ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Is this possible with SELECT?

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Is this possible with SELECT? « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
aks
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 7:16 pm    Post subject: Is this possible with SELECT? Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 84

Hi,

I have some XML:

<Policy>
<Risks>
<Fire>
<GroupID>1</GroupID>
</Fire>
<Fire>
<GroupID>2</GroupID>
</Fire>
<Burglary>
<GroupID>1</GroupID>
</Burglary>
<Burglary>
<GroupID>2</GroupID>
</Burglary>
</Risks>
</Policy>


I want to select a Fire element with a specific Group ID that I know.

I was doing it by declaring a reference to Policy.Risks.Fire[1] and then using a while loop and LASTMOVE to go through all the Fire elements (there can be a lot) by testing the GroupID element, but I wanted to do this with a SELECT statement like this:

DECLARE policyRef REFERENCE TO InputBody.Policy;
DECLARE riskRef REFERENCE TO policyRef; -- temporary assignment
SET riskRef = SELECT "Fire" FROM policyRef.Risks AS r WHERE r.GroupID = '1';

But I am getting a syntax error when I try to deploy:
Syntax error: expected ';' but found 'Fire'. I've tried other variations like SELECT r FROM policyRef.Risks.Fire[] AS r where r.GroupID = '1';

but no luck. Can SELECT be used like this? What would be the correct syntax?
Thanks
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Missam
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chevalier

Joined: 16 Oct 2003
Posts: 424

Code:

DECLARE policyRef REFERENCE TO InputBody.Policy;
DECLARE riskRef REFERENCE TO policyRef; -- temporary assignment
SET riskRef = SELECT "Fire" FROM policyRef.Risks AS r WHERE r.GroupID = '1';

Can u tell us what exactly you are trying to do.In the Above code your provided, riskRef is nothing but a reference to InputBody.
You can not assign any thing to the input message tree.
All the thing you can do is construct an output tree based on input tree.
you code sholud be some thing like this
SET OutputRoot.... = InputBody....;
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aks
PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 84

Sorry - I put my own syntax errors in the example!

What I am trying to do is to replace a while loop with a select.
The code used to look like this:

DECLARE policyRef REFERENCE TO InputBody.Policy;
DECLARE riskRef REFERENCE TO policyRef.Risks.Fire[];

WHILE LASTMOVE(riskRef) DO
IF (riskRef.GroupID = '1') THEN
-- lots of SET statements mapping output fields to riskRef fields
END IF;

MOVE riskRef NEXTSIBLING REPEAT TYPE NAME;
END WHILE;

I know that one cannot assign something to an input tree, so I wrote this incorrectly, but I would like to get the correct riskRef using a SELECT without needing to loop through all the Fire elements checking the GroupID element. I've used SELECTs to get scalar values before, but each "Fire" contains child elements, which seems to be my problem.

Thanks
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scaryjase
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Novice

Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Posts: 22

You certainly can use a WHERE clause on a SELECT to refer to those elements you desire, but i'm not entirely clear what you want to do with it. You talk about the problem being with the Fire element having children - assuming you want the children, then SELECT them...
_________________
scary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
fjcarretero
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 13 Oct 2003
Posts: 88

Hi,

Try something like this:

Code:

DECLARE policyRef REFERENCE TO InputBody.Policy;
DECLARE riskRef REFERENCE TO policyRef; -- temporary assignment
SET riskRef = SELECT r."Fire" FROM policyRef.Risks AS r WHERE r.Fire.GroupID = '1';


Cheers
Felipe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aks
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voyager

Joined: 19 Jul 2002
Posts: 84

There are a number of child elements under Fire, and I need to apply some business rules to these fields so that they map to the correct COBOL copybook fields, so just selecting them is not an option.

Also, I tried the code above but it gave a syntax error on deployment:

Syntax error : expected ';' but found 'r'.

I must be missing somtheing simple
Any further help would be appreciated
Thanks
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jefflowrey
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Poobah

Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 19981

The syntax error is caused by the fact that the Select statement is not enclosed in parentheses.
Code:
set OutputRoot.XYZ[] = (Select ...);

_________________
I am *not* the model of the modern major general.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » WebSphere Message Broker (ACE) Support » Is this possible with SELECT?
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.