Author |
Message
|
spprash |
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 5:08 am Post subject: Fetching container info from Audit Trail |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2002 Posts: 25
|
I have set AUDIT_TRAIL to DB as full for my process models. I have a requirement to view the container values at various activities of my model. The Container_Content field in the AUDIT_TRAIL table is a BLOB field which I assumed will contain the container content in some serialzed manner. On query the field doesnt seem to contain the container values of my processes.
Does it mean the container content is not audited or do we have to use the global container option to obtain results. any ideas? _________________ Prash |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 7:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
I am somewhat confused by your question.... The only data written to the Audit record would be Global Container updates.
If you need to access the blob, I believe you could reconstruct the container using the ExecutionService::readOnlyContainerFromStream(byte []).
If you need to access the actual input and/or output containers of an activity you can get their contents via the ActivityInstance object. _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
spprash |
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 8:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2002 Posts: 25
|
I was of the opinion that the input/output containers of all activities will be audited and hence by using the audit trail we could fetch the container content of finished processes at various stages.
I'll probably try the global container option. Are there any docs on how to use the global container _________________ Prash |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 10:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
No container information is written to the audit trail, except for the Global container information.
There is not too much doc on the use of the GC but I believe there is some in the Buildtime manual.
GOOD LUCk _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
muralihegde |
Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2003 5:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Centurion
Joined: 30 Apr 2002 Posts: 108
|
Hi,
We also have the same requirement. We want to pass certain container info to audit trail.
But regarding the global container (GC) usage I have the following doubts.
1. Is it true that it can be set only once during process creation?
2. Again the only API I found was to retrieve the GC from a process instance. Is there any API to chnage the value and pass it back to the process instance?
3. Any detailed doc/manual/support pac about this?
An example or more details is greatly appreciated, because like any project, we are in a crucial stage to make design decision as to use global container for this purpose or not..
Thanks,
-murali |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jmac |
Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 5:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Jun 2001 Posts: 3081 Location: EmeriCon, LLC
|
muralihegde wrote: |
But regarding the global container (GC) usage I have the following doubts.
1. Is it true that it can be set only once during process creation? |
No the global container is updated after each activit that has a data connector that runs to the GC.
Quote: |
2. Again the only API I found was to retrieve the GC from a process instance. Is there any API to chnage the value and pass it back to the process instance? |
Changes are only made via mapping once the instance starts
Quote: |
3. Any detailed doc/manual/support pac about this? |
Not to my knowledge _________________ John McDonald
RETIRED |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
amittalekar |
Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 5:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Disciple
Joined: 03 Apr 2002 Posts: 166 Location: VA, USA
|
murali,
go through the programing guide..... it has a chapter "Global Containers" that will clear all ur doubts.... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|