Author |
Message
|
belchman |
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:31 am Post subject: Enable MQ to be aware that WAS is not working |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 31 Mar 2006 Posts: 386 Location: Ohio, USA
|
There is an app running on a two node WAS system and under the two WAS nodes is an MQ queue manager that is being fed by the MQ cluster 50-50. If one of the WAS nodes that supports the app terminates unexpectedly, MQ is unaware and the cluster keeps pushing message to the queue manager under that WAS system.
I am asking for some advice regarding if you have figured out a way to let MQ know that WAS is not there and taking that supporting MQ queue manager out of the cluster rotation.
My plan right now create a remote queues to the local queues on the queue manager under the WAS system that is still functional and write a script to allow the app admins to perform a dmpmqmsg (with privileged access) from the (failed) local queue onto the remote queue (to the good local queue).
The best way is to let MQ know somehow that WAS is not there and stop sending messages.
Thanks for any ideas you float my way. _________________ Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
I would set up your monitoring to alert when the queue is not open for input.
Your automation could also look at the queue depth of the queue and if high could alter its cluster attributes to influence load-balancing.
You can simply remove the queue from the cluster, or put disable it to avoid further messages. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
belchman |
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 31 Mar 2006 Posts: 386 Location: Ohio, USA
|
Thanks ZPAT. That is a good idea. I just worry about the latency of the monitoring solution noticing and taking action.
But you did get me thinking. I could trigger a script on depth and then put inhibit the queue after the script verifies that WAS is not there. I could have monitoring get around to noticing the depth issue at its own leisurely pace and calling out after I have taken my actions.
I will chew on that. _________________ Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Or you could have the applications connect concurrently to each queue manager (one thread per for example), and if one instance goes down there will always be something servicing the queue.
Don't ask me about the mechanics of the above because I'm not a developer, but I have seen it done to replace a mechanism similar to what you were thinking of. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
belchman |
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 31 Mar 2006 Posts: 386 Location: Ohio, USA
|
Thanks EXERK. I did not even consider that. I will log into WebSphere and see what they have by way of QCFs and Queues and such.
I like this way because as soon as I write the script, MQ will own it and be too involved in stuff it should not be involved in. If I can get the app to do this in their JVM, both MQ and WAS support will be happier. _________________ Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
tczielke |
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Guardian
Joined: 08 Jul 2010 Posts: 941 Location: Illinois, USA
|
Also, take a look at amqsclm. It was written to handle this situation. _________________ Working with MQ since 2010. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
belchman |
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 31 Mar 2006 Posts: 386 Location: Ohio, USA
|
Will do TCZIELKE. Let me take a look at that. _________________ Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
belchman |
Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Partisan
Joined: 31 Mar 2006 Posts: 386 Location: Ohio, USA
|
tczielke,
Is the amqsclm sample production ready? I am not a developer and would like to avoid coding and compiling it. I know writing a script is programming, but it is easier that getting a compiler installed and coding and compiling a c-program. _________________ Make three correct guesses consecutively and you will establish a reputation as an expert. ~ Laurence J. Peter |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|