|
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support
|
RSS Feed - Message Broker Support
|
 |
|
Unable to create RDQM queue manager on RHEL9 |
« View previous topic :: View next topic » |
Author |
Message
|
Mqdevops |
Posted: Mon Oct 23, 2023 9:18 am Post subject: Unable to create RDQM queue manager on RHEL9 |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 21 Oct 2023 Posts: 7
|
Folks i'm running into an issue building RDQM queue manager.
I'm building RDQM HA/DR. There are 6 servers, 3 PROD and 3 DR. I will share the content of the rdqm.ini file as well as the error i'm seeing when attempting to create the queue manager. Just background these 6 RHEL9 servers are running on KVM (libvirt) on RHEL9 server.
Code: |
Name: IBM MQ
Version: 9.3.0.10
Level: p930-010-230816
BuildType: IKAP - (Production)
Platform: IBM MQ for Linux (x86-64 platform)
Mode: 64-bit
O/S: Linux 5.14.0-284.30.1.el9_2.x86_64
O/S Details: Red Hat Enterprise Linux 9.2 (Plow)
InstName: Installation1
InstDesc:
Primary: Yes
InstPath: /opt/mqm
DataPath: /var/mqm
MaxCmdLevel: 930
LicenseType: Production
rdqm.ini file
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# cat /var/mqm/rdqm.ini
# The configuration in this file is not dynamic.
# The HA configuration is read when an HA group is created.
# The DR configuration is read when when a DR/HA queue manager is created.
Node:
Name=rdqmprd01
HA_Replication=10.10.50.11
DR_Replication=10.10.60.11
Node:
Name=rdqmprd02
HA_Replication=10.10.50.12
DR_Replication=10.10.60.12
Node:
Name=rdqmprd03
HA_Replication=10.10.50.13
DR_Replication=10.10.60.13
DRGroup:
Name=DRREPLGRP
DR_Replication=10.10.60.21
DR_Replication=10.10.60.22
DR_Replication=10.10.60.23
|
Code: |
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
devtmpfs 4.0M 0 4.0M 0% /dev
tmpfs 4.8G 33M 4.7G 1% /dev/shm
tmpfs 1.9G 9.4M 1.9G 1% /run
/dev/mapper/rhel-root 44G 5.6G 39G 13% /
/dev/mapper/vg_mq-varmqm 20G 176M 20G 1% /var/mqm
/dev/mapper/vg_mq-optmqm 20G 1.8G 19G 9% /opt/mqm
/dev/mapper/vg_mq-mqmtrace 10G 104M 9.9G 2% /var/mqm/trace
/dev/mapper/vg_mq-mqmlog 20G 175M 20G 1% /var/mqm/log
/dev/mapper/vg_mq-mqmerror 10G 104M 9.9G 2% /var/mqm/errors
/dev/vdb1 1014M 406M 609M 40% /boot
contact admin:/mnt/contact admin/ 812G 208G 605G 26% /software
tmpfs 764M 52K 764M 1% /run/user/42
tmpfs 764M 36K 764M 1% /run/user/0
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# pvs
PV VG Fmt Attr PSize PFree
/dev/vda drbdpool lvm2 a-- <100.00g <100.00g
/dev/vdb2 rhel lvm2 a-- <49.00g 0
/dev/vdc vg_mq lvm2 a-- <100.00g <20.00g
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# lvs
LV VG Attr LSize Pool Origin Data% Meta% Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
root rhel -wi-ao---- <44.00g
swap rhel -wi-ao---- 5.00g
mqmerror vg_mq -wi-ao---- 10.00g
mqmlog vg_mq -wi-ao---- 20.00g
mqmtrace vg_mq -wi-ao---- 10.00g
optmqm vg_mq -wi-ao---- 20.00g
varmqm vg_mq -wi-ao---- 20.00g
|
Command used to create first qmgr and error
Code: |
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# sudo crtmqm -sx -rr p -rn DRREPLGRP -rp 7017 -fs 10G -lp 20 -ls 20 -lc -lf 16384 -h 1000 -u "TEST.DLQ" -p 1417 TEST
Creating replicated data queue manager configuration.
Secondary queue manager created on 'rdqmprd02'.
Secondary queue manager created on 'rdqmprd03'.
AMQ3817E: Replicated data subsystem call '/usr/sbin/drbdadm -- --force
--stacked create-md test.dr' failed with return code '10'.
You want me to create a v09 style flexible-size internal meta data block.
There appears to be a v09 flexible-size internal meta data block
already in place on /dev/drbd100 at byte offset 10736721920
Do you really want to overwrite the existing meta-data?
*** confirmation forced via --force option ***
initializing bitmap (320 KB) to all zero
ioctl(/dev/drbd100, BLKZEROOUT, [10736361472, 327680]) failed: Input/output error
initializing bitmap (320 KB) to all zero using pwrite
pwrite(5,...,327680,10736361472) in md_initialize_common:BM failed: Input/output error
Command 'drbdmeta 7017 v09 /dev/drbd100 internal create-md 1 --force' terminated with exit code 10
AMQ3812E: Failed to create replicated data queue manager configuration.
Secondary queue manager deleted on rdqmprd02.
Secondary queue manager deleted on rdqmprd03.
|
Code: |
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# rdqmstatus
Node: rdqmprd01
OS kernel version: 5.14.0-284.30.1
DRBD OS kernel version: 5.14.0-284.30.1
DRBD version: 9.1.15+ptf.1.g2ec62f6cb988
DRBD kernel module status: Loaded
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# rdqmstatus -n
Node rdqmprd01 is online
Node rdqmprd02 is online
Node rdqmprd03 is online
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]#
|
Code: |
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# crm status
Cluster Summary:
* Stack: corosync
* Current DC: rdqmprd02 (version 2.1.2.linbit-4.el9-ada5c3b36e2) - partition with quorum
* Last updated: Mon Oct 23 08:43:47 2023
* Last change: Mon Oct 23 07:43:15 2023 by root via crm_attribute on rdqmprd03
* 3 nodes configured
* 0 resource instances configured
Node List:
* Online: [ rdqmprd01 rdqmprd02 rdqmprd03 ]
Full List of Resources:
* No resources
|
rdqm.log - i'm not sure what it is referring to by no such device.
Code: |
2023-10-23 07:27:30.741: 24293 ---{ /usr/sbin/crm_attribute --node rdqmprd01.marsem.org --name test-name --quiet
2023-10-23 07:27:30.767: 24293 >>STDERR:
Error performing operation: No such device or address
2023-10-23 07:27:30.768: 24293 ---} rc=0 unixrc=105 /usr/sbin/crm_attribute --node rdqmprd01.marsem.org --name test-name --quiet
2023-10-23 07:27:30.768: 24293 ---{ /usr/sbin/crm_attribute --node rdqmprd02.marsem.org --name test-name --quiet
2023-10-23 07:27:30.805: 24293 >>STDERR:
Error performing operation: No such device or address
2023-10-23 07:27:30.805: 24293 ---} rc=0 unixrc=105 /usr/sbin/crm_attribute --node rdqmprd02.marsem.org --name test-name --quiet
2023-10-23 07:27:30.805: 24293 ---{ /usr/sbin/crm_attribute --node rdqmprd03.marsem.org --name test-name --quiet
2023-10-23 07:27:30.842: 24293 >>STDERR:
2023-10-23 07:28:54.032: 24293 >>STDOUT:
initializing activity log
2023-10-23 07:28:54.032: 24293 >>STDERR:
You want me to create a v09 style flexible-size internal meta data block.
There appears to be a v09 flexible-size internal meta data block
already in place on /dev/drbd100 at byte offset 10736721920
Do you really want to overwrite the existing meta-data?
*** confirmation forced via --force option ***
initializing bitmap (320 KB) to all zero
ioctl(/dev/drbd100, BLKZEROOUT, [10736361472, 327680]) failed: Input/output error
initializing bitmap (320 KB) to all zero using pwrite
pwrite(5,...,327680,10736361472) in md_initialize_common:BM failed: Input/output error
Command 'drbdmeta 7017 v09 /dev/drbd100 internal create-md 1 --force' terminated with exit code 10
2023-10-23 07:28:54.032: 24293 ---} rc=0 unixrc=10 /usr/sbin/drbdadm -- --force --stacked create-md test.dr
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mqdevops |
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2023 3:36 pm Post subject: I was hoping to get some feedback here guys |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 21 Oct 2023 Posts: 7
|
Any thoughts on what could be the problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2023 12:13 am Post subject: Re: I was hoping to get some feedback here guys |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Mqdevops wrote: |
Any thoughts on what could be the problem? |
Do not use the lower level commands.
After creating the rdqm.ini did you run rdqmadm -c ?
Then run the crtmqm
then run rdqmstatus and if you don't see the qmgr run
rdqmstatus -m QMNAME -a to look for failed resource action...
You can also run rdqmdr -m QMNAME -d to see the command to run in DR
Hope it helps  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Mqdevops |
Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2023 9:28 am Post subject: Thank you for your reply fjb_saper |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 21 Oct 2023 Posts: 7
|
I'm not sure I follow what you mean by "Do not use the lower level commands."
Yes, I did run rdqmadm -c to initialize the cluster
When I run the crtmqm command it goes through the process of creating the queue manager all the way to the other nodes, but then it fails and starts deleting them as you can see in my output at the top.
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# vgs
VG #PV #LV #SN Attr VSize VFree
drbdpool 1 0 0 wz--n- <100.00g <100.00g
rhel 1 2 0 wz--n- <49.00g 0
vg_mq 1 5 0 wz--n- <100.00g <20.00g
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Sat Oct 28, 2023 2:40 pm Post subject: Re: Thank you for your reply fjb_saper |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
Mqdevops wrote: |
I'm not sure I follow what you mean by "Do not use the lower level commands."
Yes, I did run rdqmadm -c to initialize the cluster
When I run the crtmqm command it goes through the process of creating the queue manager all the way to the other nodes, but then it fails and starts deleting them as you can see in my output at the top.
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# vgs
VG #PV #LV #SN Attr VSize VFree
drbdpool 1 0 0 wz--n- <100.00g <100.00g
rhel 1 2 0 wz--n- <49.00g 0
vg_mq 1 5 0 wz--n- <100.00g <20.00g
[root@rdqmprd01 ~]# |
So run the corresponding crtmqm command with root and run it on each node in turn.
Maybe you will see a different error message? _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
petroben |
Posted: Sat Nov 04, 2023 2:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 04 Nov 2023 Posts: 2
|
It looks like you're encountering issues while setting up RDQM HA/DR with IBM MQ, specifically with DRBD replication and the creation of the queue manager.
The error message "Error performing operation: No such device or address" in your rdqm.log file might be related to an issue with device addresses, possibly in your configuration. This can be a complex problem to diagnose without more specific information about your environment.
To troubleshoot this issue, consider the following steps:
Double-check your configuration files, such as rdqm.ini, to ensure that all the device addresses and paths are correctly specified.
Ensure that DRBD is properly configured and that the devices, device names, and paths match your setup.
Verify that the DRBD kernel module and version are compatible with your kernel and configuration.
Review your cluster configuration (Pacemaker/Corosync) and check if there are any misconfigurations there that might be causing the issue.
Look for any potential issues with the block devices used in your setup (e.g., /dev/drbd100) and the underlying storage.
Check for any specific messages or logs related to DRBD that might provide more details about the "Input/output error" and "No such device or address" issues.
If the issue persists and you can't resolve it with the above suggestions, you may want to consider reaching out to IBM support or seeking assistance from experienced system administrators with expertise in IBM MQ and DRBD configurations. They can provide more tailored guidance based on the specific details of your environment. _________________ Kyle
Best sports anime |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
 |
|
Page 1 of 1 |
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|
|
|