ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Getting garbled data while issuing the MQGET call.

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 Getting garbled data while issuing the MQGET call. « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
ManishsAmit
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 4:49 am    Post subject: Getting garbled data while issuing the MQGET call. Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 8
Location: India(Mumbai)

We are developing an interface through which we are supposed to send an XML string to an IN queue using MQSeries to the server and retrieve XML string in response to our request from the OUT queue.

Details:

There server is MQSeries AS/400.
We are using MQSeries Client for Windows Ver 5.2
We are developing our application in VB.

Basically there are 2 programs 1--PUT & 2--GET

When we use our put program to send the XML message as a string to there IN queue we are able to do the same properly using the PUT program.

In response to our request the software at the server processes the file and send back the output to the OUT queue

From there we have to receive the XML string in response to our request , we get garbled data with 0 Reason Code and 0 Warning when we issue an MQGET call.

Could anyone help us in solving out this problem at the earliest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
dgolding
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 668
Location: Switzerland

A quick guess, as your ASCII client is talking to an EBCDIC server - are you using MQSTR(ING?) as the message format, and specifying MQGMO_CONVERT as on the MQGET options.

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ManishsAmit
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 5:27 am    Post subject: Getting Garbled Data Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 8
Location: India(Mumbai)

dgolding wrote:
A quick guess, as your ASCII client is talking to an EBCDIC server - are you using MQSTR(ING?) as the message format, and specifying MQGMO_CONVERT as on the MQGET options.

HTH



Yes we have specified the same.
Our server guys have suggested us to set few environment variables Like:
MQserver
MQCCSID=850
message format=MQFMT_STRING

Now could you please suggest us to how we can rectify the problem it's very very URGENT!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
dgolding
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 5:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 668
Location: Switzerland

I'm not too sure how that "message format=MQFMT_STRING" is going to work. You can't set an environment variable that way - it looks like you have set the variable "format".

Why not set the format in the message descriptor in the client & server program, when you do your PUTs? And are you SURE you're setting Get Mesage Options as MQGMO_CONVERT?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ManishsAmit
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 6:02 am    Post subject: Garbled Message Reply with quote

Newbie

Joined: 24 Sep 2003
Posts: 8
Location: India(Mumbai)

dgolding wrote:
I'm not too sure how that "message format=MQFMT_STRING" is going to work. You can't set an environment variable that way - it looks like you have set the variable "format".

Why not set the format in the message descriptor in the client & server program, when you do your PUTs? And are you SURE you're setting Get Mesage Options as MQGMO_CONVERT?


Could you please advise us how to set the format in the VB programs for PUT and GET.
The encoding is UTF-8 at the server.
Whether we have to set the MQGMO_CONVERT options for both PUT and GET programs..
Do we also have to make some changes in ccsid.tbl

Please advise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
dgolding
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yatiri

Joined: 16 May 2001
Posts: 668
Location: Switzerland

Hi,

Sorry, I don't know VB. In the PUTting program, you need to set the format of the message:

memcpy(md.Format, MQFMT_STRING, MQ_FORMAT_LENGTH); /* C */

And when you read back the messages, set your get message options to convert string (from or to ASCII, for example):

gmo.Options |= MQGMO_CONVERT; /* C */

You shouldn't have to muck about with ccsid.tbl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » General IBM MQ Support » Getting garbled data while issuing the MQGET call.
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.