|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
New Installation of MQSeries |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
starwood |
Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 8:42 am Post subject: New Installation of MQSeries |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Aug 2003 Posts: 2 Location: Denver
|
Hello,
I am evaluating MQSeries for an internal company project. We are using WSAD 5.x on Windows XP. I have never installed or used MQSeries before and wanted to get some best practices ideas for installing MQSeries 5.3 (Eval) on a Windows XP platform, and also how to enable it within the WSAD environment.
Thanks
J.D. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
I just did this myself. I have WSAD-IE on my box along with WebSphere MQ. The only thing that got me into real trouble was the bright idea I had about trying to use the actual MQ as WSAD-IE's embedded JMS. This isn't supported, and it didn't work either.
As far as what to do, I'd suggest install MQ and then WSAD. Once you get both installed, you'll need to create a Qmgr from MQ that you'll be able to use in WSAD. You'll also need to create a server in WSAD. Make sure that you make the Server's JMS Server properties to have an initial state of stopped. This will basically let WSAD know that you're in charge of the Qmgr and not it.
You'll have to define all of your MQSeries related resources (ie, QCFs, Qs, TCFs, Topics) inside of WSAD by using the admin console. Watch the case on names because it is significant.
Finally, make sure that you always get the linked exception on any exception that you catch. It gives the details of what really went wrong:
Code: |
} catch( JMSException je ) {
System.out.println("JMS Exception: " + je);
// check for a linked exception
Exception le = je.getLinkedException();
if (le != null) {
System.out.println("Linked exception: " + le);
}
}
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
starwood |
Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 9:38 am Post subject: MQSeries Setup |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 06 Aug 2003 Posts: 2 Location: Denver
|
I am running WSAD-IE 5 myself. I already have WSAD installed with projects created. I just installed MQSeries 5.3 without going through the Quick Setup task.
I don't believe I will need to create a server (showing my ignorance here) because I am connecting as a client to an existing remote queue.
My setup is strictly as a client, luckily I will only be subscribing.
I have an existing J2EE Enterprise Application that I will be connecting to an external server. Obviously I will be doing this through JMS.
Anyway, thanks for your feedback. It was all good information.
J.D. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|