Author |
Message
|
dylansclark |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:08 pm Post subject: (resolved) Getting messages from clustered queues |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Sep 2004 Posts: 3 Location: Houston
|
Clustering seems to work well if you need failover or balancing while putting messages in a queue. It also allows you to put messages onto a queue as if the queue were local. But what about getting messages? Can I get messages from a clustered queue by connecting to any of the clustered managers? If not, how can one distribute or offer failover for the getting of messages?
Dylan Clark |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
siliconfish |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Aug 2002 Posts: 203 Location: USA
|
If its Z/OS u can use Queue Sharing Groups, But on distrubuted u can't use MQGET to get messages from the queue managers other than the one the application is connected to. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dylansclark |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Sep 2004 Posts: 3 Location: Houston
|
Our solution will be running on Windows 2000 or XP. IF QM1 and QM2 are clustered can I get messages from a shared queue local to QM1 by connecting to QM2? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
dylansclark wrote: |
Our solution will be running on Windows 2000 or XP. IF QM1 and QM2 are clustered can I get messages from a shared queue local to QM1 by connecting to QM2? |
No. _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
siliconfish |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Aug 2002 Posts: 203 Location: USA
|
No you cannot, The MQGET call gets a message from an open local queue. It cannot get a message from a queue on another system. In this case even if the queue is visble in cluster the queue physically exits on the other queue manager. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dylansclark |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 3:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 27 Sep 2004 Posts: 3 Location: Houston
|
What value is there to an additional repository if I can't fail the queues over to another server in the cluster and get my messages from there? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
siliconfish |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 3:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Master
Joined: 12 Aug 2002 Posts: 203 Location: USA
|
No you cannot, The MQGET call gets a message from an open local queue. It cannot get a message from a queue on another system. In this case even if the queue is visble in cluster the queue physically exits on the other queue manager. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 4:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
dylansclark wrote: |
What value is there to an additional repository if I can't fail the queues over to another server in the cluster and get my messages from there? |
MQ Clustering is not a failover technology.
You want failover, you want hardware clustering. You can't pay for hardware clustering, then you can't afford failover.
Why hasn't someone written a FAQ for this yet? _________________ I am *not* the model of the modern major general. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hopfe_de |
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 6:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 03 Mar 2002 Posts: 58 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
One more question about clustering, or shared queues.
Is it possible to share a queue between two LPAR's on z/OS, so that we can put and get messages from both lpars?
We use MQ 5.3.1.
thx
Hopfe |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jdlennon |
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 7:05 am Post subject: Failover and Clustering |
|
|
 Novice
Joined: 07 Oct 2004 Posts: 19 Location: The Villages, FL
|
There are a series of SupportPacs available for the various distributed platforms. They discuss in detail how to implement failover for the subject platform with MQ. More than a FAQ could cover most likely. _________________ Jill D Lennon |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hopfe_de |
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 7:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 03 Mar 2002 Posts: 58 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
Quote: |
There are a series of SupportPacs available for the various distributed platforms. They discuss in detail how to implement failover for the subject platform with MQ. More than a FAQ could cover most likely. |
Can you tell me the name of these supportpac, or post a link ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
bower5932 |
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 7:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 27 Aug 2001 Posts: 3023 Location: Dallas, TX, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hopfe_de |
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 8:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Acolyte
Joined: 03 Mar 2002 Posts: 58 Location: Frankfurt, Germany
|
HACMP isn't that thing I'm looking for.
We use Websphere MQ for z/OS and IMS, on two different LPAR's. We are able to share IMS between two differnt LPAR's, but until i didn't found a way to share MQ.
LPAR A:
Qmgr: MQA1
IMS:
A1i1
A1i2
A1i3
LPAR B
Qmgr MQB1
A1i5
A1i6
....
A1i(X) are differend Regions of the same IMS. In the future it should be possible that A1i1 and A1i5 use one Queue.
Please excuse my bad english, but I don't know how explain it in a better way. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 1:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
What you need is to set up a channel between MQA1 and MQB1.
Then any message being put on MQA1 remote queue to MQB1 can be retrieved from MQB1.
Enjoy  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2004 5:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
hopfe_de,
You are interested in Queue Sharing, a feature available only on the mainframe that allows 2 or more QMs to share 1 queue. An app on any QM can put to it, and an app on any QM get from it as if it were a plain local queue.
Read about Queue Sharing in this RedBook:
WebSphere MQ Queue Sharing Group in a Parallel Sysplex environment
http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/redpieces/abstracts/redp3636.html?Open
Be aware that messages on Shared Queues are restricted in size (I think its something like a max of 63K, but this is rumored to go up in future releases).
The z/OS specific System Admin and Planning Guides have the details on how to set this up. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|