Author |
Message
|
sevenfan |
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 8:32 am Post subject: Port? |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
Up to now, I have been working with MQ Series on a Windows 2000 platform, and using the administration tool that runs under Microsoft console. When I create a new queue manager, the last part of the wizard asks me for a TCP port for the queue manager to listen on.
I'm looking through the administrators guide, as well as the AIX Quick Beginnings documentation, and can't seem to find anywhere in the crtmqm command parameters that let me set the TCP port when I create a new queue manager on AIX.
Is this confiigurable or must I use 1414?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 8:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Quote: |
crtmqm command parameters |
The port the listener uses is not defined while creating the mq manager.
It's defined while starting the listener.
The MQSeriesExplorer on windows handles this for you. It can do this because the startup mechanism for MQSeries is completely different on Windows than on other platforms. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 8:51 am Post subject: That was quick |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
Pointed me to the right place in the docs. It looks like, you start the listener, specifying the port and queue manager. I did notice in the /etc/services file that there is an entry for websphereMQ 1414/tcp. Is this the default? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
jefflowrey |
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 10:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Grand Poobah
Joined: 16 Oct 2002 Posts: 19981
|
Yes, a listener over TCP/IP on port 1414 is the default assigned port for MQSeries.
You can however set it to anything else you want subject to your networking standards and practices, the availablity of that port on the server machine itself, and the willingness of all entities that will connect to that listener to use the port you chose. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
rwa |
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 11:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Voyager
Joined: 22 Jan 2002 Posts: 76 Location: Duesseldorf/Germany
|
In general unix has to ways to handle ports.
1) The program (in your case the listener) handles the port directly
2) Using inetd to handle the port
The first method is easy to install, but if the listener crashes the connection between the port an the queue manager ist lost and has to be fixed manually.
The second method has the advantage, that inetd controlls the port and the listener. If the listener crashes inetd restarts the listener again.
This is documented in the Intercommunication Guide Chapter 13.
Sample:
inetd uses /etc/services for port configuration
# MQSeries
qmport 1414/tcp # MQSeries
and /etc/inetd.conf to know how to deal with requests on this port
# MQSeries
qmport stream tcp nowait mqm /opt/mqm/bin/amqcrsta amqcrsta
-m queuemanager
qmport => (logical) name of the port 1414
queuemanager => name of your queuemanager |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
Wondering if I am missing something.
As I mentioned as a part of this post, up to this point, I have been working with a nice GUI to set up objects. However, I now have to port all of this to an AIX platform, and need to have scripts to set up the objects and start those that require starting. In short, I have defined a queue manager, and have attempted to start the listener. I don't want to use the default port (1414) so have issued the following command:
runmqlsr -t tcp -p 1515 -m QMCIS
Some documentation I have says I need to issue the & after, but since I am emulating what I will need to do on AIX and am currently working from a DOS command line, this doesn't work. But, I don't show that a listener exists for the queue manager.
Am I missing something. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
The trailing & is UN*X speak. It means, put this task in the background and free up the terminal.
Also, if you prefix the command with nohup, then the task 'should' stay active when you log off. Without that, the task is still 'owned' by you, and killed when 'Elvis leaves the system'.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 3:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
Sorry, should have mentioned that I know a little about Unix and not asking THAT question. The real question I'm trying to get to is why I don't see a listener in my MQ Console, and what do I need to do to start it, using a port other than the 1414 default?
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
clindsey |
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 5:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Knight
Joined: 12 Jul 2002 Posts: 586 Location: Dallas, Tx
|
If you start the listener from the command window, it does not show up on the console. You can verify it is running by looking for runmqlsr from the Windows Task Manager. You can also run netstat from a command prompt to see if you have a listerner on the specified port, e,g,
'netstat -an > ns.out'. Edit the ns.out file and you should have an enty for port 1415 in state "Established'.
You will do the same thing in unix. Use 'netstat -an | grep 1415' to see if you have a listener on port 1415. You can also run 'ps -ef | grep runmqlsr'. I will throw in another tidbit here for running listerners listeners on unix. The MQ developers recommened using inetd for versions prior to 5.3. So you should configure your entries in \etc\services and \etc\inet.conf if you are running 5.2. For 5.3 the reccommendation is to use runmqlsr.
Hope this helps,
Charlie |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
sevenfan |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 7:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Apprentice
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 42
|
Interesting that when I do as suggested, I see the port in 'LISTENING' state rather than 'ESTABLISHED'.
A couple of other things. I can run the runmqlsr command which appears to function as I would expect. However, one complication I see when running in a Win2K environment is that the program doesn't end, as there isn't the nohup capability. In Unix, this should not be a problem.
Also, running the runmqlsr appears to work per my previous post. But, if I attempt to set the port inside runmqsc and execute the command START LISTENER PORT(1515) TRPTYPE(TCP) I get a syntax error.
Once we get the installation done on the AIX platform, I'll be able to test that these features work there. But any suggestions would be appreciated. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 7:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
The start listener command doesnt accept a port numbe from with in runmqsc it defaults to 1414 _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 8:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Sorry. You CAN specify the port via START LISTENER (at least on 5.3):
Code: |
START LISTENER
.-CMDSCOPE(' ')------------. (2)
>>-START LISTENER--+--------------------------+----------------->
| (1) |
'-CMDSCOPE(qmgr-name)------'
.-INDISP(QMGR)-------. (2)
>--+--------------------+--------------------------------------->
| (1) |
'-INDISP(GROUP)------'
>--+---------------------------------+-------------------------->
| (2) (3) |
'---IPADDR(ip-address---------)---'
>--+-----------------------------+------------------------------>
| (2) (4) |
'---LUNAME(string---------)---'
(2) (3) (2)
.-PORT(1414)-----------------. .-TRPTYPE(TCP)-------.
>--+----------------------------+--+--------------------+------><
| (2) (3) | | (2) |
'-PORT(port-number)----------' '-TRPTYPE(LU62)------'
|
As far as Windows is concerned, you are correct that you can't put it in the background. You can minimise the window, but it will still get 'killed' when you log off.
Cheers, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 8:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
This from the Fourth edition (March 2003) of the MQSC commands Manual.
Well according to notes 1 & 3 it is only available on the mainframe using TCP.
I have tried on w2k and it doesnt accept the port #
(1) (3) (1)
.-PORT(1414)-----------------. .-TRPTYPE(TCP)-------.
>--+----------------------------+--+--------------------+------><
| (1) (3) | | (1) |
'-PORT(port-number)----------' '-TRPTYPE(LU62)------'
Notes:
1) Valid only on z/OS.
2) Valid only for TRPTYPE(LU62).
3 )Valid only for TRPTYPE(TCP).
Valid only on full function WebSphere MQ for z/OS when the queue manager is a member of a queue-sharing group. _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
EddieA |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 8:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Jedi
Joined: 28 Jun 2001 Posts: 2453 Location: Los Angeles
|
Good spot. I noticed about 30 seconds after I posted.
You got there before I had time to 'remove' my indiscretion.
Hanging head low, _________________ Eddie Atherton
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V6.1
IBM Certified Solution Developer - WebSphere Message Broker V7.0 |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mrlinux |
Posted: Thu Jul 24, 2003 8:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
 Grand Master
Joined: 14 Feb 2002 Posts: 1261 Location: Detroit,MI USA
|
Hey I have done the samething on here too. _________________ Jeff
IBM Certified Developer MQSeries
IBM Certified Specialist MQSeries
IBM Certified Solutions Expert MQSeries |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|