Author |
Message
|
shanms |
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:24 pm Post subject: I am trying for some automation script |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jun 2014 Posts: 38
|
I am trying some automation script which will monitor the current queue depth ,i have script for current queue depth ,but i am not able to write the result in text.
Please give me some suggestions.
Thanks in Advance. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
Why do you want to know what the depth of a queue is, and why can't you pipe out something like?
Quote: |
echo "dis ql(my.queue.name.here) curdepth" | runmqsc QMGRNAME |
_________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shanms |
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jun 2014 Posts: 38
|
bcz some times queue messages are got Blocking due to various reasons like
network connectivity between mq to other application.if i am giving this script in task scheduler every 15mins. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 1:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
shanms wrote: |
bcz some times queue messages are got Blocking due to various reasons like
network connectivity between mq to other application.if i am giving this script in task scheduler every 15mins. |
So leave MQ to do what it's designed to do and size your transmission queues/application queues accordingly... _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
vicentius |
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Apprentice
Joined: 01 Mar 2013 Posts: 28
|
Have you considered the MQ performance events? Specifically, I am thinking about queue depth events. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
vicentius wrote: |
Have you considered the MQ performance events? Specifically, I am thinking about queue depth events. |
Assuming the OP has anything to read and react to them...  _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shanms |
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 7:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jun 2014 Posts: 38
|
here My issue is some times my queue messages are getting stuck due to target system is unavailability at the time i may not monitor the system,if i am putting this script in task scheduler every 15mins i will get a mail for current depth without login mq servers. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2014 11:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
shanms wrote: |
here My issue is some times my queue messages are getting stuck due to target system is unavailability... |
Working as designed - MQ is a store-and-forward system...
shanms wrote: |
...at the time i may not monitor the system... |
You should be constantly monitoring your system...
shanms wrote: |
...if i am putting this script in task scheduler every 15mins i will get a mail for current depth without login mq servers. |
So now you will potentially get spam-levels of email, or know that an XMITQ is full but do nothing about it? Or will that be your trigger to log in and increase queue depth, which seems a bit odd - if you're automating an email alert why not also automate a depth increase?
Again, if you know a remote system may become unavailable, and you know the profile of your queue manager activity, which you, as the admin, should, size your XMITQs appropriately. _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PeterPotkay |
Posted: Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Poobah
Joined: 15 May 2001 Posts: 7722
|
You shop likely has one or more industrial strength monitoring applications already deployed.
Its also likely at least one of these apps comes with MQ monitoring capability. Explore that first before you reinvent this wheel. _________________ Peter Potkay
Keep Calm and MQ On |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shanms |
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jun 2014 Posts: 38
|
Hi All,
Thanks for the reply,i developed the java programme. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 11:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
shanms wrote: |
Hi All,
Thanks for the reply,i developed the java programme. |
Please let us know just how square your wheel gets... _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shanms |
Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jun 2014 Posts: 38
|
for sending a mail i written java programme and for current queue depth i have batch script it will cpy the current queue depth in text file.so this automation is given in task scheduler ,so it will trigger the mail for every 5mins. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
exerk |
Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 11:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi Council
Joined: 02 Nov 2006 Posts: 6339
|
shanms wrote: |
for sending a mail i written java programme and for current queue depth i have batch script it will cpy the current queue depth in text file.so this automation is given in task scheduler ,so it will trigger the mail for every 5mins. |
So, do you sleep anytime? Again, what's the point of having an 'automated' pseudo monitor but a flaky manual reaction to the result? _________________ It's puzzling, I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like this before...and it's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Vitor |
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2014 5:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand High Poobah
Joined: 11 Nov 2005 Posts: 26093 Location: Texas, USA
|
shanms wrote: |
for sending a mail i written java programme and for current queue depth i have batch script it will cpy the current queue depth in text file.so this automation is given in task scheduler ,so it will trigger the mail for every 5mins. |
Nice squeeky wheel. Have fun with that.  _________________ Honesty is the best policy.
Insanity is the best defence. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
shanms |
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2014 5:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jun 2014 Posts: 38
|
BCZ company is not ready hire more resource  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|