue, and code your retry handler to process only the relevant messages (removing the added info. first).
There are other ways too...
Cheers,
Vicky |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
maha20 |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 11:46 am Post subject: Doubt |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 79
|
Where is this backout thershold specified. Is it in the message header?. Sorry for asking such a basic question, but I am curious to know. Thanks.
Maha |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vids |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 1:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 24 Mar 2003 Posts: 68 Location: CA, USA
|
Thanks Vicky
Maha
I'm pulling the threshold value from the .ini file and check as below
GetMsg.BackoutCount >= bckoutThreshold
You can also specify the backout threshold in the definition of the queue. _________________ Vids |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
maha20 |
Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2003 1:52 pm Post subject: thanks |
|
|
 Voyager
Joined: 23 Sep 2003 Posts: 79
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|