Author |
Message
|
adireddy123 |
Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:38 pm Post subject: how to find the queue depth using esql |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 20 Sep 2011 Posts: 9
|
we have a requirement to find the Queue depth in using esql Message Broker 7.
Can you help how to find the queue depth in a message flow.
Thank in advancce |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fjb_saper |
Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 7:24 pm Post subject: Re: how to find the queue depth using esql |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 18 Nov 2003 Posts: 20756 Location: LI,NY
|
adireddy123 wrote: |
we have a requirement to find the Queue depth in using esql Message Broker 7.
Can you help how to find the queue depth in a message flow.
Thank in advancce |
Wrong question. First explain why you want/need to know the queue depth in your flow. What is your design? What are you trying to build?  _________________ MQ & Broker admin |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2011 10:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
This is almost certainly a bad idea. If you want to read a queue, do so until you get the "no messages available" condition. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
psyconic |
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 12:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Novice
Joined: 17 Jun 2015 Posts: 11
|
Hi Guys,
In my case my flow is processing a backlog of messages due to a comms outage. Every 1/2 and hour I want to email an update with the percentage of messages left of the backlog being processed.
So when comms comes back up I would like to get the queue depth and set a flow variable, then every 15 minutes get the depth again and email a percentage processed update to interested parties on how the queue is processing.
The only thing I don't know how to do at this stage is find the queue depth. I admit I have just started looking for an answer but I thought I would reply to this thread with my scenario. I imagine it will be pretty much straight forward. Hopefully.
Mike |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
I don't know of a way to get queue depth in a message flow other than browsing the queue looping with MQGET node (using propagate from EQSL loop).
There is no MQINQ node (actually might be useful).
What sort of depth are we taking about here? Hundreds or millions ? _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 3:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You shouldn't use IIB to find the queue depth. You should either use some kind of "real" monitoring solution, or write a program that checks the queue depth and either sends the email itself or drops a message somewhere that IIB can process it, to send the email with the right qdepth and etc. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zpat |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 19 May 2001 Posts: 5866 Location: UK
|
Depending on platform (which you don't state) a shell script run by cron would be able to do this easily enough.
However as Jeff points out - this suggests a disconnect between whatever technology your site uses to monitor MQ and this requirement.
Also it would be annoying to get emails all the time - so better to send them only when the depth is over certain value. _________________ Well, I don't think there is any question about it. It can only be attributable to human error. This sort of thing has cropped up before, and it has always been due to human error. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PaulClarke |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 17 Nov 2005 Posts: 1002 Location: New Zealand
|
......and MQ generates Q service interval and Q High events for that. _________________ Paul Clarke
MQGem Software
www.mqgem.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 4:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
zpat wrote: |
However as Jeff points out - this suggests a disconnect between whatever technology your site uses to monitor MQ and this requirement. |
Doing what you want inside a flow is impossible from ESQL and a bad idea if you did get the flow to do it. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|