ASG
IBM
Zystems
Cressida
Icon
Netflexity
 
  MQSeries.net
Search  Search       Tech Exchange      Education      Certifications      Library      Info Center      SupportPacs      LinkedIn  Search  Search                                                                   FAQ  FAQ   Usergroups  Usergroups
 
Register  ::  Log in Log in to check your private messages
 
RSS Feed - WebSphere MQ Support RSS Feed - Message Broker Support

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » XML Data in a container member

Post new topic  Reply to topic
 XML Data in a container member « View previous topic :: View next topic » 
Author Message
jmac
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:04 pm    Post subject: XML Data in a container member Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

I have a situation where I might need to have an xml fragment in a container member that looks like this
Code:
<somedata>
  <field1>val</field1>
  <field2>val</field2>
</somedata>


This appears to work fine in a regular Program activiity, what I am wondering is if anyone has tried anything like this in a UPES activity.

Anything you can tell me will be appreciated.

Thanks
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Ratan
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

I just tried this in a UPES activity and it works fine.
I put an XML in a data member defined as String. It went through fine. Is that what you wanted?
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
vennela
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 11 Aug 2002
Posts: 4055
Location: Hyderabad, India

Can you start the process by sending an XML message to workflow, having the I/P container's element as an XML string?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Ratan
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Venny,
Yes, that is what I did.
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Ratan
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

I guess I am wrong. We were actually changing the characters on our UI, so when I said
<Description>
<test> mytest </test>
</Description>
it became
<Description>&lt;test&gt; my test &lt;/test&gt;</Description>
before it reached WF.

BottomLine: It doesnt work.

-Ratan.
_________________
-Ratan


Last edited by Ratan on Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jmac
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jedi Knight

Joined: 27 Jun 2001
Posts: 3081
Location: EmeriCon, LLC

Venny/Ratan:

So what I am hearing, is that I can put in any XML data as long as I encode it first, then it will work whether the container is accessed via regular API, or via UPES.

Comments on the above if any.....


THANKS guys
_________________
John McDonald
RETIRED
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Ratan
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Yes, If you encode the XML it will just become a String and it should work no matter what.
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
MaheshPN
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 6:25 am    Post subject: XML Data in a container member Reply with quote

Master

Joined: 21 May 2003
Posts: 245
Location: Charlotte, NC

Hi Ratan,
I am not very clear about encoding.
Taking the John's example how does it look like after encoding?
and after the encoding will that be sent on a separate data field(container member?

Thanks
Mahesh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ratan
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grand Master

Joined: 18 Jul 2002
Posts: 1245

Before Encoding:
<Description>
<test> mytest </test>
</Description>

After encoding:
<Description>&lt;test&gt; mytest &lt;/test&gt;</Description>
_________________
-Ratan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dsim
PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2003 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Acolyte

Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Posts: 67
Location: Toronto

John,

You can also try using CDATA. For example if you want to have
Code:
<somedata>
  <field1>val</field1>
  <field2>val</field2>
</somedata>

passed into a data element named Payload you can use
Code:
<Payload>
  <![CDATA[
    <somedata>
      <field1>val</field1>
      <field2>val</field2>
    </somedata>
  ]]>
</Payload>


Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic  Reply to topic Page 1 of 1

MQSeries.net Forum Index » Workflow Engines - IBM MQ Workflow & Business Process Choreographer » XML Data in a container member
Jump to:  



You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Protected by Anti-Spam ACP
 
 


Theme by Dustin Baccetti
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group

Copyright © MQSeries.net. All rights reserved.