Author |
Message
|
rajiv.panda |
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 1:04 am Post subject: Local/Remote queue - Put Message - Where the message stored |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 19 Jul 2016 Posts: 5
|
Hi All,
Just want to understand, when we paste a message (data) in Put message of a remote/local queue of IBM MQ explorer, where exactly the message is stored? In which file?
I need this information so that I can post an xml messages in put message file of the remote/local queue through VB script.
Just to give a background:
we are doing a performance testing where in we need to post in Put message of remote queue 30000, 50000 volume of data and then some background process will run to reflect those messages(data's) in the database. We need to check the time takes to populate the data in databases.
Thanks,
Rajiv |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
Where the MQ Data is stored once comitted should not worry you at all.
If you start digging around in the MS Data files you risk borking the whole QMGR so don't do it.
In MQ, Reads (MQGETS) are done locally from a LOCAL queue. You can't read from REMOTE Queues. _________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions.
Last edited by smdavies99 on Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:42 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rajiv.panda |
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 19 Jul 2016 Posts: 5
|
Thanks for your reply.
Any idea, how do I post volume of messages like 150000 lines of data in the message queue?
I don't think you can Ctrl+C & Ctrl +V a huge volume of data in the Put Message box.
Appreciate a response.
~Rajiv |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
hughson |
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Padawan
Joined: 09 May 2013 Posts: 1959 Location: Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
|
If you are doing performance testing of MQ, I wouldn't do it through the MQ Explorer Put Message Dialog box. That is a simple testing application and is not designed to put large or numerous messages.
Suggest any performance testing you do should use something closer to the application you plan to use to do the job.
Cheers
Morag _________________ Morag Hughson @MoragHughson
IBM MQ Technical Education Specialist
Get your IBM MQ training here!
MQGem Software |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rajiv.panda |
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 19 Jul 2016 Posts: 5
|
Thanks hughson.
Customer wanted us to process large volume of data(150000) in xml format through message queue.
Our requirement is input these files in the remote queue and check the database updated with these messages(data) in tables.
Any idea how do we go about this in processing huge volume of data through IBM MQ?
~Rajiv |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rajiv.panda |
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Newbie
Joined: 19 Jul 2016 Posts: 5
|
Customer has given the xml files with huge volume of data & we have been told to process these messages (XML File Messages)through MQ.
How do we go about in processing these huge volume of data & check if the database tables are updated with these messages(data's).?
~Rajiv |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
smdavies99 |
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 10 Feb 2003 Posts: 6076 Location: Somewhere over the Rainbow this side of Never-never land.
|
rajiv.panda wrote: |
Any idea how do we go about this in processing huge volume of data through IBM MQ?
~Rajiv |
Put each message into a file. One message per line. Then use the amqsput utility to load them
Code: |
amqsput Q.IN MYQMGR < my_message_data_file.txt
|
_________________ WMQ User since 1999
MQSI/WBI/WMB/'Thingy' User since 2002
Linux user since 1995
Every time you reinvent the wheel the more square it gets (anon). If in doubt think and investigate before you ask silly questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mqjeff |
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 3:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Master
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 17447
|
You should be using IIB for this solution. _________________ chmod -R ugo-wx / |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 4:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
rajiv.panda wrote: |
How do we go about in processing these huge volume of data & check if the database tables are updated with these messages(data's).? |
What's updating the database? MQ won't out of the box (and I agree with my most worthy associate that IIB is a good fit for the use case you outline).
For simply dumping huge amounts of data onto a queue, the q program (or qload, or RFHUtil, or any of those class of utilities) is your best bet. _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|