Author |
Message
|
svijay |
Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 9:01 am Post subject: Error when starting the channel |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 Jul 2004 Posts: 4
|
I am trying to setup a channel between two queue managers in the same machine(localhost) which runs Websphere MQ 5.3 for Windows NT. Both queue managers are up and running. Both channel initiaters and listeners are also in running state. I gave different port numbers for the listeners. But When I tried to start the channel, it is not getting active. It is in retrying state. MQ error log gives the error message 'receive failed. there may be communication problem. TCP/IP error code 10054 (connection reset by peer). When I tried to ping the channel also, got the same kind of error message 'Receive failed'. I want to treat both queue managers remote to each other but without having other remote machine.
Can anyone help with this issue? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vennela |
Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 9:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Knight
Joined: 11 Aug 2002 Posts: 4055 Location: Hyderabad, India
|
In your event viewer there will be MQ error logs. Post that error message here. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kirani |
Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 10:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jedi Knight
Joined: 05 Sep 2001 Posts: 3779 Location: Torrance, CA, USA
|
Are these both queue manager's listener listening to different ports? Can you post your channel definition here? _________________ Kiran
IBM Cert. Solution Designer & System Administrator - WBIMB V5
IBM Cert. Solutions Expert - WMQI
IBM Cert. Specialist - WMQI, MQSeries
IBM Cert. Developer - MQSeries
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kman |
Posted: Mon Jul 05, 2004 7:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 21 Jan 2003 Posts: 309 Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
|
They are listening to different ports..
the channel definition would help here.
Edit: and the transmit queue definition |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
svijay |
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 7:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 Jul 2004 Posts: 4
|
Thanks for responding to my query.. here is some more detail..
Both Queue managers are listening to different ports.. one(MQ1) is on 1414 and other is on 1415(MQ2).
I used the tool MQseries Explorer to create all objects. So I don't have the exact channel definition statement. I created a sender channel called MQ2.TO.MQ1 (Transmission Queue name: MQ1)on QManager MQ2 and the receiver channel MQ2.TO.MQ1 on QManager MQ1. I gave CONNAME = localhost(1414) in sender channel and CONNAME=localhost(1415) in receiver channel.
I created transmission queue MQ1 on QManager MQ2 and used this transmission queue in sender channel.
Likewise i created another channel (MQ1.TO.MQ2) also. both are not working.
The following is the error log I got when tried to start the channel.
----- amqrccca.c : 769 --------------------------------------------------------
07/06/04 23:11:55
AMQ9002: Channel program started.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'MQ2.TO.MQ1' started.
ACTION:
None.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
07/06/04 23:11:55
AMQ9208: Error on receive from host localhost (127.0.0.1).
EXPLANATION:
An error occurred receiving data from localhost (127.0.0.1) over TCP/IP. This
may be due to a communications failure.
ACTION:
The return code from the TCP/IP (recv) call was 10054 (X'2746'). Record these
values and tell the systems administrator.
----- amqccita.c : 2761 -------------------------------------------------------
07/06/04 23:11:55
AMQ9999: Channel program ended abnormally.
EXPLANATION:
Channel program 'MQ2.TO.MQ1' ended abnormally.
ACTION:
Look at previous error messages for channel program 'MQ2.TO.MQ1' in the error
files to determine the cause of the failure.
----- amqrccca.c : 769 -------------------------------------------------------- |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JasonE |
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 03 Nov 2003 Posts: 1220 Location: Hursley
|
You need to see the errors from the other side as well... 10054 usually means the other side closed the socket. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
svijay |
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 8:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 Jul 2004 Posts: 4
|
Both queue managers are in the same machine under single MQ. and also listeners are in running state. I tried to ping the channel also. At that time also i am getting the same error. I don't know why it says 10054 as both listeners are in running state. And also on otherside (other QManager) there is no error log.
I am using Evaluation copy of Websphere MQ and default configuration setup was not successfull while installing. Will that be a problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TCV |
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:02 pm Post subject: No problem |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 21 Aug 2003 Posts: 48
|
Hi Svijay,
To confirm i created your setup on my system I didnt face any problem.All the channels are running and I am able to send test messages.
I suggest you check all the objects you created and check the channel names and other object names you are using are correct. There shouldnt have any problem.
Good luck
TC Venkatesan. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
kman |
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 4:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 21 Jan 2003 Posts: 309 Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
|
svijay,
use the runmqsc command to list down the definitions.
> runmqsc QM1
once in the environment,
> dis chl(QM1.TO.QM2) all
> dis chl(QM2.TO.QM1) all
> dis ql(QM2) all
> end
then do it again for QM2.
> runmqsc QM2
once in the environment,
> dis chl(QM2.TO.QM1) all
> dis chl(QM1.TO.QM2) all
> dis ql(QM1) all
> end
From your description, here is what I thnk you did.
On QM2,
Channel(MQ2.TO.MQ1) CHLTYPE(SDR) CONNAME(localhost(1414)) XMITQ(MQ1)
On QM1,
Channel(MQ2.TO.MQ1) CHLTYPE(RCVR) CONNAME(localhost(1415))
Is that correct? The receiver channel should not have any conname. I would suggest, instead of using the localhost, use your machine's hostname. Or you can type command ipconfig and get the IP number. (hopefully you can/are using ipconfig) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
svijay |
Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 02 Jul 2004 Posts: 4
|
All,
I resoved my channel problem. The tcp/ip error code in main MQSeries error log contained 10038. After setting the environment variable MQNOREMPOOL to 1, the channel started running.
Thanks for all your help.
Vijay |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|